We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem B&B In Healdsburg California” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calderwood Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Calderwood Inn to your Saves list
Calderwood Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   25 W Grant St, Healdsburg, CA 95448   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Healdsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Gem B&B In Healdsburg California”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

We just returned home from our best trip to Sonoma yet. After the past few years of attending barrel tasting and staying at other B&Bs in Healdsburg that lacked personality, we decided to stay at the Calderwood Inn this year. We had heard that the Inn had new ownership and decided to give it a try. We are certainly glad we did.

As mentioned by others, this centrally located Inn is now owned by Ken and Diane Wilson who own the Wilson Winery among many other top wineries in the Sonoma area. It does seem that there are doing a lot of renovation to get the Calderwood back into premiere condition and are also adding more rooms on the ground floor level. Having said that, the rooms and the Inn in general are in great condition and very nicely decorated. You won’t believe the wall paper designs on all the ceilings!

We stayed in the Wilson room which is located on the same level as the kitchen and main seating areas. The room was very nice with a fireplace and a very comfortable bed and with plenty of room. There is a TV in the room that is hidden behind a painting over the fireplace if you decide you must watch TV while on vacation. The fireplace has a remote control and keeps the room as warn as you want.

While the Inn itself is a real treat, it is the Manager that will keep people coming back. Inn Manager, Margaret is a real gem. Being a long-term resident of the area, she is more than willing to help plan your winery visits and dinners and is just a friendly and interesting person to talk to. We can not say enough how she helped make our visit enjoyable and memorable.

The breakfast in the morning is a cut above others in the area and everything is freshly made. Everyday the breakfast is different and she even asks guests what choices they prefer to make your stay even more enjoyable. In the late afternoons Margaret has a wine hour were she pours wines from the various Wilson' wineries with cheese and crackers. The wine selection was impressive enough that we decided to modify our barrel tasting plans to include some of these wineries as well.

If I had to pick one thing about the Calderwood Inn that I didn’t like it would be the steps at the back of the house. They are bit steep to haul your luggage up to your room. However after you do, prepare yourself for a real treat.

We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    21
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
132
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

I agonized over whether to write this review because when you find a property as stellar as Calderwood my general policy is to not let anyone know. We go to Sonoma every year for barrel tasting and this by far is the best B&B. This property is owned by the Wilson's who own the Wilson winery, Mazzoco and others. It's a quiet, charming 100~ year old craftsman that has very comfortable rooms and airy public spaces. If you stay here you can also get discounts from all their wineries. We stayed in the Vineyard suite downstairs which has a full kitchen, private entrance and good size bathroom. What you see on the website is exactly what you'll get. TV's are very small and there is a VCR/DVD player. But the best thing about this property is Margaret. A lovely woman who makes your stay unforgettable. She prepares breakfast every morning and the wine and cheese social in the late afternoon. She knows the area well and is current on all the goings on in and around Healdsburg and Sonoma. She made our stay at Calderwood most unforgettable. A true gem...We'll be back !

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, IA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

The Inn is a well appointed, spacious, turn-of-the-century mansion. The kitchen is very large but warm, a perfect gathering spot. In the dining room and common areas you will enjoy 12 foot ceilings, elaborate vintage wall paper treatments, comfortable furniture, and large windows that let in lots of light. The home cooked breakfast service will get your day started in the best way, while guests can also enjoy high quality wines during evening wine tastings. As Calderwood is owned by the Wilson family, who also own five award winning wineries (so far?), the evening wine tastings provide an experience you won’t have in many other B&B’s. However, even with all this, it is Margaret the innkeeper who really makes this place special.
The variety of rooms allow you to select your experience – in any case you will be pleased with the quality and condition of the furnishings (which are fully described on the website).
The grounds and veranda afford lots of opportunities to enjoy the wonderful morning or evening weather (we are from the northern Midwest) regardless of what’s in your cup or glass. At the end of a day in northern Sonoma’s wine country, Calderwood is a perfect spot to re-charge your batteries before walking into town for dinner – or more wine tasting. Calderwood is easily within walking distance of Healdsburg Square, which has a wonderfully extensive mix of restaurants, tasting rooms, and shopping.
So, back to the innkeeper. While you will find the furnishings, breakfast service, and evening wine tastings to be of highest quality, Margaret will make your Calderwood stay memorable. Warm, engaging, and willing to accommodate your needs, Margaret can provide her guests with local knowledge and recommendations (from wineries to dining to the best time to leave for San Francisco International) that will take your stay to another level. Her genuineness and generosity help make Calderwood stand out as a place to come back to.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito, Ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

