We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, motel in need of some TLC” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Sprite Ocean Front Motel and Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hermosa Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Sprite Ocean Front Motel and Apartments
Save Saved
You added Sea Sprite Ocean Front Motel and Apartments to your Saves list
1016 The Strand, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Hermosa Beach
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great location, motel in need of some TLC”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My wife, 2 year old daughter and had an enforced stop over in Los Angeles & found the Sea Sprite motel after some last minute shopping around. The location, about 30 seconds from the beach, cannot be faulted, and it was an easy stroll to shops or along the beach up to Manhattan Pier.

Unfortunately, the motel itself was a little grotty, although the apartment we used did have a very small kitchenette & lounge with working television. The carpets & furniture had all seen much better days, and were not what you would class as "spotless". That said, we did stay there for well below the cost of more upmarket hotels, and the staff seemed very friendly.

One other downside for us was that there was only a very basic lock on the main door, and as we were at ground level, we found this inadequate to allow us to leave any valuables in the apartment when we went out. Also, with its close proximity to the local drinking holes, there were one or two unsavoury characters around in the evenings.

All in all, we got exactly what we paid for.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    29
    15
    12
    25
See reviews for
31
20
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

What a lovely spot. The Sea Sprite was like a home away from home but with a fabulous beach front thrown in. It must be one of the best places to stay in in L.A. being right on the beach ,with LAX just down the road, and all the best bars and restaurants next door.We were lucky enough to have a classic car show thrown in too. Thanks for a lovely experience Sea Sprite and may you stay on the beach forever. We shall be back !

Room Tip: Theyre all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

If you're looking for 1,000 thread count sheets and 4-star room service, head to Santa Monica. If you want a clean, comfortable place right on the beach close to the bars and restaurants of Pier Avenue, the Sea Sprite is your place.

You can stay in a teeny-tiny room in the annex that's all bed, a standard 60's-era room in the motel proper, or you can rent a Strand-side cottage. It's all clean and well-maintained, and teh beds are comfortable. Each room comes with a parking space, but those spaces are small!

My husband and I first stayed here in 1986 on our "pre-honeymoon" (I had to test him out.) We came back for the official post-wedding honeymoon in 1987 and have been back every 5 years or so since then when viisting friends who live in the various L.A. beach cities. We've strayed a couple of times, but always come back to the Sea Sprite.

Room Tip: I like the pool-side rooms, but ifstaying for more than a few days the cottage is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Although the location of The Sea Sprite is ideal, one must factor in the proximity to the Pier/late night bars. Motel quality decor/bedding/towels at best. Cracks in the wall and kids partying all night in other rooms. If sleeping is your thing, I would consider elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I have been staying the last 12 years at the Sea Sprite, and it is always my FIRST stop in California when landing from Geneva. I is so easy to get there, just 10-15 min from LAX.

Since all these years I have tested nearly all the rooms (they go from large to actual complete small strand front villa!), and on my last 3 check-ins end of September, as always, everything was great.

Though one should get used to the reception staff, which is more European style (no problem for me), I must say they are always friendly and helpfull, and ready to give you a small discount if you are frequently there.

Rooms are spacious, clean, and actually seem to have been refurbished in the passed few years.
View is divine, perfect location to hit south bay beaches.

Cherry on the cake, and not the least, they give you a free parking for your whole stay, which in the summer becomes luxury in Hermosa !

Only down side is that Hermosa is seeming to be a little more rough than it used to (or I am getting older?) so the surroundings of the hotel can get a little "rough" late at night, but this is more due to the Strand action than anything else.

As for many of the below comments, yes, Sea Sprite, though so great, is a motel. I would not compare it to a hotel. Or if I had to, I would say that Sea Sprite is 3 star Hotel, and a 5 star Motel.

Room Tip: Any room in the main building is great and cheaper than the bigger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Sea Sprite is perfect for us. We like being on the beach. The view of the sunset, beach and ocean are the best. Many bars/restaurants are in walking distance. Like the beach activities we can watch and enjoy renting and riding bikes on the strand. Plus you can smoke in the room and on the property. The rooms are clean. They either have a full kitchen or at least microwave and fridge. The staff friendly and accommodating. If you are thinking the Hilton it may not be for you. If you are thinking beach cottage you will love it. And location, location, location makes this our favorite.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stay at this hotel annually for my friend's birthday pub crawl. While the rooms are modest, it's really the location that makes this hotel shine. It is literally right on the boardwalk. Its location just blocks away from the Hermosa Pier makes it a great, low cost location to stay when visiting the bars and restaurants of the area as you can simply walk back to your hotel when you are done. Keep in mind the hotel is definitely a "value" hotel. The amenities, linens and furniture have some deferred maintenance, but the hotel is always clean. Parking can be difficult, as there is not a lot of space, but the hotel has dedicated parking spaces as well as a nearby, offsite lot. Overall, if you plan on staying in the Hermosa/Manhattan area and want a low cost location to stay, this is your place!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Sprite Ocean Front Motel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Sprite Ocean Front Motel and Apartments

Address: 1016 The Strand, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254
Location: United States > California > Hermosa Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Hermosa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Sprite Ocean Front Motel has been family owned and operated since 1964. We are located just 5 miles from LAX and about 30 minutes away from all major Southern California destinations such as Universal Studios, Disneyland and Hollywood. We welcome your family to come enjoy the beach with us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Sprite Ocean Front Motel And Apartments Hotel Hermosa Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Sprite Ocean Front Motel and Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.