We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rare gem!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Gloucester Eco-Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hydeaway Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cape Gloucester Eco-Resort
Save
You added Cape Gloucester Eco-Resort to your Saves list
128 Gloucester Avenue, Hydeaway Bay, Queensland 4800, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Rare gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

One of those really good energy places to visit. We only had time for a drink & a bite to eat, but it was one of the highlights of our holiday. Very peaceful, stunning location, friendly staff, great service!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    12
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had works Christmas lunch at the resort (we did not stay at the resort) The staff are happy, friendly and verry helpful.
The food was nice and the view from every table would be awesome. Your basically on the beach, looking at the Whitsunday islands on the coral sea, what's not to love? There is a pool for guests and a pool table for everyone.
This is a really nice place to go for the day, put your towel on the beach, have breakfast or lunch and have a few cold drinks. You can walk down the beach to Monte s, another bar/restaurant and take some lovely pictures. They have a courtesy bus which picked us up and droped us back at our camp site near by.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Spent 2 Awesome nights here as our first holiday without the kids in 5 years. We loved it the cabins are private and well cooled, the staff especially the manager is the perfect host, Thank you so much for showing everyone else how it should be done! We will be back.

Room Tip: Beachfront cabins are worth the extra $$$
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerald, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We booked here after struggling to find any other accommodation in the area. Very pricey for a basic room. We stayed in a motel styled room, the rooms are clean and with basic furnishings Each room has a bbq and kitchenette. But lets face it, in a location like this one you wouldn't want to spend much time in your room. Turn the aircon on to help with the noise from the room next door. It sounded like they where in the room with us. Love love the pool area and bar. The restaurant does a great meal too. The views are stunning and the bar is a great place to have a cocktail or two.

Room Tip: Cabins 1 2 & 3 are on the beach and are either 2 bedroom or a 1 room cabin. They are more expens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

Spent the night in the Couples Retreat cabin after one of the best meals ever. This resort is absolutely fantastic. From its magnificent views, it's wonderful beachside pool, the tropical open air restaurant. My wife and I have traveled all over the world and I cannot ever remember a more relaxing and comfortable resort. We will return.

Stayed August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed for a few days in a pretty good self contained cabinclose to the beach - just a two minute walk away.
The cabin was well, albeit, sparsely furnished, well set out, clean and private. The resort itself is small and beautiful with a great áway from it all' feel. The views are fantastic.
There is a central bar and restaurant area - the bar was good with reasonable prices and good selection, the restaurant had a nice setting with so so food and unfortunately on the night we were there a very noisy over-indulged child. Whatever happened to teaching children manners and having consideration for others?
This place made much of oits 25 metre pool but when we were there it was out of action with much work being carried out. No explanation was given nor allowance made for the lack of this facility.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We were disappointed with the standard of accommodation for the price paid at this resort. The bed was uncomfortable and there were minimal kitchen utensils. Everything was old and shabby and at $AUS240 per night for our cabins ,this was poor value for money. It's a shame that such a great location doesn't have a better standard of rooms.

Room Tip: Definitely need a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Gloucester Eco-Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Gloucester Eco-Resort

Address: 128 Gloucester Avenue, Hydeaway Bay, Queensland 4800, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Hydeaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Hydeaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Gloucester Eco-Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.