We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Family vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Villa Messina

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Healdsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bella Villa Messina
Save
You added Bella Villa Messina to your Saves list
316 Burgundy Rd, Healdsburg, CA 95448   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Healdsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Valparaiso, Indiana
2 reviews
“Fantastic Family vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

As promised in my first review, we came back to Bella Villa Messina with our 3 adult children.Yes,it's the same kids who paid to send us there as a gift.So we decided to bring them there as a gift in return. We had 3 rooms including the "Asti" again from Sept.22 to Sept.25 2011. We don't get to go on family vacations as much as in the past.This Vacation was one of our best due in a large part to Jerry and Harold. Between their beautiful house,wonderful breakfasts,advice on wineries& restaurants and lively conversation during Happy Hour every day,it couldn't be anything else but a great vacation! Our Family had the Wonderful trip we all hoped to have.WE all would happily return here time and time again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    13
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
12
324
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
ny
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a two night stay at Bella Villa Messina. Staying with Jerry and Harold is like staying with friends! They were both so welcoming and made us feel like family. Jerry planned out our days sending us the the best vineyards in the area and he also provided free tasting cards. Jerry also gave us restaurant recommendations and even made our reservations for us. Every evening Jerry and Harold host a cocktail hour which is so much fun! All the guests gather to talk about their activities and drink wine and have snacks which the hosts provide. You really get to know everyone. In the morning they provide the best breakfasts we've ever had. Fruit, french toast, fresh bread, frittata, and the best bacon..I had to tell my husband not to get to used to that kind of gourmet breakfast. Jerry and Harold are so generous and really know how to make everyone feel welcome and included. Their home is spectacular! All of the rooms are so clean and gorgeous. We stayed in the Asti room which was amazing! The bathroom is huge with a deep jacuzzi and great multi jet shower. The bed is so comfortable. This was the best stay of out two week California trip and it was very hard to leave. Thank you Jerry and Harold for making our stay with you so special and for making our trip to Healdsburg so memorable! One day we will return!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

My family and I couldn't have chosen a better place to stay when touring the wine country a few weeks ago. Jerry and Harold (and their puppies!) are tremendous hosts, and their home is lovely. We are hoping to make this an annual trip and will definitely be staying at Bella Villa Messina when we return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valrico, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

We just returned from a wonderful two night stay at Bella Villa Messina. We had no idea what to expect, and this was the first B&B stay for my two friends who were traveling with us. We arrived in late afternoon and went down to participate in the early evening wine and cheese gathering prior to dinner. We were welcomed warmly by Jerry, one of the hosts. We got to know some of the other guests staying there too. Jerry and Harold enjoy spending time with their guests and make sure to give them their full attention during the breakfast and evening hours when the guests are gathered together.
Jerry immediately started to give us some ideas of how to spend the rest of our stay; which wineries might interest us, etc. We wanted to visit the Sonoma coast and Armstrong Redwoods Park, so Jerry mapped out the route for us so that we would have time to do everything we wanted, AND still have time to visit a few wineries. It turned out to be an incredible day thanks to his expertise.
Harold is the breakfast master, making wonderful bread and waffles during our visit. Bella Villa Messina is a beautiful place, reminding us of Tuscany. From the rounded patio, you can view both the sunrise and sunset. We enjoyed an evening after dinner just gazing at the stars. Jerry joined our group and we enjoyed Italian music in the background. He made us feel like part of the family.
We had to leave all too soon, but we will return one day.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Where to begin... The amazingly delicious breakfasts with seasonal berries, spinach fritatta, Hawaiian french toast and fresh fruit? An always delightful wine and cheese hour in the late afternoon where guests share stories of the day, with Jerry and Harold adding such great anecdotes? The impecable, antique-furnished rooms? Reflectively sipping a glass of great wine on the terrace before turning in for the night? And there's more...

Each morning, Jerry asks each guest what they want to see during the day and he carefully maps each winery and restaurant -- making reservations as necessary. And before you leave the Inn for your visits he gives you a "tasting card" for the wineries which spares you the $10 to $20 tasting fees. And when you enter each tasting room and tell them you are staying at Bella Villa Messina, they all say "We LOVE Jerry and Harold!" It was really cool that no matter where we visited, they knew our hosts -- and had attended one of their annual Christmas parties for all the workers in the area.

Our visit to the Sonoma Valley was without a doubt one of the highlights of our past five years of travels and staying with Jerry and Harold was the icing on the cake. They are dear, they are funny, they work incredibly hard to make each guest's stay memorable and you can believe that we'll be back. Thanks, you guys -- it was awesome!

Room Tip: All rooms were excellent. Lavishness varies commensurate with price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Can't say enough wonderful things. Wonderful location, beautiful house, hosts rock! This is a luxury with personal concierge service.

Room Tip: Asti room is wonderful. Burgandy room also looked nice (peeked in quickly).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

BV Messina was a great place to use as home base in exploring the Healdsburg area. Harold and Jerry are great hosts and are very much in the known regards to local wineries and restaurants.

Definitely take Jerry's advice on an agenda for the day. He supplied us with a map, complimentary tasting cards, and a small cooler for the day's adventure.

Clean room, tasty breakfast and good company... a perfect start to our vacation.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bella Villa Messina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Villa Messina

Address: 316 Burgundy Rd, Healdsburg, CA 95448
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella Villa Messina Sits atop the Historical Simi Winery Reservoir tank. Minutes from the town of Healdsburg overlooking 400 thousand acres. We offer Southern hospitality with Italian charm. Cheese wines cocktail hour served around sunset. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Villa Messina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.