We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tucked away gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Lucia

Cafe Lucia
235 Healdsburg Avenue, Suite 105, Healdsburg, CA 95448
+1 707-431-1113
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Lucia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 82 Restaurants in Healdsburg
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Matheson
Description: Brother and sister team (Chef Manuel and Lucia as your host) share a passion for food and their Portuguese heritage in a full-service restaurant featuring Cozinha Nova Portuguesa - "new Portuguese cuisine" - celebrating the varied and complex flavors of Portugal, adapted to the immense offerings of top-quality ingredients from Sonoma County.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Tucked away gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Sit outside and enjoy the garden-like atmosphere. Cafe Lucia is a wonderful New Portuguese restaurant celebrating the varied and complex flavors of Portugal, adapted to the immense offerings of top-quality ingredients from Sonoma County. This is a brother-sister family affair with Lucia in front and brother Manuel creating the sumptuous dishes. The Portuguese wines are a treat after touring some of the finest wineries in the Alexander/Russian River valleys. I can enthusiastically recommend the wild-caught sea bass oven roasted, on a bed of grilled yellow corn with collard greens.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    29
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“This place is amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Three of us had lunch and were totally impressed. The Portuguese rolls were delicious! We had mussels, caldo verde soup, sea bass, the Brazil national dish, a pork sandwich, and the dessert selection. We loved all of it and definitely want to go back!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Dinner at Cafe Lucia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We were visiting the Healdsburg area and chose Cafe Lucia for dinner based upon favorable reviews. Wow! We loved everything about our dining experience. It was a little chilly so we opted to dine inside. The ambiance is lovely, with enough space between the tables to enable an adult conversation without straining to hear over other people's chatter. We started with a sampling of tapas appetizers, including the herb marinated olives, pork belly with a balsamic reduction, roasted almonds, and the fried Sonoma goat cheese. We accompanied the appetizers with flights of both their Sonoma Red and their Sonoma White. For our main dishes we ordered the caldo verde soup, asparagus with egg, seared scallops and sauteed spinach. We followed this with the chocolate dessert sampler, which included chocolate mouse, fresh mint chocolate ice cream, chocolate souffle and a port jelly. The portions were just right, the flavors were absolutely exquisite and everything was perfectly prepared. The wait staff were cheerful, attentive and professional, with kudos to our waitress who was just adorable. Highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Very pleasant Portuguese restaurant, some outside tables”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Something different for Healdsburg: a real Portuguese-influenced menu (which means some Brazilian dishes, too!). Very nice setting, cozy bar area, inside eating area nice but small; outside, covered atrium also good place to eat (also small); some sitting areas for wine-tasting. Staff pays attention and are expert. Cooking was at a high level. The restaurant is inside an office complex, behind the La Crema wine-sales showroom. This location is within a block of Healdsburg's Plaza. Worth a stop.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Portuguese food with a twist”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Café Lucia was an excellent spot for a Holy Friday meal, Portuguese style. We sat outside. We had "bolinhos de bacalhau" as a starter. We followed it with "bacalhau ao forno" for the main course. We drank traditional vinho verde. Everything was excellent.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Lucia also viewed

Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to Cafe Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Lucia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.