We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most accommodating hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rambala Jungle Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rambala Jungle Lodge to your Saves list
Rambala Jungle Lodge
Off the main road to Chiriqui Grande and Alimirante | Bocas Del Toro, Rambala, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Casco Viejo, Panama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most accommodating hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I am a biologist living in Panama and stayed at Rambala Jungle Lodge while doing some work in the area. Lyn and Eric were the most amazingly accommodating hosts, doing everything imaginable to make my stay pleasant (and my research successful). The grounds are lovely and swimming in the natural stream pools was a daily pleasure. The cabin I stayed in was fantastic - rustic but well built and comfortable, something that can be very hard to find in Panama. Lots of great wildlife to be seen - frogs, birds, slothes, etc. Perhaps the most pleasant thing was how Lyn would cue in on our conversations to create a delicious menu for the next day. When we talked about our mutual love of New Orleans, she made me beignets the next morning! When she and Eric knew I had to get up early, they delivered fresh hot coffee to my cabin! It was great. Definitely recommend this a stop if you are in the Bocas area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Panama
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Travelled up to my friends eco resort in the Panama Jungle. A wonderful get away spot. Chance to experience the jungle, wildlife (sloths, humming birds, famous Panama frogs, bats, hawks, maybe even a small jaguar), do some walking, swim in the waterfall pool which is really refreshing and just relax. Eco toilets and spirit lamps. Micro-hydro going in soon. Guest cabanas and options that can be discussed with owners. They also take volunteers to live up here and do maintenance or research with some cost and some parts free. If you are not driving it is pretty easy to bus inexpensively from Panama to David and then Davd to Punta Pena ( on the Bocas del Toro route). I have bused a few times. it is not far from Punta Pena which also has a government airstrip so even though a remote jungle property you are close to town in an emergency. Wireless internet picks up ok. Cell if you are lucky depending on spots. Part or all of the property is up for sale as well now that it has been developed intially from virgin jungle. Off the beaten track a little but well worth it and all part of the adventure. Wonderful river tubing available for 10 kms down the main river past the indigenous villages.

Room Tip: Talk with the owners, all the accomodation is cabanas on the hillside.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank ChimDingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

...of a REAL jungle experience? Well, this is it. The property is amazing, the accommodations rudimentary but surprisingly comfortable. The hosts (Lyn and Eric) provide a real tropical wilderness experience...everything from river tubing, hiking and the BEST thing of all is swimming in the little pools beneath the small waterfalls. I felt like I was in a movie! The view of the Caribbean and Isla Popa beyond complete this picture of paradise. The meals were delicious, healthy and the company was fantastic. I love the complete lack of electricity with no lights at night so the view above of the star canopy made me feel like I was the only person on earth. How often does that happen ANYWHERE on earth? Oh yeah, did I mention that I already live in Panama and thought I was in paradise already. But after the short and beautiful hike up to this isolated piece of heaven I realize what paradise really is. It is to be found at Rumbala Jungle Lodge. I WILL be back soon.

Room Tip: This is a tiny place with few rooms, but they have all been positioned perfectly...you can't get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PenRip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

I was there for a few days in 2011. Lyn and Eric were great hosts. It is a really nice place for a nature getaway. Just doing without electric changes how we operate and feel. If connects you to your surroundings so much quicker. If nothing else, it allows you to hear the subtle and glorious sounds of nature.

Sitting in a little valley with a distant view of the ocean, you quickly have a feeling of remoteness even though you are not that far from "civilization". Now I understand they have cell phone service on the property and even internet capabilities, so you can stay in touch with the outside world from what seems like the middle of nowhere.

The accommodations were comfortable in private cabin with big soft bed, nice shower, good food and drink. The nature trails allowed for a look deeper in the rainforest. And the little river flowing through the property not only provided soothing sounds, it was fantastic to relax in. So many different pools among the big rocks to explore and soak - one could spend weeks testing them all.

The bed had mosquito netting and you do need repellent for nature trails, but overall, there were very few biting insects. The middays can get hot (good excuse for a dip in the river and seista), but not extreme and the nights cooled down fine for sleeping.

It would be a great place for a relaxing nature retreat, birding, photography, or even scientific research. If desired, there are many options for day trips in the area. But, just "hanging out" for a few days and relaxing is wonderful. Bottom line - I would (and plan to) go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Arrange for a private cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlieStrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

What a relaxing escape from the buzz of civilization!

Rambala Jungle Lodge is really so much less but so much more all at the same time. After a short hike onto the property you are met with the babbling of the river, the singing of the birds and the gentle breezes through the jungle canopy. You can spend your time relaxing in a hammock, hiking the trails, taking a dip in the river or taking an excursion to go rafting, snorkeling or any of the many activities offered in the area. You will see many species of birds as well as sloths and possibly something a little more exciting such as a jaguarundi or ocelot. All your meals will be made fresh for you from wholesome local food, some grown in the organic garden on the premises.

Being from Florida, I was amazed at the lower temperature and much lower incidence of bugs while hiking in the rainforest. I certainly expected more heat and more bugs, but much to my surprise there was substantially less heat and less bugs. (I'm not claiming that there were no bugs.) Speaking of bugs, I saw amazing Blue Morpho butterflies flying through the jungle.

My favorite part of my trip was falling asleep to the sounds of the river and being awakened in the morning by the loud calls of the toucans, a nice alternative to an alarm clock or rooster!

I can't even write all of the amazing parts of my trip here. You'll just have to go see it for yourself.

Tell Lyn and Eric that Anne says Hi!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m00nlightdesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rambala
19.8 mi away
The Haven Hotel and Spa
The Haven Hotel and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boquete
4.5 of 5 stars 268 reviews
22.3 mi away
Popa Paradise Beach Resort
18.1 mi away
Urraca Private Island
Urraca Private Island
#2 of 2 in Isla Popa
5.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Azul Paradise
Azul Paradise
#7 of 15 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 stars 85 reviews
20.4 mi away
Laguna Azul Eco Lodge
Laguna Azul Eco Lodge
#1 of 2 in Isla Popa
5.0 of 5 stars 71 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Sea Monkey Sea & Tree Lodge
The Sea Monkey Sea & Tree Lodge
#2 of 15 in Isla Bastimentos
5.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rambala Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rambala Jungle Lodge

Address: Off the main road to Chiriqui Grande and Alimirante | Bocas Del Toro, Rambala, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Rambala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Rambala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This amazing destination is rustic and remote. A sustainable off grid Eco Lodge with River, cabins and jungle trails. All packages include good healthy meals. Stunning natural pools with waterfalls and Caribbean views, abound in this excellent climate which is consistant 70-80 f. Great for birding, discovering and enjoying the abundance of tropical plants and wildlife. Advance reservations necessary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rambala Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing