We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   74 Healdsburg Ave, Healdsburg, CA 95448   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 8 hotels in Healdsburg
GreenLeadersGold level
Finger Lakes NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hotel is within walking distance of downtown Healdsburg so that was a plus to us. The hotel was clean and our price was cheaper than others have indicated in their reviews so hopefully their comments helped the management to recognize that price should match quality. Breakfast is served in the lobby with VERY limited choices and 8 chairs for seating. Perhaps doing away with the breakfast and lowering the price further might help attract customers to this well-located establishment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvishealdsburg, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guest,
We want to thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are continually evaluating the amenities we offer and try to make improvements to provide the best value to our customers. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    19
    28
    14
    9
See reviews for
15
32
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Booked a room here because we were dining in Healdsburg and did not want to drive home late at night afterwards. Weeknight rate was only about $85. I was a bit concerned because of the negativity of some of the review here. However, I feel we got good value for the money. My particular room had a king size bed, was large, and clean. Didn't spend much time there and didn't have the breakfast. I would not hesitate to stay overnight again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvishealdsburg, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our property. We hope to see you again in the future.
Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

For $189 per night (AAA) rate for 2 queen beds I would stay someplace else. This hotel is jacking up the prices because of the location (wine country). We had 2 rooms. 106 & 122. 122 was nicer then 106, but this price is a rip off. 106 is in the single level area of the hotel. The room was tiny and had 1 King bed.

The FREE continental breakfast was not good at all and we ended up walking around the corner the Mc Donalds for breakfast.. Small red apples, apple juice machine not working, no bananas, etc. Basically just toast, some bagels and fairly good coffee. Would not recommend staying here, but we had to because we were attending a wedding. We will drive home next time if we are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvishealdsburg, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Kevin,

We understand your frustration and we are continually striving to provide the best value to our guests. We do realize the prices are high for hotel rooms in Healdsburg during a couple of busy summer weekends but when compared to every other property in town, we are extremely competitive and I can confidently say that we charge significantly less than any other comparable limited service property in town. I encourage you to compare hotel pricing at any online travel sites. We are not claiming to be a full service property with extended offerings and we are certainly not charging the type of prices that are being charged by full service or other limited service properties in town which range upwards of $250 to $300 per night. Our goal is to provide a reasonable rate for comfortable accommodations for our guests and will continue to do so. You are correct that our complimentary breakfast is continental which includes orange and apple juice, individually brewed coffee, two types of toasts, bagels, two types of cereal, fresh seasonal fruits and condiments. We are always trying to improve upon our continental offering and are welcome to suggestions.
Once again, we do apologize if our property and the value we provided didn't meet your expectations. We will continue to evaluate our pricing as well as the amenities we provide to our guests and improve upon them.

Thank you for your time.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

If you are ignoring previous reviews and staying here because it's the cheapest in the area and walking distance to the Plaza- beware. Although it is quoted cheaper, that does not mean that they will charge you the correct amount on your credit card. Dealing with this hotel has been a NIGHTMARE. I have managed to get part of my refund back ($300 for one night, when it was supposed to be $170), but not all of it.

The hotel I expected to be awful since it was cheap and because of the reviews (which it was- found trash in the dresser, hairs in my bed, scorching hot with a barely working AC, terrible customer service at the front desk- refusal to give us a receipt for our stay), but I did not think I would have so much trouble on the billing side. This has been a nightmare of a bureaucracy to penetrate to do anything minor- cancel a night, confirm a reservation, get charged correctly, etc. I recommend you stay at a place down the road that is just cheap and you can pay $10 to cab into the Plaza and not deal with these people. Your time is worth more than what you save staying here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvishealdsburg, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear MA,
We are terribly sorry for all the confusion and inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We actually communicated via email seven times prior to your arrival where I tried to help correct your reservation. You had booked for two nights thru an on-line third party website and wanted to cancel one of the nights. I requested for you to cancel the unwanted night thru the same agency where you booked since we cannot do that at the property. It is just not allowed. If you have made the booking directly with the property, then we could make any changes you need and have the greatest flexibility. You never modified your reservation and we were forced to hold your room for both nights, hence the charge for two nights. During one of the busiest weekends of the year where business need to capture revenue, this put us in a very difficult situation. If we have a legitimate reservation, we cannot resell your room since it is guaranteed. Nevertheless, I refunded one night's stay and lost revenue. Then you complained about the amount of the refund stating it was short. In fact, the amount you felt was short was actually the transit tax for the one night you did stay. This is money that we provide to the city of Healdsburg as tax revenue. Nevertheless, I also refunded the tax amount and incurred additional loss of revenue. I understand your frustration but I feel that I did the best I could to help you correct your reservation prior to your arrival as well as providing appropriate refunds after your stay. We communicated over at least 9 email where I provided you instruction on how to correct the situation to avoid the problems so I am really not sure what else I could have done. The only thing I can recommend is that in the future, where you choose to stay, make your reservation directly with the property instead of using a third party website. The property has much greater control over the reservation to make changes as needed and gives the business flexibility so they don't incur loss of revenue.
Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

