We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HUGELY disappointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Madrona Manor Restaurant

Madrona Manor Restaurant
1001 Westside Rd, Healdsburg, CA 95448-9434
+1 707-433-4231
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Madrona Manor Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 86 Restaurants in Healdsburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: West Dry Creek Road
Description: Guests have all five of their senses enlivened at Healdsburg's most romantic destination. Inventive cuisine, a stunning backdrop and impeccable service create a welcome retreat "worthy of a journey". Madrona Manor captures the rich culture of wine, food and nature inherent to the region. A stellar wine list expresses the varied bounty of the local vintners as well as global sources. Chef Mallgren prepares New Californian cuisine using the finest ingredients available in the county, as well as greens, vegetables, herbs and fruit from our gardens. Visitors can stroll through the beautiful gardens which meander up the hillside just beyond the mansion. One Star Michelin - Michelin Guides San Francisco, Bay Area and Wine Country Restaurants Top 100 Bay Area Restaurants - San Francisco Chronicle
georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“HUGELY disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We’ve just come from the most disappointing dining experience we have had in the past several years. We understand tasting you way through dinner, but having enjoyed some of the country’s best restaurants, the Chef’s Tasting at Madrona Manor was a HUGE disappointment. After innumerable single bite courses and entre-courses, the entre finally arrived: exactly three small bites of under cooked duck breast (with a band-aid and some ringers solution, I could have revived this bird!). An evening of fluff and Foo-Foo with absolutely NO substance, we called for a check and left before the end of the evening. When you trust the Chef to provide you with a challenging and exceptional meal, you should get a memorable meal. What we got was one bite after another separated by a long wait, none of which was exceptional or satisfying. However, the only positive was the Sommelier who had an excellent command of the wines available and made an outstanding recommendation. Go for the wine, skip the almost $200 per person Chef’s Choice. A HUGE disappointment after a positive experience here a couple of years ago.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    24
    10
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, MD
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A Magnificent Restaurant Not to Be Missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I've been to a few "world class" Michelin-rated restaurants one the years, but never one as good as this. I hesitate to say this was the best meal I have ever had, but I can't recall one that was better and more of a bargain (though certainly not inexpensive).

We had the five-course menu and every course--and the amuse buches served between the courses--were all superb. The portion size was very appropriate, as well. We did not leave overly stuffed but were certainly not hungry.

An indication of how seriously the chef takes the quality of his ingredients is the inclusion of the gardener on the list of restaurant staff,

Equal to the food is the experience itself. In addition to the very attentive waiter, there was a person who watched for and refilled an empty water glass, another "bread waiter" who was always there with another, and different from before, roll when your bread plate was empty, and a person whose sole job was bringing the appropriate utensils for the next course just before the food arrived. The taste of the courses was enhanced by the explanation of each by a waiter who explained exactly what was on the plate and how it was prepared.

We chose not to have the wine pairings. I was really not interested in five glasses of wine, but preferred to have a white wine for the early courses and a red for the meat course. This proved to be a good approach.

To cap the experience, as we left we were presented with a bag of homemade caramel corn as a "midnight snack." It goes without saying that this was also superb.

If you are in the Sonoma County area, I highly recommend this world-class restaurant. It is not to be missed

If in Sonoma County, I strongly recommend mak\ing a resrvation for t

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russian River area
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“an AMAZING dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

It was an out of this world dining experience at Madrona Manor...first of all its location is absolutely charming - an old Victorian mansion...lovely decor, EXCELLENT service...phenomenal menu. Although quite pricey, well worth it.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“50th Birthday Worthy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

This was a special event for my wife's 50th birthday with 11 people altogether. The service was outstanding, food and wine pairings were memorable. (Too bad they can't serve Foie Gras in California anymore.) And the table-side ice cream preparation is a must!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Elegant and substantial”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

The entrees are filling and well-prepared. Desserts are yummy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madrona Manor Restaurant also viewed

Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to Madrona Manor Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madrona Manor Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.