We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Les Mars lives up to the reputation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux to your Saves list
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   27 North St, Healdsburg, CA 95448   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 16 Healdsburg B&B and Inns
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
“Les Mars lives up to the reputation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2008

This is an incredible place to stay. The common areas are lovely and the rooms are perfect. The decor is so elegant and tasteful and unbelievably comfortable. We loved being greeted with cold Voss water and many friendly faces and then settling into our room for a bit. After unpacking we thought about exploring a little but honestly we were so content to relax in our incredibly beautiful room and enjoy the bottle of wine that we were given. Eventually we did sit poolside for a bit before enjoying (yes, another) glass of wine with the onsite sommelier. When we returned from our dinner, our room was turned down with slippers and a robe waiting along side the gourmet box of chocolates and the roaring fire. Pretty romantic! We had fun making our breakfast selections before we went to sleep and enjoyed waking up to warm quiche, fruit, coffee and juice served on lovely silver platters. I can't imagine staying anywhere else when visiting Sonoma County. Every special touch is thought of by manager Katie Ciocca and her team. We weren't able to visit Cyrus on this trip, but we look forward to eating at the restaurant on our next visit and then just walking right upstairs to our room.

  • Liked — All of it!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    10
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
120
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2008

We stayed at Les Mars for a special birthday and from check in to check out everything was perfect. The hotel personnel were friendly, professional, and competent without being pompous - they struck a perfect balance. Not only that, they remembered the birthday and helped out in small ways with it. Dinner at Cyrus was incredible and the hotel staff also recommended a great wine tour (Magnum Tours) and booked another reservation at a great restaurant for us. The rooms are beautiful and decorated in either period antiques or reproductions and, our room had a beautiful fireplace (as, I believe, do all of the rooms). Overall, Les Mars is one of the nicest hotels in which we have stayed - it is more chic than the "W's," equal service (but not as pompous) as the Ritz Carlton; and has the old world charm of the St Regis.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Loved everything - there were no drawbacks!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2008

There are so many experiences in life where you take the leap, pay the price & then wonder why. Les Mars is that rarity where you are reminded, every second of your stay, of how wonderful it is when a property gets every detail right. We pulled up to the curb to check in and were welcomed by a smiling young man who handed us two chilled bottles of Voss water and within seconds our bags were out of the car, our car was whisked away, and we entered the exquisite lobby -- more smiling faces welcomed us. The people who work here are what you always wish for in hotel service: impeccably trained in the art of hospitality, yet authentic and warm with every interaction. It was my birthday weekend and we were upgraded to a room on the 3rd floor -- a lovely respite, luxurious and understated. The king size four poster bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in, anywhere. A chilled bottle of Hafner Chardonnay and a piece of special cake was delivered, with a handwritten birthday greeting from the staff. The marble bathrooms are fantastic...open the drawers to find lovely little boxes with toiletries for your stay. Turn-down service includes not just "chocolates", but an exquisite box of four Belgian truffles in an embossed box with golden ribbon. Breakfast is delivered on a silver tray to your room at the appointed time (the ginger biscuits are heavenly!) and each evening from 6-7pm, Ron the sommelier pours fabulous Sonoma County wines paired with great cheeses in the library. The fact that Cyrus Restaurant (among Gourmet's "Top 50" in the country) is in the lobby of this hotel only pushes the experience further into the stratosphere of True Luxury. Wherever you have traveled in the world -- the best five star hotels of Europe, wherever -- you won't find a more satisfying and perfect hotel anywhere. Don't be put off by the prices: this is one hotel that is worth every penny and more. Book a room and GO! You deserve it and I promise you won't regret it -- Hotel Les Mars is positively divine!

  • Liked — Luxury personified from check-in to check-out
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2008

Les Mars was transcendent - the best, most memorable luxury hotel experience that my husband and I have ever had. The staff were wonderful – friendly, warm and attentive – which isn’t always the case at high-end destinations. The complementary wine and artisan cheese tasting, led by Sommelier Ron Washam, was a great way to learn about the hot local wineries. Ron was extremely knowledgeable, informative and amusing without the least hint of superiority. The room was gorgeous, with a canopy bed and French antique furniture. The bed was the most comfortable that I have ever slept in. And it was clear that the attention put into every last detail – from the deliciously soft bathrobes to the hydro bath to the Bulgari toiletries- was done with a connoisseur’s touch. They even put individual reading lights on the bed at turn down. We felt wrapped in tasteful luxury. Take our advice - enjoy your breakfast of fresh made pastries, granola and rich, creamy yogurt in bed. We didn’t leave the hotel until we were obliged to check out. I would highly, highly recommend the Les Mars experience to anyone.