After a weekend in Healdsburg at this economy motel, I can't think of a positive thing about the place.

The staff behind the counter greeted us coolly. She didn't seem to know what she was doing. We later learned that she was new, and maybe she was a bit overwhelmed when we showed up. It may be an excuse, but I still experienced a negative greeting.

Our room (one of the suites) was dark. The lights provided insufficient illumination, and even with all the lights turned on and with shades open at midday, it was dark. Some lights didn't work at all, particularly one of the bed lamps.

The bathtub was tiny. I am broad-shouldered but not large, and I could not relax in the tub without squeezing.

Their complimentary wireless internet did not reach to our room. Our room (119, for the record) was on the corner of the property and must have been too far from the wireless router. We could occasionally detect a wireless signal, but it would invariably cut out before we could use it. We could get a fine signal if we walked out the door and five feet to sit on the curb, though.

So: Unfriendly, dark, tiny bathtub, wireless failure. It's up to you.

Room Tip: Rooms nearer the office have better wireless signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvishealdsburg, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Mr. Schaefer,
We appreciate your feedback and we will take steps to improve our service, lighting in the rooms as well as the wifi signal strength to that part of our building. In an effort to conserve energy, we recently installed new CLF lighting which take a couple of minutes to warm up and produce full lighting. Initially when turned on, the lighting seems dim but it does get much brighter after a minute or so. If we continue to see dissatisfication from our guests, we can certainly switch back to standard lighting. We are also in the process of installing additional access points to improve the free high speed wifi service at the property.
Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed 1x night (8/12) during wedding season. All Sonoma hotels were overpriced, but AVBI&S offered the best value. Our room was clean and quaint. The hotel staff was prompt and responsive to our needs. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvishealdsburg, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear AC C,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments. We sincerely appreciate it and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Kam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Calif.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 1 night, passing through the only thing that was available. This should have been our heads-up moment! The door would not lock, we were given another room. Lots of cobwebs- walls needed to be wiped or painted where luggage or people rub against. I think we would take a chance and sleep in the car before staying again. Did I mention that the bed comes off the ground when you sit down on the end of the bed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvishealdsburg, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear guest,
We apologize for the poor room condition you experienced and we will take steps to correct the issues you mentioned. We recognize the spots on the wall where we tried to touch up paint but due to mismatch in the color, it actually looked like a stain on the wall. We are starting a project to repaint all of our guest rooms to correct this issue. Also as part of a recent rennovation project, we installed wood floors in several of our guest rooms to help keep alergens down. All of our guests have loved this change but the one drawback we noticed with wood floors is that the bed frame tends to move around and due to lack of friction. To fix this issue, we are ordering some different bed frames and planning to secure the frames so the bed doesn't move around. We are continually trying to improve our property and provide great service to our guests. We hope you will give us another opportunity to earn your business.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites

Address: 74 Healdsburg Ave, Healdsburg, CA 95448
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 hotels in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Americas Best Value Inn & Suites just completed a major expansion and renovation project. We now have a total of 36 units consisting standard Queen beds, Standard King beds, Two room King bed suites and Two room King bed suites with in room Jacuzzi. Please see the accommodations page for additional information and pictures of our rooms. We are centrally located in Healdsburg, right off the Central Healdsburg Exit traveling north bound on Hwy 101. The Famous Healdsburg Town Square is a short walk of only two blocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, BookIt.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Value Inn And Suites
America`s Best Value Hotel Healdsburg
Americas Best Value Inn Healdsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.