We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfie beds, DISH TV, 10 min walk to Plaza” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   74 Healdsburg Ave, Healdsburg, CA 95448   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 hotels in Healdsburg
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Comfie beds, DISH TV, 10 min walk to Plaza”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I wanted to start off with the positive and give the type of information I had been looking for before I booked...
Positives:
Comfortable beds
Spacious room
DISH TV
10 minute walk to Healdsburg Plaza (downtown/main area for all that you want to do/visit)
Kam, the GM, really does care about the patron's experience
Front desk person, Maite (sp?), very nice
Working microwave TV and frig in the room
Coffee maker - and the main replaced the coffee that was used each morning
Near a McDonald's, who now has fresh baked chocolate chip cookies; and that rocks!
Very closeby to two Spanish markets, though you will need to speak basic Spanish to get anything. (Not a problem for me - but may be if you only speak English.)
If you want to have a slugfest - it's also near La Pizza, where you can get delivery, eat in, or pick up and bring back since it is close walking distance to hotel.
Pool and jacuzzi both were clean, though I didn't use either and can't vouch if the jacuzzi worked --- just saw them.
Easy and plentiful parking.
Front desk open 24/7.
Continental breakfast is absolutely decent - exactly what you would expect - cereal, milk, juice, coffee, bagels or toast. Nothing to complain about --- and a nice perk. (I didn't eat the breakfast - but saw it - and it was perfectly fine.)
Negatives:
Peter is nice but he should not be interfacing with the public due to an extreme inability to communicate effectively; his English is profoundly difficult to understand and he similarly doesn't understand what you are saying.
The maid service, relative to cleanliness, is terrible - I mean awful. I will list the problems regarding lack of cleanliness: 1. red stain on carpeting, which looked like blood, though I'm not sure --- was never cleaned and it wasn't put there by me. 2. I had a beer twist off top in my bathroom for my entire stay; and I never drank a beer - I inherited it and it was never removed. 3. My room was never vacuumed the entire time I was there; I am 100% sure of this because of things on the bedroom carpeting that remained throughout my stay. 4. The clock was unplugged and in a drawer. (Eventually I found it, set it and was good to go.) 5. The lamp in the "suite" part of the room doesn't work. Either take it out or fix it.
At no fault of the hotel's - the walking path to the Plaza is non-existent and often times dangerous. Again - this isn't ABVI's issue - it's the town of Healdsburg issue. However, as a guest walking into town you will have to contend with this. Supposedly there is a path out the back of the hotel where you can walk to Exchange and then on a sidewalk to the Plaza - but that door was locked - and besides ---- there still isn't sidewalk entirely from the hotel to the Plaza. When you first leave the hotel to get to road to get to the Plaza - you are literally and absolutely walking in the road; you must be extremely cautious. The walk is no problem, however, during the day. At night, especially if you are alone/a solo traveler --- you really need to think about whether or not you want to risk the in-the-dark-walk home. I did one night (I had lots of wine so was fearless!) --- but I was hyper vigligent and crossed the street to the more "lit" side several times. It's just something to think about if you are walking alone. If you have company - much less worry - though again - you still have a large part of the walk with no sidewalks to contend with.
There are dispensers in the bathroom for conditioning shampoo (not a separate shampoo and separate conditioner), shower gel --- these actually in the shower --- and I think that's OK --- but if you plan to wash your hair, you'd need to bring condition. The soap and lotion dispenser above the bathroom sink has body lotion that is like water. Even cheap Vaseline Intenstive Care Lotion would be better than that --- but! --- at least it's something.
The towels are very thin --- but they were clean.
The remote control for the TV ONLY works for volume. If you try to use the channel changer - you will mess up EVERYTHING! You have to get up and manually hit the up or down channel changer that is part of the DISH connector. The second you use the remote control for anything other than volume - you are screwed and will lose the connection to DISH.
HORRIBLE soundproofing. I heard every door slam, every step a person took, every voice, every everything. I had to sleep with TV on, fan on high, and bathroom light-fan on too, not to mention ear plugs. That said - because the bed really was comfortable - I did sleep pretty darn good!

