We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ageless beauty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madrona Manor Wine Country Inn and Restaurant

Save Saved
You added Madrona Manor Wine Country Inn and Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Madrona Manor Wine Country Inn and Restaurant
1001 Westside Road, Healdsburg, CA 95448   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 16 Healdsburg B&B and Inns
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“An ageless beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was our second visit to this unique and lovely country inn. Both visits were to celebrate special occasions (as many of the guests seemed to be doing as well), and it lived up to our fond memories from our first stay several years ago. The main Victorian house has a majestic appearance and a commanding view over the Dry Creek Valley vineyards from its position atop a knoll that is surrounded by mature trees and greenery, making this a very private place. The eight-acre site also includes the Carriage House, Schoolhouse Suites, and several other small buildings distributed around the orange grove and extensive vegetable and flower gardens. The main house and Carriage House date from the late 19th century, and while the accommodations have been nicely updated with the usual amenities, they retain much of the charm (and a few of the infirmities, e.g. creaky floors) of their age. Our Carriage House suite had a fireplace, and a spacious deck with a vineyard view, and was well-appointed and very clean. The hotel staff is friendly, helpful and unobtrusive.

The restaurant at Madrona Manor deserves a special mention, as it continues to offer a very high level of cuisine with impeccable service. The menu is seasonal and offers prix fixe choices of three, four or five courses. This is not an inexpensive dining option, but very fair value for the quality, presentation, service and exceptional ambience, and a perfect choice for a special occasion.

Room Tip: Suite 503 in the Carriage House has a lovely vineyard view from the deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    30
    13
    7
    2
See reviews for
11
109
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We took advantage of a "second night free" special and thoroughly enjoyed our three day stay. Very comfortable bedding and a tastefully appointed room combined with a tasty breakfast made for a relaxing time in the food & wine heaven of Healdsburg, California. I was allowed to pick a couple of oranges from their own grove on the beautifully landscaped grounds and enjoyed the high view across nearby vineyards recently opened up by some judicious tree removal on their hillside property.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Our family flew in from all over the US to celebrate mom's 75th birthday. We took over the Carriage House and found the rooms to be fabulously comfortable, with king beds, fireplaces and decks. The Suite was fantastic, and turned into a gathering place for us. We had Mom's birthday dinner at the Madrona Manor restaurant and it was exquisite, to say the least. Not only was the food spectacular, but the service was second to none. As for breakfasts? The staff at Madrona was kind enough to set up a separate room for us each morning so we could all dine together. Special shout-out to Sarah who worked with us for over a year to plan this oh-so-special four-day weekend. If you have a special occasion to celebrate, this is the place!! I simply can't say enough about our time there - thanks to all of the staff for making this so memorable.

Room Tip: Some Carriage House rooms have decks : )
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This was our second stay at the Madrona Manor - and certainly everybit as wonderful as the first. We stayed in the carriage house building in a room with a fireplace. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The carriage house also has some rooms with a deck - which are wonderful for spring / summer.

We dined at the restaurant and had another wonderful experience - everything was delicious and presented with flair. The dinners are a relaxed affair, to be savored. The chef made a appearance to talk to some of the guests. The service is impeccable as a small army of staff team up to provide an excellent dinner.

The front desk staff was professional and friendly.

Just down the road, you can find some excellent smaller wineries. There are too many to try in one visit (so we will just have to come back). Try: Lambert Bridge (nice spot for a picnic), Bella (tasting in the cave), Zichinni (barrel tasting), Sbragia (wonderful vistas of Dry Creek area), Dutcher Crossing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed here the first time to check it out for our wedding. I fell in love with the magic of the place, so we selected it as our wedding venue. We chose their top wedding package, because we liked the idea that we could have all of our friends and family stay at the hotel and have the place to ourselves without time constraints. It was truly the best day of my life. Our ceremony was beautiful, the dinner was great, and the party was so fun. People have been talking about it for months, and many of my friends have said it was the best wedding they've ever been to. In addition, the staff is just amazing.