  • Liked — Tasteful Luxury w/ Attentive Service & Attention to Detail
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2007

My husband and I stayed at Les Mars for two nights for a romantic/wine tour getaway. This boutique hotel was the most unbelievable experience we have had! The service was impeccable.
The room blew us away. The bed was so comfortable, pillows, linens etc. It was also such a great treat to have a complementary bottle of wine when we arrived waiting for us!~the nightly wine/cheese tasting in the study was also an added bonus. The staff was so professional but NOT stuffy. I was nervous when I booked our room that we would feel like we were in a stuffy hotel (we are very laid back). However, as professional as the staff was, shockingly every employee seemed to know our names when we entered into their presence!! It was just such an awesome experience and now I am spoiled. Having never stayed at a boutique hotel our expectations are quite high now! I would recommend the handicap accessible room if available (you will save money and have lots of shower room!!) If Brian (one of the very friendly employees ever reads this) Go Red Sox!! From Ed. I would NOT recommend eating outside of the hotel. The food in Healdsburg was horrible. I am STILL craving the scones for breakfast. Can't find any that good anywhere.

  • Liked — service and accomodations
  • Disliked — nothing~pure perfection
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2007

It’s funny, we’ve never written a review for a place we’ve never stayed, but this place is an exception. Here’s why:

On the night of our first wedding anniversary, September 28, my husband and I visited Cyrus – the famous restaurant in the lobby of the hotel - for an incredible meal.

Before our table was ready, however, we were asked to wait a few minutes in the beautiful lobby of Le Mars Hotel, which is right by the restaurant’s entrance.

After a few minutes, our name was called and we proceeded to dinner. About 3/4 of the way through dinner, I realized I left my wallet on the chair in the hotel lobby. Upon finding out about the lost wallet, the restaurant manager was genuinely concerned. He escorted us to the hotel, questioned the desk clerk and literally overturned the chairs vainly trying to find my wallet. He asked us to call him the next day and let us know if we found it. We didn’t, but we called him anyway.

Undaunted, he had another suggestion. Suspecting that the wallet was taken from the chair, he called the hotel manager Katie Ciocca, at Le Mars Hotel and asked if she would review the security tape in the lobby. She was just as upset at he was that a wallet went missing in their hotel/restaurant and immediately she went about finding out exactly what happened.

To make a long story short, it turns out that a guest of the hotel found the wallet and took it up to her room. The next morning, she dropped the wallet off at the concierge desk, without the money. The hotel manager at the hotel was so distraught that this would happen in her hotel and was incredibly apologetic, although it wasn’t her fault at all.
In fact, she immediately offered to reimburse me for the missing money that was in my wallet! By the time we got back from our trip to Napa/Sonoma, we had a check in the mail for the missing money.

It is this kind of caring, proactive person that a hotel can stake its reputation on. Aside from being a beautiful, elegant and unique hotel, it is also a place where service and guests’ comfort (even when they’re just going to the restaurant!) that sets this hotel apart. Thank you for showing what good service is all about!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2007

Our second visit in fourteen months was just as wonderful as the first. The service is friendly and efficient, but the rooms are just outstanding. My wife always says, "where you stay should be equal or better than your own place", and Les Mars fits the bill.
The rooms are beautifully appointed with all of the modern conveniences, but with old world charm. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, but most importantly, the beds; they are so comfortable that it was tough getting up and out. The linens are wonderful, the baths are beautifully finished, and we thoroughly enjoyed both stays. If you're looking for that special, wonderful gem, in the wine country, look no further. The rooms are true to the web site.

  • Liked — The rooms, beds, and linens
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux

Address: 27 North St, Healdsburg, CA 95448
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in May 2005 and created by the Mars family, Hotel Les Mars brings the elegance and unobtrusive service of the finest European family hotels to Northern California. The Mars family follows the philosophy that patrons should be treated more like visiting friends than guests, and upon entering the lobby, visitors are welcomed to the warm smiles of the hotel staff, unique 17th and 18th century antiques, and a comfort found only at the home of a very good friend.Hotel Les Mars represents a unique family project, a labor of love, and a new dimension of sophisticated, luxury lodging in wine country. Andrew Harper's Hideaway Report, the definitive guide to luxury travel, commented that "Les Mars now sets the standard for luxury accommodations in Sonoma." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Les Mars, Relais And Chateaux

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.