We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun night out brewery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bear Republic Brewing Company

Bear Republic Brewing Company
345 Healdsburg Ave, Healdsburg, CA 95448
+1 707-431-7258
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bear Republic Brewing Company is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 86 Restaurants in Healdsburg
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: North Street
Transit: 28, 30, 30X, 43 and 91.
Description: Located in Sonoma County, you might wonder how a brewery in the heart of California"s wine country could make such distinctively flavorful beers. With awards too plentiful to list, the Bear's creations are too good to miss. Founded in 1995, the Norgrove family and Bear Republic Brewing Company strive to foster a sense of loyalty and tradition from eras gone by. From the humble beginnings of home brewing, to the demanding process of commercial brewing, came the realization that to produce the distinctive flavors and aroma we found appealing required the founding of our own Brewery and Brewpub. The Norgrove Family invites you to come by for good, healthy food and our award winning ales and lagers. Located on the corner of Healdsburg's historic downtown square, our family environment guarantees a good time for all!
Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fun night out brewery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We love beer and pub food. When in a town we seek them out. Enjoyed both the food and beer selections here. We even brought a six pack of the Racer to our son-in-law. The crab sandwich was tasty, with lots of crabmeat. Will return to try more beer and food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    115
    59
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
healdsburg
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Our favorite brewery in Sonoma County”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

If you love fresh brewed beers and ales this is a "must do", in Sonoma County. They always have a variety to choose from. The food selections are also fresh and local. Located in the heart of Healdsburg, making it ideal to shop locally at its many boutiques and walk off those extra carbs.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Lots of Beer Choices - good bar food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We tried the regular and seasonal beer flights - wow! quite a selection.

We had a nice baked brie for an appetizer. For food, we had a blue cheese / bacon cheeseburger (yum !) and an pulled pork sandwich (the bbq sauce on it was too peppery - almost to the point of making it inedible).

Go there to taste the beers and relax in an unpretentious, well staffed and friendly environment. Would give this three+ stars - but for anyone who likes the brewery angle - it is worth a try.

If you are walking down the main street - don't get confused by the street #'s - as it is tucked back off the street near the entrance to the hotel.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Definitely Worth a Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I quite enjoyed my visit to Bear Republic despite the less-than-perfect reviews. I didn't try any food while I was here but I was quite happy with the beers than we tried. Fresh Racer 5 India Pale Ale is one of the best of it's style and we enjoyed trying the Racer 15 while we were here as well. Most importantly, these guys mix it up. They always have their trademark offering like Racer available, but aside from those they keep the rest of the taps rotating to different interesting experimental batches. I always love this about a brewery because I like to have options that I can't buy bottles of at the liquor store or find on tap at surrounding bars. Not all of the beers were perfect, but all were interesting and I was happy that we stopped here. I wish there was a little more room at the bar, we were left standing near the bar for most of our visit, but that is my only complaint.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloverdale, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fun Brewery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The "Bear" is always consistent for a good meal. Love the garlic fries.Try to "OSA" a dark beer.
Outdoor dining a pleasure on a warm day. Inside lots of decor for viewing,

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bear Republic Brewing Company also viewed

Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to Bear Republic Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear Republic Brewing Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.