My one complaint was how it was handled afterward. I sent a thank you email to Madrona's wedding planner because we had such a wonderful experience. I never received anything back - not a thank you, not a glad you liked it - nothing. I received lots of thank you notes from the other vendors that I worked with for the wedding, and it just seems kind of strange that they wouldn't even be appreciative of the huge amount of money we spent with them.

But we do look forward to going back for many anniversaries to come!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

That is what I am taking away with me after another amazing stay at Madrona Manor. I have stayed at the Manor on a couple of occasions each time at the holidays when the decorations are up, there is frost on the ground and the carol singers serenade you at the famous Dicken's Dinner. But I have come to realize this is a place that isn't just for special occasions so I have pledged to come back throughout the year and take little breaks in Healdsburg when time permits. I highly recommend you do the same.

The lovingly restored Victorian is impeccably run and managed by the Konrad family. You are made to feel as if you are home the moment you arrive. The excellent professional staff will ensure your every minute at the Manor is a memory to treasure. You can marvel at the interiors, the furnishings, the manicured gardens and the architecture or you can simply stay in your cottage or manor suite curled up on the sofa with a good book and a glass of Sonoma County wine. Whatever you decide to do here you can be assured of understated elegant service, attentiveness and some of the finest accommodations in the area.

The restaurant and its acclaimed Michelin star is definitely worth experiencing. The chef is creative, innovative and the food quality is exceptional. The wine list has been expertly selected and recommendations for a perfect pairing is but a pleasure for the sommelier. Each morning a sumptuous breakfast is laid out with a different hot egg dish prepared each day. You start the day right - with freshly squeezed orange juice, delicious baked breads and the morning paper.

Whichever accommodation you end up choosing will be lovely. You will not be disappointed. We enjoy staying in one of the cottages for privacy but we have been shown other rooms and suites throughout the property. The beds, the linens, the towels and indeed the little extras you find along the way have all been chosen carefully and chosen well. This is a luxury stay in wine country where every detail has been thought of. The Garden Cottage is very cozy with comfortable furnishings, a working fireplace, a Bose radio sound system, private garden and an amazing bed that just grips you and refuses to let you rise in the morning. I sleep so well at Madrona Manor.

Bill and Trudi Konrad love their Manor, they love their staff and they clearly love and appreciate their guests. It is evident. They are the proprietors and they are hands on - as are other members of the Konrad family who make special appearances throughout the hotel where needed. They will take the time to come over and chat with all guests to find out about their stay, to make recommendations for country walks, for specialty foods in town and to guide them to some of the finest wineries in the area. They have a wonderful way about them and when they are talking with you - its as if you are the only guests at the Manor and it is their pleasure to talk with you. Bill and Trudi are excellent owners and as the saying goes, it starts at the top. Their approach to hospitality trickles down and each staff member is focused on making each guest feel very special indeed. This is a first rate place to stay and we will continue to come and stay at this wonderful authentic Victorian mansion.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is the complete deal in beautiful Sonoma County! The lovingly cared for 19th century mansion, the Michelin Starred restaurant, a polished staff, a gorgeous location, and great swimming pool, make for an incredible wine country visit! I loved my stay and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Madrona Manor Wine Country Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madrona Manor Wine Country Inn and Restaurant

Address: 1001 Westside Road, Healdsburg, CA 95448
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world-class destination for guests seeking gracious service and luxurious accommodations in the heart of wine country. Nestled in the hills above the Dry Creek Valley of Sonoma County, Madrona Manor is an exceptionally lovely Victorian estate surrounded by eight acres of wooded and landscaped grounds. The Mansion, built in 1881, has been a destination for discerning guests seeking a holiday in the gracious wine country of northern California since 1981. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Madrona Manor Wine Country Inn and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madrona Manor Wine Country Inn And Restaurant Hotel Healdsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madrona Manor Wine Country Inn and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.