We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome little spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Vineyards

Bella Vineyards
9711 W Dry Creek Rd, Healdsburg, CA 95448
866 572 3552
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 123 Activities in Healdsburg
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Activities: Wine tasting
Attraction details
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome little spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I visited Bella as one of our stops on a guided winery bike tour. Bella was prob about 8-10 miles out on our trip and when we arrived, it was as though we pulled up to a Chill oasis, terrific views, cool scene, and super chill tunes. We had three "stations" ,if u will, where we tasted. First we were greeted in the main building with a friendly staffer and a nice pour. Then we were sent back outside to a cool little stand where a chef was preparing and serving a tasty accompaniment to our next pour. And lastly, we were sent into the cave. Such a cool spot! I haven't even mentioned the wines yet, which we ended up purchasing more of than any other single winery.. All in all, with so many to choose from, there are not many wineries that we would return to. But Bella is one we would certainly love to visit again!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    34
    12
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Wonderful wine, atmospheric music and a superb tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Four of us joined a tour of Bella's SPECTACULAR vineyards on Saturday 8th June. Cody was our guide. He explained the crush pad to us and then drove is in an ex-Swiss army 6 wheel drive vehicle up into the vineyards talking about various soil types, vine management, grafting, clones and the Bella philosophy.

Others have written a bout the caves which do add a particularly atmospheric layer to the tour. But we also got to taste, side by side, the 2012 vintage Zin straight from the barrel and its 2010 stablemate to get a sense of the difference aging can make to young wines.

Bella is naturally blessed with a spectacular location at the end of the valley, but Bella adds to this with the most charming and attentive hosts and guides adn, on this particular Saturday, a very engaged blue grass/country trio. We accompanied them with a bottle of Bella's Ten Acre Chardonnay and some bread and cheese we had bought at the farmer's market earlier ion the day.

Fabulous!

PS Cody did a great job of managing the somewhat different needs of our co-visitors, a group of 7 young ladies celebrating an impending wedding.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place to visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Bella is small and that's part of what makes it so wonderful! The wine caves are FANTASTIC! Tasting is in the wine cave and John had only been there 2 weeks but was one of the very best and funniest and definitely tuned in to his customers out of the 15 wineries we visited over 4 days while in Sonoma county. Lisa was the tasting manager and is wonderful and attentive and beautiful! We loved you guys!!!!! Thanks for making our visit so unforgettable!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Love the caves!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Very cool place with great wines. A must visit if you are in the area!! I really loved the late harvest zin.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Cool winery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Good zinfandels. Not sure if the cave is always open for tasting, but it is an interesting addition to this winery.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bella Vineyards also viewed

Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to Bella Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.