We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expect a BEACH "house" not a hotel or motel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Sprite Ocean Front Motel and Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hermosa Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Sprite Ocean Front Motel and Apartments
Save
You added Sea Sprite Ocean Front Motel and Apartments to your Saves list
1016 The Strand, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Hermosa Beach
Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Expect a BEACH "house" not a hotel or motel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The Sea Sprite has the perfect location and if it were polished it would no doubt be out of many of the reviewers price range. With that being said, STILL expect less and you will be happily surprised by the views and the convenience. The hotel itself is ROUGH and the housekeeping really poor (we stayed a week and they NEVER vacuumed our room or washed the bathroom floor!) only clean towels and the bed made... not even a pushing in of the chairs! The front desk is very nice... but they can do only so much with the little they have. But the VIEW and the close walk to EVERYTHING well it's worth roughing it a little bit. Love Hermosa Beach... and thank you Sea Sprite for being there ... if you want luxury walk down the street to BEACH HOUSE... but I noticed they were empty... and the Sea Sprite was hopping... I wonder why?

Room Tip: Ocean view away from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    29
    15
    12
    25
See reviews for
31
20
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We've been going to the Sea Sprite for 10 years and love it. All the previous reviews have got it right about the view, the Strand, the beach, the restaurants, library, post office etc. The service and staff are the best. The rooms are spare but just the thing - lying on the bed on the third floor and watching the sun go down is a treat manifique! It's a family place with long, local roots in the town of Hermosa Beach. Just to add a bit: easy driving to all matter LA, often best done on local roads rather than freeways and not to forget, the famous 'The Spot' vegetarian restaurant is a short 8 block walk away, either by The Strand or Beach Drive. The Sea Sprite is The Place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

No frills but GREAT location and amazing value!! Right on the water for less than half the price of a high end hotel near the water. Rooms are always very clean and the staff is always helpful.right next to the pier and pavillion loaded with bars and restaurants.

Room Tip: many of the rooms are like apartments . excellent for traveling with a family. can't ask for a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Honestly, rolling up to this motel I was a little sketched out. Hermosa Beach is a lovely area, but a cheap motel on the beach I was thinking that it was going to be icky inside (we needed a place to crash after a long day and our other plans for the night fell thru). The rate was good, the check in was fast and efficient. The front door of the room is a sliding glass door, like something that would be on a patio. It was a little hard to get the door locked on the inside, but finally I did. The room was VERY clean.. there's a small refrigerator, microwave and tv in the room. This is definitely not for people looking to lounge comfortabley inside all day but the beach is literally right out the front door. Awesome! The room got really hot, instead of putting the a/c on we cracked the "front" sliding door. The curtain over the door didn't cover completely, so people walking by could definitely look in and see us in bed... eww. We were on the 2nd floor, so that was good, but walking to and from our room we could see into other peoples rooms too (and people laying in bed). There were plenty of towels and the bedding was nice. This is definitely a good place to crash. Oh! and we had two cars .... 1 free spot comes with the room and the front desk allowed us to rent an additional spot.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband and I planned a month long stay in the Hermosa-Redondo Beach area and wanted to have a bit of space, cooking area and be close to the beach. This was a great find - we can walk to the library, the grocery store, multiple restaurants and in a minute have the bicycle on The Stand for a ride or be on the beach. It fits all our needs nicely. We have another trip booked!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

When I first arrived I wasn't sure at all what I was expecting. ( a friend of mine told me I should stay there and when they said it was right on the beach I was sold). Yes it is a older place, but if you actually do you research on a place before you stay there then you would know that! So half the people complaining about how run down it is, honestly you got no one to blame but yourself! The hotel website even states that the rooms are all smoking rooms. Anyways, check in was easy, I can't recall the guys name young Hispanic guy, VERY nice and helpful when I asked for suggestions on where to eat. Once I got to my room, I was in love, and had nothing to do with the room, the view was to die for! Yes it's a little loud but seriously your on the beach and it's summer time what else would you expect! I had a great mini getaway and I will be back more than once!

Room Tip: The full ocean view rooms are AMAZING!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

It is year 6 of my family going here each summer. Again, its not the Ritz Carlton, and if you are expecting that then you can probably do yourself a favor and not be a cheap *** and go book a room there. If you like the beach, the partying that goes with it. If you like great food that isnt corporately owned, riding bikes down the best stretch of sand there is the Sea Sprite.

We had no bugs, no worries and no hurries. We spend time at the beach, on the Strand and on 'Sparkley Street', not sitting in the room pouting about what it 'should' or 'could' be.

James and Judith at the front desk are always helpful... and the motel is always full for a reason. Oscar has been on the maint. crew since I started coming and so has the lead housekeeper. Its a family hotel for families... albeit families who like to have a good time and perhaps get a little loud and wild once in a while.

I had a great time, the wife and kids had a great time as did our travelling guests from other rooms.

Room Tip: Different room stylesa ll around the place... it really depends on your parties needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Sprite Ocean Front Motel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Sprite Ocean Front Motel and Apartments

Address: 1016 The Strand, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254
Location: United States > California > Hermosa Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hermosa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Sprite Ocean Front Motel has been family owned and operated since 1964. We are located just 5 miles from LAX and about 30 minutes away from all major Southern California destinations such as Universal Studios, Disneyland and Hollywood. We welcome your family to come enjoy the beach with us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Sprite Ocean Front Motel And Apartments Hotel Hermosa Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Sprite Ocean Front Motel and Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.