We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite tasting room to visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dry Creek Vineyard

Dry Creek Vineyard
3770 Lambert Bridge Rd., Healdsburg, CA
+1 707-433-1000
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Dry Creek Vineyard like an insider
$20*
and up
Ranked #1 of 128 things to do in Healdsburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Award Winning Family Owned Winery: beautiful picnic grounds, tasting room, private tastings, free Wi-Fi, a wide selection of wines including rare single-vineyard wines. David Stare founded Dry Creek Vineyard in 1972. Winemaking emphasis is on grapes from select Sonoma County vineyards, chosen for quality and character. Fume Blanc, Chardonnay, Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Zinfandel, Dry Chenin Blanc, Reserve Chardonnay and Meritage are produced. Dry Creek has received over 1,000 medals for wines in 40 years.
Riverton, Wyoming
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“My favorite tasting room to visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

It was quite busy the day that we were there. I like the choices of wines available. Both whites and reds. The prices are not absorbent and very affordable. The grounds are beautiful and we had a picnic and a beautiful bottle of vin rose. We spent way too much money on wines, but we will enjoy it for sure.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, Manager at Dry Creek Vineyard, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
I love the title of your review - My favorite tasting room to visit! We work hard to make Dry Creek Vineyard a great place to visit, and we really appreciate you telling us that it's working!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    32
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pgh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Our group of 11 was fortunate to schedule a tour with Darren at Dry Ceek Vineyard. The education was illuminating, the vineyard was beautiful and the wines were spectacular! Even our experienced driver was impressed (it was his first visit to Dry Creek Vineyard). On the 2.5 hr drive back into the city and at dinner that evening, we couldn’t stop talking about what a great experience it was.

Unfortunately, I live in PA which has some of the most restrictive alcohol regulations in the country. While I can’t have Dry Creek Vineyard wine shipped to me, you I'll be purchasing it our state controlled wine & spirits stores.

Thanks Darren for wonderful time!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, Manager at Dry Creek Vineyard, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you Tom. We'll be sure to pass your great review onto Darren. I love your story about the experienced driver even being impressed...we must be doing something right if we impressed even the driver!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Valley, Washington
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful wine tasting experience !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Loved the experience of the host and the unique twist on the tasting. He started us with the older more drinkable wines then presented the younger wines from the same vineyards. We sat outside in the shade which was much nicer than hanging out around a bar with the crowd. This is a must do winery in the dry creek region.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, Manager at Dry Creek Vineyard, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you Marcia! We're so glad you were able to try different vintages from the same vineyards. We do this to show that wine is a living thing which changes over time. It's a little bit of education wrapped up in a fun wine tasting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A Must See in the Sonoma Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Dry Creek came highly recommended and did not disappoint. While this is a very busy winery and the first few moments were a bit chaotic, once we took our place "at the bar" so to speak, we were very well taken care of by the tasting room staff - Ian in particular. Ian was very knowledgeable and we were quite impressed with the quality of the wines. We came prepared and had packed a picnic lunch which we enjoyed on their beautiful grounds. There is also a General Store a short distance away if you go unprepared. The vineyard itself also has a few snacks available for purchase - they also serve you bread sticks with your tasting which is a nice touch. We joined the wine club and will definitely return to this vineyard on our next trip to Sonoma. Your tasting fee is waived if you purchase wine.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, Manager at Dry Creek Vineyard, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Welcome to our wine club family Donna! And thank you for the great review. We'll be sure to let Ian know you had a nice visit, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds, tasty wines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We did a tasting here and then sat out frog and enjoyed a lovely picnic with a bottle we bought. The staff was awesome with explaining everything, very friendly. Beautiful flowers and picnic spot. I would definitely return!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, Manager at Dry Creek Vineyard, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thanks for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dry Creek Vineyard also viewed

Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to Dry Creek Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dry Creek Vineyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.