We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent boutique hotel!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux

Save Saved
You added Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   27 North St, Healdsburg, CA 95448   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 16 Healdsburg B&B and Inns
Cozumel, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Magnificent boutique hotel!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Since our arrival everybody made us feel special. Staff extremely friendly, helpfull and willing to give their best. We are in the hospitality industry and really appreciate when we find this attitude in the staff.

Rooms are perfect in any means. Size, decor, ambiance, details, comfort. Everything was perfect.

They offered a nice wine & cheese evening meeting, we enjoyed it.

Nice turn down service, many details.

They serve breakfast at your room, elegant, very good.

We highly recommend this beautiful boutique hotel

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    8
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
105
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We recently spent three nights at Les Mars over our wedding weekend. The staff was exceptional as was the room. The bed was amazing. Breakfast each morning was very good. It is not cheap, but you'll get what you pay for. I will say that for us, the style/decor (European, antiques etc.) was not our favorite, but that is totally personal preference and not a knock on the hotel. The location is perfect, located just off the plaza. I would definitely recommend Les Mars for anyone looking for luxury in wine country.

Room Tip: We had a street side room on the third floor and enjoyed the view/sunlight and there wasn't any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

No complaints with the decor and location, but the place is totally overpriced. The hotel has no real amenities. Small rooms and no bathtub and high prices. Breakfast is served in cramped quarters in the room. Would have preferred a larger room at that price or a breakfast room. Helpful and friendly staff. Biggest problem is the price for the value.

Room Tip: high floor is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Really nice hotel, but a bit on the pricey side. Great rooms, plenty of space, fireplace! Great bathroom, no tub though. Great breakfast served in room. Would have wanted a better view, instead of just the back street. Small, but nice pool. And the fitness center is a joke, they could have used a bit more room for the treadmill.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I came to Healdsburg for a wedding at a local winery. Hotel Healdsburg was full and the only other options were the Holiday Inn and the Best Western Plus. Hotel Le Mars was a huge let-down. For $875+/night, the lighting in the room was awful and the rugs were filthy. The service was very good but the coffee was not. I would suggest going to the Flying Goat instead for your Java.

Room Tip: I'd suggest the basic room. Do not spend the $ for the vaulted ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramonlesmars, Manager at Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for your message and for your feedback. We take the experience that we create for our guests at Les Mars very seriously. Firstly, thank you for your comments on our service, as we take great pride in the attention that we are able to give to our guests being such a small hotel.

However, I am sorry that you felt that the lighting in the room was inadequate, as there are multiple lights all throughout the 20 foot high ceilings and the hand-crafted woodwork of the uncovered canopy beds in our Mansion King rooms on the third floor usually allow the room to feel very bright if needed. In the white marble bathrooms, several of the lights are on dimmers which are normally set lower upon preparation of the room to create a peaceful environment; adjusting them upward usually illuminates the bathrooms to a great degree. We also have additional lights that are available upon request if needed; I am sorry that we didn't get a chance to provide them to you. We have regular floor covering maintenance that happens, so I am sorry that you felt that the rugs were not up to an acceptable standard. As for our coffee, Flying Goat actually created a specific blend for us, the Les Mars Blend, which is what you would have had if you are referring to the coffee served with breakfast; our in-room Nespresso machines have a range of bold to medium to decaf coffee pods which are normally of a very high and consistent quality.

I would very much like to speak with you further concerning your stay so that I may address your issues personally. Please feel free to contact me either at the hotel (707-433-4211) or directly via e-mail (rserrano@hotellesmars.com) at your convenience.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope to have the opportunity to speak with you soon.

Best regards,
Ramon Serrano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband and i decided to spend a few days in Healdsburg after dropping our daughteroff at college - Hotel Les Mars is the perfect retreat - the staff is so helpful, from the complimentary valet parking to the knowledgeable host at the wine tasting to arranging massges at the last minute after a day of driving. Can't say enough good things, and the rooms with fireplaces are lovely. Go - you won't be sorry!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This REelais and chateau property is located in the center of Healdsburg, close to restaurants, shopping and tasting rooms. The GM, Ramon, is quite good and quarterbacks anything you need to have done during your stay. He is very knowledgeable of the area. The hotel hosts an evening wine and cheese tasting which is a great way to start an evening. The rooms are wonderful and breakfast is delivered to your room. The pastries were a highlight for us. I would recommend this hotel as a couples weekend or several day stay, as there is a lot to do and the hotel is really nice.

Room Tip: Our room faced the street and noise was not a problem, so I believe that any of the rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux

Also Known As:
Hotel Les Mars, Relais And Chateaux
Address: 27 North St, Healdsburg, CA 95448
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in May 2005 and created by the Mars family, Les Mars Hotel brings the elegance and unobtrusive service of the finest European family hotels to Northern California. The Mars family follows the philosophy that patrons should be treated more like visiting friends than guests, and upon entering the lobby, visitors are welcomed to the warm smiles of the Swiss-trained hotel staff, unique 17th and 18th century antiques, and a comfort found only at the home of a very good friend.Les Mars Hotel represents a unique family project, a labor of love, and a new dimension of sophisticated, luxury lodging in wine country. Andrew Harper’s Hideaway Report, the definitive guide to luxury travel, commented that "Les Mars now sets the standard for luxury accommodations in Sonoma." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.