We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We didn't want to leave!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Raford Inn Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Healdsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Raford Inn Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added The Raford Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
10630 Wohler Rd, Healdsburg, CA 95448   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Healdsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, IL
1 review
“We didn't want to leave!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

Never having stayed at a B&B, we weren't sure what to expect, but it certainly wasn't this. We felt as though we were royalty guests in Dane and Rita's home. We truly hated to leave. The countryside was beautiful and the location is perfect...close to the hustle and bustle, but away from it all at the end of the day. We truly hated to leave and are already planning to go back. The food was wonderful, the room was beautiful, and the hosts are two very special people who go out of their way to make you comfortable and welcome!! We miss them already.
Tom and Stacey Hodits - Gurnee, IL

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    21
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
299
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hallandale Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2009

The Raford Inn was a sight to behold as it perches on the Sonoma County hillside with breathtaking panoramic views and beautifully maintained gardens surrounding it. We were greeted with warmth and welcoming smiles as we arrived, our hosts keen to make our final leg on our Wine Country honeymoon as perfect as possible.

With Dane and Rita as our hosts we had no requirement for our WIne Country guidebook. Early evening every day on the verandah, the guests join their hosts for wine, cheese and other culinary delights(delicious homemade food for breakfast too!). I had planned several trips and meals around the area but our effervescent hosts were there to fill in the gaps and recommend places to visit, things to do, wines to drink, people to speak to.....

It was the small touches and the sincere hospitality that made the Raford Inn a rarity and a real find. This is coming from the man who makes long lists of things he finds unsatisfactory in almost every place he stays. I had no need for a pen...

Mimosas at breakfast to mark our honeymoon celebration, english beer to celebrate my soccer team winning, short notice dinner reservations, good conversation and laughter galore as the guests gathered for early evening nibbles and breakfast. This is an Inn that I will come back to with my wife, my family and friends in the future. A perfect base to see the delights of Sonoma....

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2009

After a hard day of wine tasting and eating at the many fine local restaurants the Raford House was like returning home without the annoying responsibilities. My wife and I
plan on returning as often as possible.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

After reading the reviews on Tripadvisor, my husband and I, along with another couple, booked a long weekend at the Raford Inn in March, 2009. We could not have been happier with the accommodations, but what really made this B&B a cut above were Dane and Rita, the innkeepers. They were both warm and welcoming and went out of their way to make sure we had a good time. The breakfasts were out of this world and every evening they had a wine and cheese offering out on the porch. Good food, good wine and good company made it difficult to leave for our dinner reservations.

The inn is strategically located close to the town of Healdsburg (about a 15 minute drive) and spectacular wineries surround the inn. We stayed in the Strawberry Room - with it's own private entrance and patio. The room was very large, with a settee and sitting area along with a beautiful antique armoire and dresser. The room had an iron and ironing board, hair dryer, and extra blanket. The little touches we greatly appreciated were chocolates and filtered drinking water in the room.

We had been to Napa several times in the past, but this was our first trip to Sonoma County. We will definitely go back to the Raford Inn as soon as we can. Thank you, Dane and Rita!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2009

Our experience at the Raford Inn was everything we hoped for! The Inn was in an ideal location to visit many wineries and fine restaurants. Our hosts, Dane and Rita, were warm and welcoming as were their entire staff. They were there to make our visit as pleasant as possible and in the process made us feel right at home. We stayed for five nights in the Lavender Room which was furnished with a queen-sized bed, numerous antiques, and an oversized private bath. Attention to detail was the norm. There was even a decorated glass bottle filled each day with filtered water and two cut glass water glasses available in our room.

There were no TVs or phones in the rooms, but wireless internet service was available as was a laptop for any and all guests who feel the need to keep connected, and for those who are addicted to their TV series there is a TV available in a charming solarium for the use of all the guests.

As for us, we enjoyed the fabulous breakfasts and the chats with the other guests each morning. After an afternoon of wine-tasting, bike riding, hiking in the redwood forest, or just enjoying the countryside, we always looked forward to the wine and cheese reception with the other guests as well as our hosts. These wonderfully presented wines and foods were usually served on the front porch which always had a beautiful breeze and an awesome view. You may even be treated to the sightings of many birds, such as woodpeckers, hummingbirds, and the hooded oriole, to name a few.

On our last morning we had to leave hours before breakfast was served so we could get to the airport, so Dane and Rita were awake to send us on our way with a boxed breakfast along with a cup of coffee/tea. These two are first class folks!

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to the Raford Inn and would definitely recommend it to anyone. In fact, we have already mentioned it to several friends and are trying to get them to join us on our next trip to California and the Raford Inn.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

We have definitely found a new "home away from home" to stay at when visiting the Russian River Valley for our wine tasting vacations. We were immediately impressed with the special feeling we got as soon as we stepped onto the beautiful front porch entry. Once we stepped inside we knew we had made the perfect choice in booking our stay there. Dane and Rita greeted us with open arms and acted like we were long lost friends. They were welcoming and gracious in sharing all their knowledge of things to do in the area and it was obvious of the pride they had in running the Inn. The Inn has a great location and has wonderful wineries to visit any direction you go. Each day started off with a breakfast that Martha Stewart would be proud of! Beautifully presented and wonderful to eat!!! Getting to meet other travelers over the special meal only made that time in the morning more special. In the evening, their wine and cheese hour, was another time to exchange information about our days outings with the hosts as well as the other guests. There were interesting restaurants only a few minutes away for all our other meals but we also enjoyed Rita and Dane joining us for pizza that we got at a near-by pizzeria and just eating at "home" one night paired with some amazing wines we had gotten at local wineries. (One wine in particular was unforgettable!!! Thanks Dane and Rita!!!!)
This B & B is not to be missed with its warm country charm and wonderful hosts. We can't wait to go back!!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2009

We stayed at the Raford Inn for five days in February. The innkeepers - Dane and Rita - were exceptional hosts and went out of their way to make sure that our time spent in Sonoma was thoroughly enjoyable. It felt more like staying with good friends than with innkeepers. We have raved about our stay there to our family and friends and eagerly look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Raford Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raford Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 10630 Wohler Rd, Healdsburg, CA 95448
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This classic Victorian Plantation landmark manor house, built in 1880, once presided over a huge empire of hops. Converted to an intimate country bed and breakfast in 1980 it sits upon a knoll above an unspoiled Russian River vineyard valley ringed by redwood forested mountains. Lovingly preserved it is a place of quiet beauty in the hills of Healdsburg Wine Country. Return now to a time and place that has not quite yet gone by. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Raford Inn b&b
The Raford Hotel Healdsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Raford Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.