We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pros and Cons” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   74 Healdsburg Ave, Healdsburg, CA 95448   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Savings Special
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Healdsburg
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Pros and Cons”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2007

This hotel has a few good things going for it. First, they take single night reservations on the weekend, when every other property in the area requires a two night minimum. Second, it was just renovated, so the property is basically new. And, it's pretty inexpensive considering the location.

On the negative side, the owners also seem to be new to this hotel, and to hotel management in general. After botching our reservation, since they appeared to have no knowledge or understanding of the internets (reservations are made by a mysterious system apparently!), which really put a damper on our afternoon, they had to reshuffle some rooms and asked us if a room with no lock would be acceptable. What!! No, we would like our room to lock.

Finally, they have that terrible type of air conditioner that cycles on and off, loudly, with clicking, throughout the night. So, if you are noise sensitive definitely bring your ear plugs.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    19
    31
    18
    12
See reviews for
18
34
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2007

America's Best Value Inn could be mistaken for any number of other chain hotels - it had a comfortable room and cozy accommodations, and at the time of stay was absolutely brand new. The smell of fresh carpet and paint hung in the air, and the plastic wraps still clung to the lampshades. All in all, as a room it was a decent value for the area, but was located a good mile from downtown Healdsburg. The continental breakfast was also disappointing - water flavored coffee and flacid waffles.

My major issues with the hotel were with the management and the check-in process. Even though I had purchased (and been charged to my credit card) two rooms from Orbitz, they only had 1 room down, and even still, insisted they had not been paid by Orbitz. They actually didn't even know what Orbitz was, even though somebody over there must have setup the system. The manager actually made me speak to her husband over the phone, re-explaining the situation for which I had already been dealing with for a half an hour.

All in all, it could have been handled much more professionally since I clearly don't have intimate knowledge of their billing system, and shouldn't be made to deal with it when they don't understand it themselves. Another customer who booked through Expedia encountered the same issue as I was leaving the lobby. Not cool.

  • Liked — The entire place was brand-spankin' new.
  • Disliked — The management had never run anything in their lives.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2007

What a pleasure to find an inexpensive and comfortable motel in wine country where prices seem to compare unfavourably with just about everywhere else in America. This Best Value Inn offers a spacious, clean and very comfortable room with all the usual facilities for less than $100. It is close to I-101 but the noise is not intrusive. They were still working on part of it when we arrived, but again the noise stopped at a reasonable hour and was not intrusive. The motel seems to be in the last stages of a complete refurbishment. Our room was brand new in every respect, and everything worked well. The reception was calm, friendly and efficient. You will need a wire for the internet connection; reception provided one for me without demur.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and spaciousness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose, ca
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2006

This property was under construction. Reservations were made 3 mos in advance and we were told it was newly renovated. We had a group of motorcycle riders booked..we arrived, no pavement, dirt and gravel, most of it was under const., wood, no doors, dumpsters. We had a small strip of the original rooms..about 7 rooms while they renovated the rest. The so called office was small, dingy, stunk of very strong curry, no pamplets, no continental breakfast as stated. Brought bathing suits...the original website showed a wonderful place with pool. The pool was cement only, no water! With tax we were charged $120 ea room. Of course no other hotels in the area had vacancies and we had a bus coming in the AM for a wine tour. The man who ran the place would not come down in the price for misrepresenting his hotel, and then said we were told it was under contruction---NOT! I had opened lotion and shampoo with the old hotel name on it. I would not go to this place even after the renovation is complete!!

  • Liked — nothing!
  • Disliked — under construction, rude manager/owner, not honest, no pool, dirt and gravel.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites

Address: 74 Healdsburg Ave, Healdsburg, CA 95448
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Americas Best Value Inn & Suites just completed a major expansion and renovation project. We now have a total of 36 units consisting standard Queen beds, Standard King beds, Two room King bed suites and Two room King bed suites with in room Jacuzzi. Please see the accommodations page for additional information and pictures of our rooms. We are centrally located in Healdsburg, right off the Central Healdsburg Exit traveling north bound on Hwy 101. The Famous Healdsburg Town Square is a short walk of only two blocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Value Inn And Suites
America`s Best Value Hotel Healdsburg
Americas Best Value Inn Healdsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.