We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food and Wine Tasting at its Finest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of J Vineyards & Winery

J Vineyards & Winery
11447 Old Redwood Highway, Healdsburg, CA 95448
888-594-6326
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 123 Activities in Healdsburg
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Renowned for our inspiring wine tasting experience, we encourage you to join us at the sleek J Visitor Center to experience our Russian River Valley wines. Taste a range of sparkling and varietal selections - from Brut Rose to Pinot Noir - while you enjoy the elegant setting that includes a striking original art installation created by Gordon Huether and inspired by our wines. Enjoy sparkling and varietal wines while you enjoy the atmosphere and discover why Sunset Magazine named J Vineyards & Winery the “Best Winery Tasting Room in the West.” Enjoy the J Signature Tasting with our signature wine flight that includes a selection of 5 of our Russian River Valley sparkling and varietal wines. Join us in one of our Legacy reserve rooms for an exclusive sampling of our award winning Pinot Noir, Chardonnay and Sparkling Wines available exclusively through our Tasting Room. The Bubble Room is the ultimate Russian River Valley tasting experience. In a beautifully appointed full-service tasting salon, you and your guests will enjoy an exclusive tasting including rare Russian River Valley library and small-production wines, served with delicious wine country fare.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
314 helpful votes 314 helpful votes
“Food and Wine Tasting at its Finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Came to J for its 5 course lunch tasting in the Bubble room. As we came here on a weekday the winery was not crowded and the place felt quaint and relaxing. On this day we were fortunate to have the host Dana who explained to us the reasons on each wine and food course competently with grace and elegance. A true professional. The roast duck paired with the 2012 Russian River J Pinot Noir was divine. Complement to the chefs. Overall this was a wonderful experience in the wine country.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWinery, Brand Assistant at J Vineyards & Winery, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for your review of your recent experience in the J Bubble Room. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our wines and Wine Specialist, Dana. Our Executive Chef Erik Johnson perfectly pairs each items on the seasonal menu, the duck is definitely a staff favorite! We look forward to seeing you on a future visit to Healdsburg.

Cheers,

Lauren, Team J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    12
    12
    8
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Thomasville, Georgia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful, friendly and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Had a tour and tasting scheduled at J's and decided to cancel due to a full schedule. We then decided we had time and had our B&B call to see if a tour was still available. It was and are we glad we went! What a beautiful vineyard!! The grounds are gorgeous, the tasting room warm, inviting and smartly decorated. We ended up on a private tour and tasting with Izzy - ask for him if you go. He is very friendly, knowledgable and, best of all, extremely passionate about J Vineyards and how they produce the product. We saw the entire facility with Izzy enthusiastically explaining every step. And we had lovely pourings at every stop. We even had the privilege to meet the owner, Judy Jordan, and the winemaker, Melissa Stackhouse. Both were very friendly and excited we had chosen to visit their vineyard. We visited many vineyards on our trip through Sonoma and this was our best experience because of the people we encountered there. We love Prosecco, and the J's sparklings were as close to that as we've found in America. And Pinot's are excellent too. We would love to go back and do a Bubble Room or Terrace tasting. Could spend all day there and be happy. I had never joined a wine club until J's and felt no pressure to do so. They just believe in their product and want you to enjoy them too. Can't wait for my first shipment in the fall. A must stop on your vineyard tours.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWinery, Brand Assistant at J Vineyards & Winery, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Hi there,
Thank you for your kind and thorough review from your recent visit. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your Tour & Tasting as well as our Pinot Noir and sparkling wines. On future visits you will notice that all employees at J have a passion for the owner, brand and product, by meeting Judy, Melissa and Izzy I’m sure you already recognized that! We look forward to sharing our other tasting venues with you and to you enjoying your first club shipment.

Cheers!

Lauren, Team J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stumbled upon this vineyard after Rodney Strong(right next door)! We were there late in the day and had our wine tasting in the vineyard. Beautiful setting and yummy sparkling wines!! Highly recommend!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWinery, Brand Assistant at J Vineyards & Winery, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Tracy,

Thank you for your kind review from your most recent visit. We are so happy to read that you enjoyed our sparkling wines and a scenic tasting in our Tear Drop Vineyard. We look forward to seeing you on a future visit to Healdsburg.

Cheers!

Lauren, Team J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“delicious sparkling wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

went here for a wine tasting. the sparkling wine was delicious! would definitely return as the property is beautiful as well.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWinery, Brand Assistant at J Vineyards & Winery, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Marie,

Thank you for your great review from your most recent visit. We are so glad you enjoyed our sparkling wines and J property. We look forward to seeing you on a future visit, perhaps for our Tour & Tasting on a beautiful afternoon.

Cheers!

Lauren, Team J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

It was an ok experience. We had a group of 11 and were the first tasting of the day. It lasted longer than expected and it made it difficult as we were standing over an hour. The wines were good but felt to much like a sales pitch to join the wine club. The wines will cause me to join the club not a sales pitch.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWinery, Brand Assistant at J Vineyards & Winery, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your recent visit. We are sorry to hear that your recent experience did not meet your expectations. I have gone ahead and forwarded your comments to our Hospitality Team. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you with a more pleasant experience for you and your friends on a future visit.

With Kind Regards,

Lauren, Team J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J Vineyards & Winery also viewed

Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to J Vineyards & Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J Vineyards & Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.