We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barndiva is where food becomes fine art” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barndiva

Barndiva
231 Center Street, Healdsburg, CA 95448
707-431-0100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 81 restaurants in Healdsburg
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Matheson
Transit: County Transit Bus 60, Healdsburg Plaza
Modesto, CA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Barndiva is where food becomes fine art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Had dinner at Barndiva last night (Saturday Nov 2nd) and lunch the day before that. Both meals were top notch, with quick and attentive service and food with such beautiful plating that it looked like fine art.....and the taste; very upscale, yet the restaurant's ambiance isn't stuffy in the least. They have outdoor seating out front and in back. They basically know they've got it going on and they're eager for you to enjoy what they've got.
Barndiva is my new favorite restaurant in Healdsburg. I can't wait to return. Make sure to view my photos of the BLT crab sandwich I had for lunch and the salad, bree cheese starter and fish we had for dinner - I had swordfish and my wife had John Dory; all were excellent. The only negative thing I can say is that the bread they serve with dinner, which is a sourdough bread from an awesome french bakery right there in town, had a crust so hard I could NOT eat it - seriously, I though I'd break my teeth on it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    183
    59
    26
    7
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nothing Special!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This restaurant is located in a downtown setting. It was not at all what I was expecting after reading reviews and visiting their website. The food and atmosphere were nothing special. They do offer outdoor seating which is on the street side of the building much like a patio. The food was not worth the price we paid. The bread was so hard we were unable to eat it for fear of breaking a tooth. All the food came out of the kitchen cold, even the soup. I ordered risotto and it was on top of a thin, watery white substance, very unappetizing. The wait staff appeared bored, uninterested and were very slow. With so many fabulous other restaurant choices in the area I would definitely not waste my time at this one. If you do decide to make a reservation, there is no parking or valet service so allow time to find parking on the street and possibly walking a block or two.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Unique with delicious cuisine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Make reservations a month in advance! It's well worth a visit! The food was fabulous and the atmosphere somewhat contemporary and vibrant!! Service was a little slow-they were very busy on this Friday night and possibly understaffed. If you are visiting Healdsburg do not miss an opportunity to dine here. Slow service or not, the food is worth it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Second best meal .... ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We went on our anniversary. It was expensive. It was fantastic.

We started with the tomato soup, then scallops and salmon, and finished with the "panna cotta". All of the food was so flavorful and fresh tasting!

The service was perfectly paced and we felt like all the staff was pitching in to make sure we had a wonderful dinner. It wasn't quiet but not noisy at all either.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ukiah california, usa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Everything about this restaurant was suburb--the hostesses, the bartender, the server, the relaxed atmosphere, outdoor dining, and of course the food. I went with friends and we shared. The ravioli I had was one of the best ever. One of us were gluten-free and that worked also. It was pricey but worth it--I returned again one subsequent visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barndiva also viewed

Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to Barndiva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barndiva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.