We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calderwood Inn, Healdsburg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calderwood Inn

Save Saved
You added Calderwood Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Calderwood Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   25 W Grant St, Healdsburg, CA 95448   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 Healdsburg B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sacramento, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Calderwood Inn, Healdsburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

What a fantastic Bed and Breakfast! The Innkeeper, Mary, made it a point to make you feel right at home the minute you walked in the door! The atmosphere, the rooms, the grounds, the company and the food was awesome! Let us not forget the wine tasting also! My husband and I plan to return to this lovely establishment soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    143
    20
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
120
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pacifica, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We are not normally B&B people but Mary at the Calderwwood Inn made us feel like we were staying with friends. The rooms are lovely, the wine (from one of their 7 wineries) and cheese upon arrival (at any hour!) are delicious, especially enjoyed in the garden or on the veranda which was being refinished and looks lovely. But it's the breakfasts that really stand out! Mary is a trained chef and sends you on your way each morning with a happy and full tummy and will accommodate any food issues you have (there were gluten free cookies waiting for me upon our return in the evening!). Healdsburg Plaza offers world class dining and wine tasting within walking distance to the Inn but you will want to explore the wineries and beauty of the Healdsburg area. Most wineries charge a tasting fee but the Inn provides passes for free tastings and extra special attention at The Wilson Group Wineries. We will be back and we will stay at the Calderwood. Thank you Mary for making us feel so welcome.

Room Tip: The Wilson room on first floor is the most spacious and has a porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Park, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was our second stay at the Calderwood Inn (3 nights) reinforcing our initial impression as our favorite place to stay in Sonoma. Lots of character, comfortable rooms, warm and friendly service from the inn keeper and staff that can't be beat. Healdsburg is right in the center of the Sonoma wine country, convenient to all the wineries in the area and the Inn is an easy walk to the Healdsburg Plaza with all of its wonderful restaurants. It's such a nice treat to be able to walk to and from dinner.

Room Tip: If you're a member of any of the Wilson wineries wine clubs be sure to mention it when make a re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The Calderwood Inn is one of those places you just don't want to leave. From the accomidations to that great cooking that Mary wakes you up with each morning, it's totally fantastic. We've stayed here on different occasions and each time the consistancy is well noted. It's our go to place for elegant relaxation and "make you feel like family" care and treatment. Simply put...the best!

Room Tip: I would tell you my favorite room, but you might just book it the same time I want to go!!! Sorry!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We only stayed a couple of nights of our week long trip, but I wish we would have stayed here longer. The welcome and laid back atmosphere was fabulous and the charm of the 100 year old mansion was superb. The people running the place were also fantastic and the breakfasts were truly special. The whole B&B charm is really worth staying at the Calderwood for, but with it's location in Healdsburg, it gets even better. You can walk to basically the entire downtown area, yet access to 101 for quick in and out trips is also convenient.

In addition to the accomodations, and people, the "wine receptions" are also fun. If you like Wilson's artisan wineries, and why wouldn't you - you can;t go wrong here. The bottom line is - come stay a while! We will, when we get back out to the area again!

Thanks guys for a wonderful time - enjoyed the chats, wine and food!

Room Tip: Check out the options as all rooms have something different to offer. We liked the Wilson room, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Calderwood Inn exceeded my boyfriend and my expectations, and we had very high expectations after reading the reviews.
-Great location - So close to downtown
-Beautiful Home (felt like I was touring one of those historical homes where you can't touch anything, and we got to sleep in the beds, use the tub, and hang out in the living room)
-Tremendously Romantic
-VERY friendly Innkeepers
-Tasty Breakfast
-Awesome wine hour
We stayed in the Wilson Room, and were very happy with it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown Heights, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We've been to Healdsburg many times but this was our first visit to Calderwood Inn. It is an ideal location walking distance to downtown Healdsburg yet nestled away from all of the hustle and bustle. We stayed in the Wilson room which was the only room on the first floor. It is directly across from the kitchen so there was minimal kitchen noise in the AM but never so early that it was a bother. The room was quite large and had a great gas fireplace and french doors to the back porch. Although the bathroom furnishings were old (as one would expect in this type of B&B) they were just fine. In fact the clawfoot tub had a rainshower head that was fantastic and offered ample water pressure. Mary was a delight throughout the whole process from booking, making our dinner reservation and making some amazing breakfasts! The wine and cheese hour was the highlight of our stay. We were able to taste FANTASTIC local cheese and FANTASTIC local wines while meeting other guests. We truly enjoyed that aspect of the Inn!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Calderwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calderwood Inn

Address: 25 W Grant St, Healdsburg, CA 95448
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Calderwood Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known on the California and Sonoma County Landmarks Registry as the John Miller House, this historic Queen Anne Victorian was built in 1902. Miller was a prominent fruit grower, packer and dehydrator in the early 1900s. He was also one of the first to make a commercial business of marketing dehydrated fruit. Among Miller's claims to fame is that he was the first provider to the U.S. Military of dehydrated foods. Known as K-rations during WW I and MREs today, Miller was cited by the military for "feeding the troops during WW I". (1) Miller and his wife were, like many prominent citizens of the community, anxious to furnish their home lavishly. The home is reputed to be the first in Healdsburg with two bathrooms, with indoor plumbing upstairs and downstairs.The noted horticulturist, Luther Burbank, was a good friend and assisted in the design and development of the original landscape at the front of the home, some of which remains today. The large cedar, cypress, and redwood heritage trees were planted by Burbank over 100 years ago. The lush grounds have been accented with rose bushes and numerous flowering shrubs. The same archaeological report from Sonoma State University indicates that some of the first plantings of some of Burbank's new species were planted on the Miller property. Sadly, the location and botanical name of the plants were never recorded. It is unknown if they remain on the property today.The home remained in the Miller family until the late 1930s and was a private residence until the early 1980s when it became a Bed and Breakfast. The inn has undergone extensive restoration over the years. Beautiful hand-silk screened period wall and ceiling papers accent the spacious common areas and some guest rooms. The papers are produced by Bradbury & Bradbury of Benicia, CA and are based on designs of William Morris, a prominent textile designer of the mid- to late 1800s.The formal, yet welcoming rooms include a spacious parlor with fireplace—the perfect place to enjoy the morning paper or a board game on a quiet afternoon. The spacious dining room that seats up to 14 showcases original wainscoting and built-in china cabinet and bench. The large antique table is where guests dine on Calderwood's signature gourmet breakfasts. The covered front porch with its antique wicker furniture and lacquered floor beckons you to enjoy the lush grounds, review the activities of your day or curl up with a good book. The porch is often used by local wineries who frequently co-host our complimentary evening wine hour. All seven guest rooms have private baths. Each room is decorated differently to incorporate an extensive collection of beautiful, yet comfortable period ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Calderwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calderwood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.