We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Something For Everyone!"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King's Point Pottery

King's Point Pottery
27 Bayside Drive, King's Point, Newfoundland and Labrador A0J 1H0 , Canada
(709) 268-2216
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Specialty Shops, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Green Bay, north central coast of Newfoundland
Lethbridge, Canada
1 review
“"Something For Everyone!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

King's Point Pottery is a joy to visit! With 150 artisans represented in the gallery, our acquisitions were more a matter of restraint rather than finding things we liked! When we left we had five different pieces from five different artisans, a tribute not only to the diversity of mediums represented but more so to the quality of work found in this charming gallery.

We found that owners Linda Yates and David Hayashida believe in and promote not only the community where they live, but also the community of artisans within their gallery. While we were walking around the gallery and looking at various pieces, David was able to tell us about the artisans themselves, their work, the process of their art and even the history behind it! Wow! We could see that this type of personal connection and involvement with each artisan would not only make for a strong relationship and benefit to the gallery contributors, but also a great asset and incentive for visitors to stop by!

We would certainly recommend taking the short jaunt off the Transcanada Highway to King's Point Pottery for a couple of hours, or a couple of days to also explore the community. There's lots to see and something for everyone!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elmira, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is a super special place full of all sorts of interesting arts and crafts, most of them very unique and all of them beautiful. Highly recommended!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The little shop that grew”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Here is an update to my January 2011 review of King's Point Pottery ...

I made my annual Newfoundland pilgrimage this summer to find that the gallery/shop had doubled its space. The new gallery is quite spacious. And you will find work from well over 100 artisans on sale. They offer boutique shopping in ocean front setting.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A must stop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Beautiful gallery in King's point. Even the display racks are pieces of art. Owners are very welcoming and you can book pottery lessons with them. A variety of potters and other artisans for sale from NL and Atlantic Canada. This shop exceeded my expectations. A must stop.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gander NL
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Top 5 in Atlantic Canada”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I've been collection and using King's Point Pottery for 20 years and made my bi-annual pilgrimage this weekend past. What a treat! Retail space has been doubled and is now featuring amazing crafts from across the Atlantic provinces. In addition to the unique in house designs, there is pottery from the Bay of Fundy and PEI and others. Wood carvings from Winterton, NL, turned wood and Labradorite carvings show the diversity of NL crafts people and the keen eye of owners and potters, Linda and David.
The gallery has just been identified as one of the top 5 studios in the Atlantic provinces and for good reason. Jewelry, Christmas ornaments, folk art and serving dishes are just some of the categories covered in a bright, neat,well thought out space.
Don't need a pot? Just stop in for a look while whale watching or on your way to see Rattling Brook Falls.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King's Point Pottery also viewed

 
King's Point, Newfoundland

Been to King's Point Pottery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King's Point Pottery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.