We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top 5 in Atlantic Canada” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King's Point Pottery

King's Point Pottery
27 Bayside Drive, King's Point, Newfoundland and Labrador A0J 1H0 , Canada
+1 709-268-2216
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Awarded top craft shop/ gallery (2013) in Atlantic Canada with 250 different craft/ artist on display.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Gander NL
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Top 5 in Atlantic Canada”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I've been collection and using King's Point Pottery for 20 years and made my bi-annual pilgrimage this weekend past. What a treat! Retail space has been doubled and is now featuring amazing crafts from across the Atlantic provinces. In addition to the unique in house designs, there is pottery from the Bay of Fundy and PEI and others. Wood carvings from Winterton, NL, turned wood and Labradorite carvings show the diversity of NL crafts people and the keen eye of owners and potters, Linda and David.
The gallery has just been identified as one of the top 5 studios in the Atlantic provinces and for good reason. Jewelry, Christmas ornaments, folk art and serving dishes are just some of the categories covered in a bright, neat,well thought out space.
Don't need a pot? Just stop in for a look while whale watching or on your way to see Rattling Brook Falls.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“A must-stop for lovers of fine crafts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We went out of our way to visit this shop and it was even better than I anticipated. The two potters who run the shop, Linda Yates & David Hayashida, do beautiful work themselves, but they've also done a really great job of collecting work from several other wonderful Canadian artisans, many from the East Coast. The trick is to leave the shop without too many pieces to fit in your luggage! The shop itself, a converted garage, is a point of interest and the owners will spend time telling you about it. King's Point too has many other points of interest, but I wouldn't recommend staying at Budgell's Motel (mentioned on the Pottery website).

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great tourist destination, lots to see and cool local stuff to buy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Must-visit studio and shop! Wonderful shop filled with fabulous and interesting things to buy from around the region. Dolphin skeleton exhibit outside. Interesting building they designed with beautiful balcony made of branches! Great location looking out on bay visited by whales, dolphins, & fish. Friendly and lovely couple, explained their unique salt soda process, and how they make their beautiful pottery. Wonderful blue on white pottery with whales and other animals! Know people here in the NWT who collect it, as there are lots of Newfoundlanders up in the sub-arctic. Great trails, waterside restaurant and scenery there too! Don't miss it!

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A gem of a place - art, whimsy, warmth, and a beautiful place to stop.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

On our first visit to Newfoundland, this studio and ranked alongside the stunning Newfoundland scenery as the two hands-down highlights of our family trip. The waterfront shop is a delight, inside and out, and the quality of the work is first-rate - if you're interested in really original work, you won't be disappointed.There are several lines of gorgeous ceramics, plus lots of stunning one-off pieces. Aside from the studio's own work, there is a really nicely chosen selection of arts and crafts from other parts of Newfoundland. It's obvious that there's a love of place at work here. We were able to chat at length with the owners, who told us all kinds of things about the area and gave us quite a few suggestions as to hikes and short boat trips near King's Point that we wouldn't have known about otherwise. If you leave the island through St. John's, make sure you ask them about the best places to buy bakery treats and picnic goodies there!

Visited August 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Worth the short jaunt from the Trans Canada”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

After our family's fourth visit to King's Point Pottery and the enchanting green/white bay area, we've decided to buy a summer home there! While the King's Point Pottery craft gallery is a tourist destination in itself featuring over 70 handmade craft producers, there are several days worth of things to see & do in the area. ie the world largest humpback whale skeleton, world class hiking trails, 850 ft waterfall, great eating and the list goes on an on.

Strangely this region in central Newfoundland remains a best kept secret compared to other must see areas like Gros Morne and Bay Bulls. I can't wait to spend my whole summer exploring and relaxing in this wonderful part of Canada. I just heard that King's Point Pottery was just selected a top 5 arts Newfoundland destination...maybe the secret is finally out?

Visited August 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King's Point Pottery also viewed

King's Point, Newfoundland
 
King's Point, Newfoundland

Been to King's Point Pottery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King's Point Pottery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.