We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vineyard tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Michel-Schlumberger Wines

Michel-Schlumberger Wines
4155 Wine Creek Rd, Healdsburg, CA 95448
707 433 7427
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 114 activities in Healdsburg
Type: Wineries
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Winery with a reputation for excellent Bordeaux varieties.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great vineyard tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was a definite 'find' of our Healdsburg trip. I don't join wine clubs but felt compelled to join this one and am looking forward to our first shipment.
We called for a tour reservation on recommendation of the woman who runs the Hand Fan Museum in town. Unfortunately like seems to be the norm in Healdsburg the reservation didn't make the list. Also the norm in Healdsburg, they accommodated us anyway and we had a great tour.
The vineyard and winery are not large operations but the staff is very personable and can explain all the growing and wine making operations. We learned a lot about the different varieties of grapes, how the vines are maintained, pruned, watered etc. It was a super tour. There was no rush to get through it even though the staff was preparing for a social gathering with their new, on staff chef for later in the day and very busy.
We came up from the central coast wine country where we've had many tours but none as detailed and informational as this one. If you want to learn about the grapes and growing process this tour is a worthwhile, not to mention the excellent wines you get later.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    9
    4
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
“Try the Degustation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

What a jaw-dropping surprise the Michel-Schlumberger winery was! Recently renovated, we stumbled upon it as it was literally at the dead end of a road in Healdsburg. The building looks like an old Southwest mission, and once inside the courtyard features a lovely gazing pool, and shaded porticos shelter tables for tasting. Inside, the tasting room is elegant in dark wood, and out the french doors to the back, a gracious patio, beautiful lawn, nicely manicured flowers, and huge oak shade trees await you.

Our initial intention was to simply do the wine tasting. But my husband happened to look at the degustation (tasting menu) and we knew we had to try it. We enjoyed every one of the wines, but they were even better with the food! It would certainly suffice for a light lunch. Smoked salmon pate on a slice of toast, sauteed mushrooms on polenta, duck confit and fig on toasted cheese, and an incredible pair of dark chocolate-bacon truffles to finish. We kept wishing they served a full dinner--sadly, they are not licensed for full meals.

Several of the wines are made in the French manner, which is probably why we liked their Pinot Noir the best of any winery in the area. It was spicy and surprising--a real treat. The service was friendly and we would definitely return.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Beautiful Winery & Good Wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Beautiful winery; building is gorgeous and has a great patio area. Staff is great. We enjoyed all of their wines.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Rude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Wine keeper very RUDE! Didn't want to explain their wine treated us poorly was very disappointed by the whole experience.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Liked it so much we joined the wine club”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Third or fourth trip to Michel-Schlumberger. Don't be ut off by the need to book a tour in advance, it is really in your best interest as it gives the winery the opportunity to give you a behind-the-scenes tour and also a number of generous ours of the wines. Many winery tours focus on the winemaking process, this one focuses on the growing process and you walk among the vines to see why different varietals are grown in different plots of land.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michel-Schlumberger Wines also viewed

Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to Michel-Schlumberger Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michel-Schlumberger Wines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Michel-Schlumberger Wines to your Saves list