We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT LOCATION AND POOL” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Sprite Ocean Front Motel and Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hermosa Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Sprite Ocean Front Motel and Apartments
1016 The Strand, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254   |  
Hotel amenities
WOODBRIDGE
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“GREAT LOCATION AND POOL”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

One block from Pier Ave clubs(.Check out the Lighthouse cafe). It is the only hotel with a pool.which makes up for the rooms which are merely ok. Stay in the motel facing the ocean on the top floor to avoid overhead noise . Front desk closes at 11 PM, The shower is really hard to regulate with 3 knobs and the shower head is lame. It's a party hotel and you can smoke in the rooms but the rates are really high for what you get.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    28
    14
    9
    26
See reviews for
28
19
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

The location is fabulous. I love the Strand and the view of the ocean can't be beat. However, there were families stayibg here and children kept running back and forth in front of the sliding glass door all afternon. At night the partying started. When a group of 10 rode up dressed as buffalo with one indian, we headed out to buy some earplugs which we used. It all quited down around 2 am. The room itself was very clean with a small fridge and microwave-but no dishes- and the carpet looked new. The sliding glass door was very old and it looked like it could easily be broken into. The heater on the wall is all rusted looking and, when I was here years ago on a cold night, I had to light the pilot light to get the heat on. So, don't expect any luxury, expect a lively and noisy place and a great location. The cottage looked like a great place to stay with a family.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Over the years I have stayed here several times and in several different of its many nearby locations from right by its pool...not recomended for noise...to its lowrise behind the main check in area....great value and its nearby 3 or 4 story...also good value..
This is a Hotel for people on a budget who want a good deal and understand a good deal...whiners and picky people will NOT enjoy it as its value lies in its location and proximity to EVERYTHING incuding nearby Hermosa attractions and the bicycle rental places...
We found it always clean and neat....its only points off for the Four Seasons set is that it is practically in the sea its so close to the beach and as with all such hotels has a marine corrosion challenge....you can literally walk out your door and put on your Rollerblades....if you live on the US mainland take your bike with you...nearby rentals are $7 an HOUR...making a Walmart $100 bike a deal if your here for a week...also Good Stuff the iconic restaurant is about 200 yards North..!!

Room Tip: Do not get rooms by the pool as it is a center of activity...naturally..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

When I am in L.A. I always stay at the Sea Sprite because it is right on the Strand in Hermosa Beach. 300 yards from everything. And the only reasonably priced Motel in the area and I find the area the nicest part of L.A.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

OK, it's old, but the essential stuff works, call it "funky". OK, there are a lot of different kinds of people, but they are usually nice people, if a little noisy sometimes. Choose this place only if you can deal with those factors. The prices are way less than the other beach-front motels, most rooms have microwaves and fridges, and there is a nice little heated pool. I had an excellent stay. The Pier area is just a block north. Not only do you have the miles long beach-front walking/biking/rollerblading/baby carriaging walkway right at the motel, but a few blocks east there is a great hiking trail along a former railroad bed.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

I don't even know where to begin. First of all the place is old and decrepit. That would have been manageable for the location, however, the rooms smelled terribly. The odor seemed to linger on my clothes. The real fun began at night. The bed was not at all conducive for sleeping. The sheets made my skin itch to the point of using an extra beach towel as a blanket. Then on two different occasions somebody tried to open the door to the room. The doors are flimsy and the curtains do not provide enough privacy. While I was contemplating calling the police because nobody was in the office, a woman began screaming for her life in the courtyard of the hotel. I called the police and the situation was handled in one of the rooms. Needless to say I went sleep deprived that night. The worst part of the stay was how the situation was handled. Staff and management are completely unprofessional and incompetent. I had to wait one hour to speak with the manager who was rude, uncaring and dismissive. I honestly cannot believe someone found him competent enough to manage a motel. I ended up paying for the sleepless night and opting out of staying another. I couldn't get out of their fast enough. I felt as a guest my safety was in jeopardy and will never remotely consider staying there again or recommending it to another traveler. I've stayed in run down hostels that offered better service and safety than this dump.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

I have stayed at this motel several times (and so have other family members) since we discovered it several years ago. We have all always really enjoyed the experience. I get one of the rooms around the pool, which face the ocean. There is nothing like going to sleep with the sound of the waves crashing ... just outside your door ... and you can watch the sun set and rise .... amazingly beautiful and peaceful. There is a small fridge and microwave in the room, and although the room seems older, it's clean and comfy. The place just has a neat feel to it. And you just go down the steps and you are on the beach. Lots of little shops and great restaurants just steps from the motel. The guys at the desk were helpful and friendly ... one of them let me use his personal cell phone when the one in my room didn't work one afternoon.

Room Tip: Get one of the rooms around the pool. Might be a bit more in price, but they look out at the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sea Sprite Ocean Front Motel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Sprite Ocean Front Motel and Apartments

Also Known As:
Sea Sprite Ocean Front Motel And Apartments Hotel Hermosa Beach
Sea Sprite Ocean Front Motel And Apartments Hotel
Address: 1016 The Strand, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254
Location: United States > California > Hermosa Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 hotels in Hermosa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Sprite Ocean Front Motel has been family owned and operated since 1964. We are located just 5 miles from LAX and about 30 minutes away from all major Southern California destinations such as Universal Studios, Disneyland and Hollywood. We welcome your family to come enjoy the beach with us. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Sprite Ocean Front Motel and Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sea Sprite Ocean Front Motel and Apartments to your Saves list