We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French Luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux to your Saves list
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 North St, Healdsburg, CA 95448   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“French Luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

THIS is how movie stars travel! Small hotel with a very personal touch. The manager assisted us with our bags both at check in and check out. The rooms are more like suites with chaise lounge, fireplace, light fixture with flickering flame-like bulbs, fresh roses in the plush bathroom, real silver and antiques in the room. Turn down service at night with a beautiful little box (tied with a ribbon) of chocolates. The tv rose up from an armoire which we watched from our plush, four poster canopy bed. The windows were almost floor to ceiling with heavy light blocking drapes. They opened fully with French handles. Breakfast delivered on a silver platter with beautiful, fresh, delicious selections of food. Right in the middle of downtown so easy walking distance to bars, tasting rooms, and restaurants. We enjoyed the wine tastings hosted by local producers in their beautiful wood paneled library. Every staff member was personable, accommodating, and called us by name. I have never stayed in a more luxurious hotel that had such a personal yet not smothering atmosphere. We felt like we were "coming home" every evening.

Room Tip: I liked our room at the front of the hotel. It looked out onto the main street but i enjoyed opening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    10
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
129
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The elegance of this Healdsburg gem hits you the moment you walk through the door. Discretely located next to the awe & appetite-inspiring Shed, the only thing nicer than the property are the people working here. A real treat that easily deserves the adjective "magnificent."

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I cannot say enough great things about Hotel les Mars! It was our first trip to wine country and they were all so helpful when it came to planning our days of visiting wineries. They have some great suggestions and most places waive the tasting fee if you tell them you are staying here. The breakfast delivered to your room is wonderful. The restaurant is amazing. The rooms are beautiful, clean, and very comfortable. We will stay here every time!! It was perfect!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Hands down lovely. We went on a whim for Mother's day and I am so thankful. The hotel is small (maybe 15 rooms), on the main square in Healdsburg, and rooms are welcoming, clean and big. Service was great and the fee included a fabulous breakfast in the morning. Only small dislike was the skim milk provided with coffee early in the morning before any cafe in town opened. We also enjoyed the 5pm wine and cheese tasting in the library. It is offered to all the guests. This hotel reminded me of our place in Paris last year and I can't wait to come back again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We paid top dollar for this room. It was a nice size with vaulted ceiling and great bathroom.
There were repairs that needed to be done to the curtains (hanging loose, bidet not working, jacuzzi came on with loud jets at 7:11 a.m. each day!)

When we opened the window and the air conditioning/solar unit across the street roared constantly. The only view was of the rooftop of the shops/restaurant across the street. Not a good view at all.

Not worth the price. Don't tip...they charge $35.00 a day for service.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the garbage pick up in the morning choose a room facing the front where there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Les Mars was a wonderful and memorable experience. The property was gorgeous and the service second to none! When we arrived we were taken back by the beauty of this hotel only to be surprised by how wonderfully we were treated. We had a bottle of wine waiting in our luxurious room; we had beautiful breakfasts delivered to our room each morning and enjoyed wine and cheese in the library in the afternoon. The front desk made suggestions for tasting rooms in town that were fantastic, great restaurants and then even gave us free tasting passes to the various vineyards we had on our list to visit. Don't miss this hotel if you are in the area!!

Room Tip: Try and get a 3rd floor room. These have a vaulted ceiling
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We had a fantastic time. The weekend was a gift from some dear friends, which made the getaway even sweeter!
If it is in your budget give it a-go, you will be treated like royalty. But come with the attitude of royalty's grace, not modern-day diva demands and you will have a wonderful time.
And...go when it is raining, as the room is so delightful you aren't really going to want to leave. We didn't. Bring a book. Or not. :D

With that I see Hotel Les Mars is a bit of a paradox. The construction is stunning - the artistry of woodwork in the library (where the evening wine is served) is just not seen in this day and age, the beds are hand carved. Just lovely.
But, the things that wear (carpet, towels,etc) are worn - some significantly.

The staff is exceptionally kind and helpful, but if you are used to the formality/training level of a fine european chateaux it will be a different.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the back if you are sensitive to noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux

Address: 27 North St, Healdsburg, CA 95448
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in May 2005 and created by the Mars family, Hotel Les Mars brings the elegance and unobtrusive service of the finest European family hotels to Northern California. The Mars family follows the philosophy that patrons should be treated more like visiting friends than guests, and upon entering the lobby, visitors are welcomed to the warm smiles of the hotel staff, unique 17th and 18th century antiques, and a comfort found only at the home of a very good friend.Hotel Les Mars represents a unique family project, a labor of love, and a new dimension of sophisticated, luxury lodging in wine country. Andrew Harper's Hideaway Report, the definitive guide to luxury travel, commented that "Les Mars now sets the standard for luxury accommodations in Sonoma." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Splendia, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Les Mars, Relais And Chateaux

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.