We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grandview Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grandview Inn to your Saves list
Grandview Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 14th Street, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Hermosa Beach
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great service in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

On a quiet street away from the noisy centre of Hermosa Beach, but just a moment's walk from the beach and the cafes etc, this Inn is perfectly located for exploring Hermosa Beach and hopping on the bus into Downtown LA.
My room was a disabled-access room as it was the only one available, so it was particularly spacious; kitchenette, desk, wardrobe, shelving space, king-size bed (extremely comfortable!).
The building has been recently renovated and some fittings were still being put up when I stayed, but this didn't detract from the value and comfort of the place. A very helpful family run the Reception desk.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    81
    12
    8
    14
See reviews for
56
92
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Wow.. Where do I start... I guess I wish I had read these reviews before I came to the hotel (and I use the word "hotel" lightly...).
Explanation below, but essenially:
RUDE OWNERS, Children at front desk, smelly (whole family lives behind front desk), not accomodating, no view AT ALL, expensive, lose reservations, no privacy due to other balconies looking in, bad internet, unfinished fixtures, nobody around at night... (list goes on...)

- Well, we had friends that came to stay with us and their reservation was lost(even though they , the owner was not apologetic, and found no solution despite our reservations having been made together and confirmed the week of.
- The owner and his entire extended family live behind the front desk, which makes for much noise, cooking smell, and strangeness... His 10 year old son covers the desk quite often and will not get an adult even when requested.
- Early check-ins are not allowed... 3 o'clock sharp is the earliest!
- We requested a late check-out and were practically yelled at and lectured and allowed 30 extra minutes. We checked out at 11:40, and were scolded by the front desk at length.
- We weren't catching a cab for two hours(which they won't call for you, but rather have you look up the company and call yourself) and we wanted to grab a brunch... They WOULD ABSOLUTELY NOT hold my wife an my bag for us until that time. **They even referenced that we "already got our one favor" from when we checked out 40 minutes late!)
- There are random wires hanging from the ceiling down the dark hallways
- One side of the building looks directly into a house that touches the building and the homeowners can look directly into your home from 10 feet away... just like the balconies where you have to keep your drapes close all day or else the room next door can see in!
- I felt the entire time like the owner/front desk guy/manager/utility guy (all same guy) was upset that we were even there, and my wife and I were BARELY at the hotel!
- They blatantly checked whether or not we had been there before to see if they would be nice to us, and once they saw we weren't, we felt like they couldn't care less about us as guests... Which makes me wonder why ANYONE would ever come back to this horrible place.
- Note: Our other friends who DID stay there and didn't have their reservation lost, thought it was absolutely horrible and almost left 1/2 way in between.
- Beach house is pricey, but WORTH IT!!!!!!!!!
- LASTLY, I am shocked that there are ANY positive reviews... something smells fishy.... or rather like curry...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

We could not believe it when we arrived at our hotel for the night. This hotel was under construction and they rent out rooms that are not finished and they have paint every where. It is very loud, cheap, smelly, toxic place to stay. Do not stay here if you don't want to breath paint or other chemicals. Parking is also a joke. It is in this tiny garage that is to small for all the cars they jam in there.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kalispell
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

clean, comfortable and close to the beach...when u visit the beach ur not going to be sitting in ur room anyway.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010 via mobile

Our third time here, this time for 4 nights. Clean and comfy. The west facing rooms are worth the money: perfect view of park and beach. Staff and managers are very nice. This family run hotel is as always a pleasant stay. And the parking is included!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

I had a great stay, free internet, nice and comfortable bed, nice view, a huge room, and the room was very clean, with attention to detail. The owners were very friendly too.

The only thing I didnt really like was the older bathroom. but nothing was broken, everything was working. And a Vending machine, or mini bar would have been great too...

Location was amazing, just 10 seconds away from the beach.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

one of the WORSE experience we ever had in our 30 yrs of traveling all over the world. Very unfriendly and an-polite staff. Duty rooms, no vacuum the room and didn't finish cleaning specially when they didn't have more than 3 rooms full during the weekend. I know because they keep all the rooms in the 2nd and 3ed floor with the doors open during the day.
We left 2 days early to another place in Hermosa Beach to finish our reunion. That bad it was...
Will never recommend this motel to anyone . Do not stay there, unless you want problems.
Very pricy for a Motel. No view unless you go to the 3rd floor or you have a wall infront of you.
Better look around in Hermosa Beach for a better price and better place.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grandview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandview Inn

Address: 55 14th Street, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hermosa Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Hermosa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Grandview Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grandview Inn is superbly located 70 feet from the beach in the classic Californian beach town of Hermosa Beach in Los Angeles. Miles of sandy beach, safe, friendly community is the perfect place to stay when you visit the Los Angeles area. And The Grandview Hotel is the perfect place to stay in Hermosa Beach. all rooms are non smoking We're in a cozy neighborhood where a quiet street walk meets a charming avenue of shops and restaurants. Almost anything you could need is literally just around the corner: nightclubs, restaurants, dry cleaners, laundry, beauty salon, grocery store and fitness center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grandview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandview Hotel Hermosa Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grandview Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.