We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have the wine pairing lunch!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Michel-Schlumberger Wines

Michel-Schlumberger Wines
4155 Wine Creek Rd, Healdsburg, CA 95448
707 433 7427
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 123 Activities in Healdsburg
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Winery with a reputation for excellent Bordeaux varieties.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Have the wine pairing lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed Michel Schlumberger's lunch of foods paired with M-S wines. They started us with a rose brut sparking wine, followed by 5 small-plate courses, each paired with its own wine. The first two courses featured white wines, and the remaining three featured two reds and a sherry. Wonderful wines. The food was prepared with creativity and flare, and was delicious. Our host was very welcoming and informative; our chef came out to present each of the courses, and accepted questions about the food and the pairings afterward. We were out on the terrace, on a perfect day, sunny and warm. Definitely an experience to enjoy.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    11
    4
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Exceptional Wine, Food, Ambiance and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Favorite of our trips to the wine country. All the varietals and blends are excellent, the Big Reds are exceptional. The food wine pairing is well worth the extra time. The estate tour is excellent, beautiful and educational. Ryan and all the staff very welcoming and enthused and well informed.
The ambiance is a blend of gorgeous natural beauty with welcoming charm and quiet refinement. Can easily spend a day here and feel refreshed and better for the time and wine.

Fall is a great time to visit. Nice weather, fall color , less crowds.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
150 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Michel- Schlumberger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

What a great location and beautiful inside.
Luckily we were taken here for a wine and food paring. It was wonderful and the servers and chef were top rate. I do suggest you go here when in Northern California..

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Relaxing way to end our day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We visited Michel Schlumberger after reading positive Trip Advisor reviews and are glad we made the trek. It's well off Dry Creek Road, up into the vineyards and hills by itself, so it's a very peaceful and quiet setting. We did not do the tour and are a little sorry we didn't, but we vastly enjoyed ending out day here. The building is a mission style building that used to be the home of one of the Schlumbergers but is now offices and tasting rooms. There is a beautiful interior courtyard with a large reflecting pool/water feature, surrounded by teak umbrella tables and settes with umbrellas, while Frank plays light jazz on his ipod collection. This is where we sat for our tasting. We have found that there are 2 main types of tasting rooms--the stand at the bar and they pour you what you want to drink (good for when speed of drinking) or the slower, sit at a table and let them bring the wine to you (far more relaxing but takes longer). M-S is the latter type. We arrived about 30 minutes before closing and for the most part, we were the only ones there. Frank came out and poured the wines for us, with a great explanation of each wine and what to pair it with. He is extremely knowledgeable about the wines, going into the history of wines in France as well as in Sonoma. It was so relaxing to just sit in the courtyard listening to the water fountain and Sinatra on the ipod, and having Frank bring us the next wine when we were ready. One thing we learned--when you get to a winery late in the day, the pourers are more likely to be generous with their pours--either they serve it to you or pour it down the drain. They'd rather pour it for you. The wines were quite good and while they don't produce huge quantities or lots of varietals, the ones they concentrate on are really top quality. After returning home I was happy to find that Spec's in Texas carries several M-S wines and I've already bought a few. Don't hesitate to try the first wines on their menu, the roses, because these are not Boone's Farm, they're really nice, light wines (more like a Beaujalais) that we never would have even considered but are glad we did.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Try the food pairings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Not one of the fancy vineyards and the garden was pleasant but from the patio there was no view of the vineyards. However, the staff were friendly and the food pairings were fabulous - the chef came out to explain his choices to us which was helpful. We loved it!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michel-Schlumberger Wines also viewed

Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to Michel-Schlumberger Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michel-Schlumberger Wines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.