We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Croissant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Costeaux French Bakery

Costeaux French Bakery
417 Healdsburg Avenue, Healdsburg, CA 95448
7074331913
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 86 Restaurants in Healdsburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast
Description: A Healdsburg establishment since 1923, Costeaux French Bakery serves as a destination for residents, wine country enthusiasts & international visitors. Visit the open-air cafe for breakfast, lunch, or stop in for world class fresh-baked breads. Over the years, Costeaux has been honored with Sonoma County Harvest Fair Best of Show Professional French & Specialty Bread awards. Come visit our French-inspired cafe bakery & consider us for your next event. Inquire about special event catering, check out our breakfast & lunch menus. We also have a private meeting room for up to six guests. Be sure to eye our famous dessert case or browse our wedding cake book.
San Diego
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great Croissant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Great croissant, but go to Flying Goat for coffee. Woman working at counter was a little unpleasant in my opinion

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    88
    22
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“French toast to die for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

The title says it all! Made with cinnamon walnut bread & just served perfectly. My husband had the breakfast quiche which looked amazing. Great fresh ingredients & made to order.
Didn't experience any service problems at all, in fact it was nice not to be rushed during our meal. Staff were very attentive & helpful.
Breakfast is served all day & it wasn't too busy midweek, although I think at weekends queues are likely.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worldwide Traveler
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Horrible - Worst Meal/Service in the State!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stopped in this morning.

It was horrible .... the food was cold and the service was worse. The server did not acknowledge us for 15 minutes (the restaurant wasn't busy); and just arrived with a snotty "do you know what you want?". the other servers greeted tables and discussed specials .....

My husband ordered coffee and two eggs over easy. The coffee was cold, the eggs were cold, the sausage cold, and the potatoes were, you guessed it ... cold. My scrabble was served medium (yes, I ordered it well), potatoes were cold, and cranberry mimosa flat.

My husband's meal was comped, but the food and service was just a nasty way to start the day!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, GA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great for Breakfast and Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We ate both breakfast (an omelette and french toast) and lunch (two of their made-to-order sandwiches) at Costeaux and both meals were delicious! It's a Healdsburg institution for a reason.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Best bakery ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed in Healdsburg the week before Memorial Day and ate breakfast here every morning before heading out on our wine tasting days. The omelet, granola, breakfast sandwich, quiche, and raisin walnut bread were excellent! We also bought baguette sandwiches to take with us to eat in the car, and they were perfect for lunch while we were wine tasting.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Costeaux French Bakery also viewed

Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to Costeaux French Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costeaux French Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.