Room Tip: I think you might be better on top floor so that you don't hear all of the footsteps from above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvishealdsburg, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us all the good as well as "need to improve" parts of our property. I do really appreciate it. Many times guests simply just tell us the negatives but I am glad you highlighted some of the positives. Rather than detail all the steps I will be taking to address the issues you mentioned, I will say that I take our guest comments seriously and will be taking steps to correct everything we can. There are things that we may not be able to change immediately such as Peter at the front desk during off hours. This is a small family run business and given the current economic conditions, we are doing the best we can managing the business ourselves part of the time. But as business improves, we hope to hire additional desk clerks for our front office. There are always challenges with running this type of a business but our goal will always be to provide clean and comfortable guest rooms, proper service and the best value for the money.
Thank you for staying with us.
Kam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    19
    24
    12
    8
See reviews for
14
30
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I wrote a review in September that the Inn had overbooked and did not have the two rooms that we reserved. I e-mailed the General Manager and he offered us a free night's stay for two rooms. We just went this weekend. There was no problem with checking in. They gave us two king suites...complimentary. The rooms were big and clean. The bathroom tiles and granite tops looked new. Also had microwave and fridge in the room. Very comfortable and very convenient...close to town square. I'm happy with how management dealt with the overbooking issue

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvishealdsburg, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for giving us the opportunity to correct our mistake. I am extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the future.
Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The hotel has a great location! just couple of blocks from the downtown.
They have breakfast in the regular price which offer cereals, bagels, etc.
The room was clean and neat.
I didn't go to the pool but it looks like a desereted place and a little bit unlcean although the season was still summer

Room Tip: Ask for two queen beds even if u r couple. you'll find out it has more space room than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvishealdsburg, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,
We thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our property. Our pool areas is open year round and I will certainly work with our staff to make sure it is clean and ready for our guests. For guests requiring more space, I would also recommend our King Suites which has a living room area separate from the sleeping area.
Thank you once again and we hope to see you in the future.
Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finger Lakes NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hotel is within walking distance of downtown Healdsburg so that was a plus to us. The hotel was clean and our price was cheaper than others have indicated in their reviews so hopefully their comments helped the management to recognize that price should match quality. Breakfast is served in the lobby with VERY limited choices and 8 chairs for seating. Perhaps doing away with the breakfast and lowering the price further might help attract customers to this well-located establishment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvishealdsburg, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guest,
We want to thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are continually evaluating the amenities we offer and try to make improvements to provide the best value to our customers. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Booked a room here because we were dining in Healdsburg and did not want to drive home late at night afterwards. Weeknight rate was only about $85. I was a bit concerned because of the negativity of some of the review here. However, I feel we got good value for the money. My particular room had a king size bed, was large, and clean. Didn't spend much time there and didn't have the breakfast. I would not hesitate to stay overnight again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvishealdsburg, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our property. We hope to see you again in the future.
Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

For $189 per night (AAA) rate for 2 queen beds I would stay someplace else. This hotel is jacking up the prices because of the location (wine country). We had 2 rooms. 106 & 122. 122 was nicer then 106, but this price is a rip off. 106 is in the single level area of the hotel. The room was tiny and had 1 King bed.

