We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porter Creek Vineyards

Porter Creek Vineyards
8735 Westside Road, Healdsburg, CA 95448
(707) 433-6321
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 123 Activities in Healdsburg
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Seattle
Top Contributor
749 reviews 749 reviews
240 attraction reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Great to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

My favorite type of winery - a rustic down-to-earth family winery. Interesting varietals that are not common in Cali. I like to sip wine and chat. This is a good place for that.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Moultrie, GA
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Another visit - another case of wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Porter Creek is one of our favorite wineries since we first visited 8 years ago. Paul was our host and he was great! He discussed the wines, the vineyards and kept us entertained. Porter Creek is a small winery that takes much pride in its wine, and it shows. Thank you for another great experience.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We were traveling on our first day of wine county and stumbled upon the Porter Creek Winery. Jonathan was charming. The wines were the best of the day. One member of our party had been to this vineyard nine years ago and didn't have a good experience so she was happy that she tried again. It was my first every tasting ever. After going to many others this week it will be the Best Ever

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Awesome wines at Porter Creek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I hesitate to write this review as I don’t want this winery to get too popular :-) We stopped in during a weekday in June and had a great time. Loved their wines and Jonathon was just so much fun to talk to. We got lucky as we were the only ones in the tasting room at the time so we got to spend a lot of time just chatting, tasting, and relaxing. It’s somewhat small and I hear they get very busy on the weekends so I would definitely recommend trying them during the week if possible. Really thinking about joining the wine club as we liked it that much!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hidden with old-world (vine) charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This little winery is definitely a go-to; however, it's not on a main drag and the roads are narrow and snakey--so if you've already been out tasting it seems like a much longer drive.
Anyway, the vines are mostly old-growth which is really unique, it's also entirely organic. The wines are mostly pinot noirs and chardonnays like the rest of the area, but the Carignane was a real treat! I dubbed it bottle-buy worthy. Made from all old growth vines, it's mellow and a little tannic.
The vintner was really friendly, knowledgable, and relaxed. He seems to truly enjoy his work. The winery is child friendly, when we were there the two dogs were lazing around and occasionally bothering the new chicks! This spot even provided the option for a lovely mini-hike up the path to see the winery and valley from the top. Excellent stop for anyone who feels like a little drive and some really delightful wine.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porter Creek Vineyards also viewed

Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to Porter Creek Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porter Creek Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.