We booked four rooms at the Calderwood Inn for a friend's birthday celebration in Healdsburg...and our group of seven girlfriends had a GREAT time! The Inn was wonderful, warm and inviting. Innkeeper Margaret was extremely hospitable and made us feel right at home. Her breakfast was delicious....and she served excellent wines for us to enjoy before our dinner outing. The Inn is beautiful and, with additional rooms and suites almost completed, it will be THE place to stay when exploring Healdsburg and northern Sonoma wine country -- whether a romantic night with a loved one, an outing for a group of friends or a family vacation. We'll be back! Jean (Sausalito, Ca.)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

Five of us headed up from San Francisco Peninsula to Healdsburg to celebrate my wife's birthday with a fantastic dinner at Cyrus. We knew we'd be in one of the most beautiful parts of the state, and knew we'd be going to a highly rated restaurant, but had NO idea that the B&B we were fortunate to find would actually be the CENTERPIECE of our stay.

If you are looking for a sublime place to stay while you explore the surrounding wineries and eateries, this is the place. Amazing house, amazingly well appointed in period furnishings and decor, with an amazing innkeeper/hostess Margaret. Kick back with a glass of wine in one of the spacious ground floor rooms. Hang out on the wonderful Veranda.. Walking distance from Downtown.

I only wish we could have stayed longer, and for some reason my best memories of the weekend are from the B&B rather than the wineries or even Cyrus!

Be sure to visit the vineyards/wineries the B&B owners maintain not far away.

A classy place all around.

Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Calerwood Inn in Healdsburg over Valentine's weekend and had a teriffic experience. The entire facility is kept extradorinarily clean, the service is absolutely first rate, location is an easy walk to shops and restaurants, beds are very comfortable and the breakfast was 2nd to none. We recommend this Inn to anyone staying in Sonoma wine country. The innkeeper, Margaret, knows the definition of great service.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

My husband and I stayed in Healdsburg for a romantic extended weekend getaway to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. We selected the Calderwood Inn because of its central location and the appearance of the inn on the website. The offseason price was also very reasonable.

We certainly weren't disappointed by anything about the Calderwood, but our experience was made by the innkeeper Margaret. Even though there were very few people in the inn while we were there (never more than 2 other couples, and we were alone for two nights), Margaret was always accessible to us. She's an incredibly warm, friendly person and made us feel right at home, and she cooks a mean breakfast! Request the baked eggs with ham and Gruyere cheese.

Next time we go to Healdsburg, we will definitely stay at the Calderwood Inn again, mainly because of Margaret.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Calderwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calderwood Inn

Address: 25 W Grant St, Healdsburg, CA 95448
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Calderwood Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known on the California and Sonoma County Landmarks Registry as the John Miller House, this historic Queen Anne Victorian was built in 1902. Miller was a prominent fruit grower, packer and dehydrator in the early 1900s. He was also one of the first to make a commercial business of marketing dehydrated fruit. Among Miller's claims to fame is that he was the first provider to the U.S. Military of dehydrated foods. Known as K-rations during WW I and MREs today, Miller was cited by the military for "feeding the troops during WW I". (1) Miller and his wife were, like many prominent citizens of the community, anxious to furnish their home lavishly. The home is reputed to be the first in Healdsburg with two bathrooms, with indoor plumbing upstairs and downstairs.The noted horticulturist, Luther Burbank, was a good friend and assisted in the design and development of the original landscape at the front of the home, some of which remains today. The large cedar, cypress, and redwood heritage trees were planted by Burbank over 100 years ago. The lush grounds have been accented with rose bushes and numerous flowering shrubs. The same archaeological report from Sonoma State University indicates that some of the first plantings of some of Burbank's new species were planted on the Miller property. Sadly, the location and botanical name of the plants were never recorded. It is unknown if they remain on the property today.The home remained in the Miller family until the late 1930s and was a private residence until the early 1980s when it became a Bed and Breakfast. The inn has undergone extensive restoration over the years. Beautiful hand-silk screened period wall and ceiling papers accent the spacious common areas and some guest rooms. The papers are produced by Bradbury & Bradbury of Benicia, CA and are based on designs of William Morris, a prominent textile designer of the mid- to late 1800s.The formal, yet welcoming rooms include a spacious parlor with fireplace—the perfect place to enjoy the morning paper or a board game on a quiet afternoon. The spacious dining room that seats up to 14 showcases original wainscoting and built-in china cabinet and bench. The large antique table is where guests dine on Calderwood's signature gourmet breakfasts. The covered front porch with its antique wicker furniture and lacquered floor beckons you to enjoy the lush grounds, review the activities of your day or curl up with a good book. The porch is often used by local wineries who frequently co-host our complimentary evening wine hour. All seven guest rooms have private baths. Each room is decorated differently to incorporate an extensive collection of beautiful, yet comfortable period ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Calderwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calderwood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.