We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Inn and Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madrona Manor Wine Country Inn and Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Madrona Manor Wine Country Inn and Restaurant to your Saves list
Madrona Manor Wine Country Inn and Restaurant
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   1001 Westside Road, Healdsburg, CA 95448   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 Healdsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bethesda, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Inn and Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Madrona Manor is a lovely and charming Inn. The Manor overlooks the mountains, which provides a gorgeous setting. Spacious room and nice size bathroom. Pretty gardens in the back where they grow the flowers and herbs used in the restaurant. No televisions in the room. Dinner in the restaurant of Madrona Manor is amazing. A five course meal with intermezzos and wine pairings chosen by the chef. Each course was delicious and creative with beautiful presentation. Dine on the outdoor patio for a romantic setting. Well worth the price for a special occasion!

Madrona Manor offered a special package for 2-night stay, bike tour and massages. We took advantage of the package, and we believe it was a good value. Bike tour was conducted by Wine Country Bikes, which is a well-run outfit (i.e., organized, on-time, very good bikes and accessories). It was very hot (100 degrees) and Wine Country Bikes used a support vehicle to provide a supply of cold water for us throughout the day. Lunch provided on the tour was fine – met our needs but nothing extraordinary. We biked through Dry Creek Valley, riding along West Dry Creek road (road which runs in front of Madrona Manor). We visited three vineyards, all of which were fine but none outstanding in terms of wine. On our own we visited wineries in the Russian River Valley. Think through winery visits in advance; some require reservations, some are closed on Sundays, etc. Our favorites were Gary Farrell and Rams Gate, in terms of the pinot noirs and the settings (both wineries are elevated on the mountain so you can sit outside for the tasting and enjoy the beautiful views).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    39
    15
    8
    2
See reviews for
14
126
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Petaluma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I love to visit and stay at Madrona Manor. The staff is always warm, friendly and accomodating. The rooms are tastefully done, painted in soft hues, beautiful antique furniture and many have balconies and/or fireplaces. This past week we stayed in a room with a balcony which had a magnificent view of the mountains in the distance. It was so peaceful and relaxing. The grounds are extraordinary with beautiful flower gardens to enjoy. The buffet breakfast was awesome with a variety of food choices and dinner at the restaurant was excellent! Madrona Manor is always our first choice when visiting the Healdsburg area. We always look forward to returning!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed for one night in the Meadow Wood West room. The room was elegant and had lots of character. The room included a nice private deck with a nice view of the gardens. The grounds were amazing and well taken care of - it was a nice peaceful retreat. The bed was comfortable and we had freshly baked cookies when we came to the room. The pool was nice and their buffet breakfast was amazing! They had a variety of food including croissants, different types of bread, eggs, fruit and lots more! The town of Healdsburg was also very quaint and a nice place to walk around and explore. Although the room was pricey we really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Madrona Manor over Memorial Day weekend. It is in a great location - just down the street from the main area in Healdsburg - and is removed enough from that area to be nice and quiet.

While the property is beautiful, it lacks certain amenities you would expect for the price and the room was musty smelling when we entered, with little air circulation. The bed was comfortable, but the pillows were not and we both had trouble sleeping as a result. The bathroom towels were extremely rough and uncomfortable. The hairdryer was a cheap built-in wall model that had a short in the wiring, so had to be held a certain way and didn't have much power at all. There wasn't a nice iron in the room. Breakfast was good - the fresh orange juice was great - but the offerings were heavy on egg dishes and pastries (the chocolate croissants were much too dense).

We have stayed in hotels and B&B's all over the world and I would rate Madrona as average, as the price is probably more reflective of the location to Healdsburg and not of the property itself. I would probably stay elsewhere on the next visit to the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin W, General Manager at Madrona Manor Wine Country Inn and Restaurant, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We always appreciate the opportunity to improve our services based on guest feedback. If you have a moment to contact me, kevin@madronamanor.com, I would love the chance to find out a few more specifics like which room you stayed in. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was our 3rd visit in last 18 months as we live in the midwest. Very relaxing atmosphere. Grounds are beautiful with super views. A very classy experience all around. Staff very friendly and helpful. Restaurant is great. Service and food top notch. Very quiet and peaceful place to stay. Feels like a home away from home. Can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Have stayed in Garden Cottage last 2 times. Very secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We had a wonderful room - the Schoolhouse Suite. It was behind a gate and through a garden. There is a lovely and very private patio where we spent time reading and talking. The entire estate is beautiful. I spent some time reading and napping in the hammock near the pool. Even though there were weddings going on, they were in a different area and we hardly even noticed. Our peace was never disturbed. The breakfast was superb! Even though this is a bit over our normal price range, it was worth every penny and we'll definitely be back, since we come to Healdsburg a couple of times a year.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I was very impressed with the hotel and services at Madrona Manor Wine Country Inn and Restaurant. Very quiet and good views. I was able to enjoy good time at the heated pool and surrounded by all beautiful gardens all around. Including oranges all around. The restaurant was very, very good. Breakfast buffet style. Dinner was also impressive as tasty and for presentation. Small portions but very fulfilling. Even if you do the tasting menu, paired with the selected wines.
We even had a chance to meet with the chef and congratulate him for our delicious meal and great presentation.

Room Tip: The rooms at the carriage house located on the right side of the building have a private terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Madrona Manor Wine Country Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madrona Manor Wine Country Inn and Restaurant

Address: 1001 Westside Road, Healdsburg, CA 95448
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Madrona Manor Wine Country Inn and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world-class destination for guests seeking gracious service and luxurious accommodations in the heart of wine country. Nestled in the hills above the Dry Creek Valley of Sonoma County, Madrona Manor is an exceptionally lovely Victorian estate surrounded by eight acres of wooded and landscaped grounds. The Mansion, built in 1881, has been a destination for discerning guests seeking a holiday in the gracious wine country of northern California since 1981. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Madrona Manor Wine Country Inn and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madrona Manor Wine Country Inn And Restaurant Hotel Healdsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madrona Manor Wine Country Inn and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.