The FREE continental breakfast was not good at all and we ended up walking around the corner the Mc Donalds for breakfast.. Small red apples, apple juice machine not working, no bananas, etc. Basically just toast, some bagels and fairly good coffee. Would not recommend staying here, but we had to because we were attending a wedding. We will drive home next time if we are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvishealdsburg, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Kevin,

We understand your frustration and we are continually striving to provide the best value to our guests. We do realize the prices are high for hotel rooms in Healdsburg during a couple of busy summer weekends but when compared to every other property in town, we are extremely competitive and I can confidently say that we charge significantly less than any other comparable limited service property in town. I encourage you to compare hotel pricing at any online travel sites. We are not claiming to be a full service property with extended offerings and we are certainly not charging the type of prices that are being charged by full service or other limited service properties in town which range upwards of $250 to $300 per night. Our goal is to provide a reasonable rate for comfortable accommodations for our guests and will continue to do so. You are correct that our complimentary breakfast is continental which includes orange and apple juice, individually brewed coffee, two types of toasts, bagels, two types of cereal, fresh seasonal fruits and condiments. We are always trying to improve upon our continental offering and are welcome to suggestions.
Once again, we do apologize if our property and the value we provided didn't meet your expectations. We will continue to evaluate our pricing as well as the amenities we provide to our guests and improve upon them.

Thank you for your time.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

If you are ignoring previous reviews and staying here because it's the cheapest in the area and walking distance to the Plaza- beware. Although it is quoted cheaper, that does not mean that they will charge you the correct amount on your credit card. Dealing with this hotel has been a NIGHTMARE. I have managed to get part of my refund back ($300 for one night, when it was supposed to be $170), but not all of it.

The hotel I expected to be awful since it was cheap and because of the reviews (which it was- found trash in the dresser, hairs in my bed, scorching hot with a barely working AC, terrible customer service at the front desk- refusal to give us a receipt for our stay), but I did not think I would have so much trouble on the billing side. This has been a nightmare of a bureaucracy to penetrate to do anything minor- cancel a night, confirm a reservation, get charged correctly, etc. I recommend you stay at a place down the road that is just cheap and you can pay $10 to cab into the Plaza and not deal with these people. Your time is worth more than what you save staying here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvishealdsburg, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear MA,
We are terribly sorry for all the confusion and inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We actually communicated via email seven times prior to your arrival where I tried to help correct your reservation. You had booked for two nights thru an on-line third party website and wanted to cancel one of the nights. I requested for you to cancel the unwanted night thru the same agency where you booked since we cannot do that at the property. It is just not allowed. If you have made the booking directly with the property, then we could make any changes you need and have the greatest flexibility. You never modified your reservation and we were forced to hold your room for both nights, hence the charge for two nights. During one of the busiest weekends of the year where business need to capture revenue, this put us in a very difficult situation. If we have a legitimate reservation, we cannot resell your room since it is guaranteed. Nevertheless, I refunded one night's stay and lost revenue. Then you complained about the amount of the refund stating it was short. In fact, the amount you felt was short was actually the transit tax for the one night you did stay. This is money that we provide to the city of Healdsburg as tax revenue. Nevertheless, I also refunded the tax amount and incurred additional loss of revenue. I understand your frustration but I feel that I did the best I could to help you correct your reservation prior to your arrival as well as providing appropriate refunds after your stay. We communicated over at least 9 email where I provided you instruction on how to correct the situation to avoid the problems so I am really not sure what else I could have done. The only thing I can recommend is that in the future, where you choose to stay, make your reservation directly with the property instead of using a third party website. The property has much greater control over the reservation to make changes as needed and gives the business flexibility so they don't incur loss of revenue.
Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites

Also Known As:
America`s Best Value Hotel
America`s Best Value Hotel Healdsburg
America`s Best Value Inn And Suites
Americas Best Value Inn Healdsburg
Address: 74 Healdsburg Ave, Healdsburg, CA 95448
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Americas Best Value Inn & Suites just completed a major expansion and renovation project. We now have a total of 36 units consisting standard Queen beds, Standard King beds, Two room King bed suites and Two room King bed suites with in room Jacuzzi. Please see the accommodations page for additional information and pictures of our rooms. We are centrally located in Healdsburg, right off the Central Healdsburg Exit traveling north bound on Hwy 101. The Famous Healdsburg Town Square is a short walk of only two blocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.