We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Lucia

Cafe Lucia
235 Healdsburg Avenue, Suite 105, Healdsburg, CA 95448
+1 707-431-1113
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Lucia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 82 Restaurants in Healdsburg
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Matheson
Description: Brother and sister team (Chef Manuel and Lucia as your host) share a passion for food and their Portuguese heritage in a full-service restaurant featuring Cozinha Nova Portuguesa - "new Portuguese cuisine" - celebrating the varied and complex flavors of Portugal, adapted to the immense offerings of top-quality ingredients from Sonoma County.
Tulsa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Had to be one of the best restaurants we visited in Healdsburg, on our last night there. Great, friendly and attentive service, delicious food that was well-prepared and presented, and a fine wine selection. Do not pass this restaurant up when visiting Healdsburg.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    29
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma, CA
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I was part of a group of five for lunch. None of us had tried Portuguese food and are all now converts! Some of the items we tried: chourico crusted scallops, caldo verde, bbq pulled pork, arroz valenciana (think paella), and fish & chips. We were all seriously very happy with our choices. It was hard to share! Service was terrific; they were very attentive without hovering and very knowledgeable about the menu. Food came pretty quickly without feeling like it was ready to go in the kitchen. The wine flights were great. We tried one red and one white. We passed those around and we all had different favorites. We sat inside, but the patio is beautiful. We are planning a trip back for brunch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“A new Portuguese place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Our first meal in Healdsburg was a memorable lunch at Cafe Lucia. I was drawn in by the seafood stew on the menu and it didn;t disappoint! We sampled several different wines (vinho verde, sauvignon blan, viognier and chardonnay) and all were excellent but I have to say the chardonnay from the Schug winery in Monterey was the best I have ever tasted! The restaurant is open and airy with beautiful flowers on the bar and Portuguese faience on display. The wait staff was very knowledgeable.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, CA
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Lovely Patio for a Summer's Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This lovely restaurant is tucked away on Healdsburg Avenue near the La Crema tasting room.

We had a lovely Saturday lunch on the patio. Excellent selection of seafood and other light dishes. I had a fantastic crab sandwich that was hearty enough to share (instead I just had wonderful leftovers.) They also have a number of combination places that highlight cheese and Portuguese specialties such as octopus. Nice wine list with reasonable prices.

Our server was new but very attentive and friendly. It was a very warm day so the staff insured that plenty of ice water was available and that the umbrellas provided the proper shade. With the heaters this patio would definitely be pleasant in almost any weather.

We will definitely be back for another meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A very nice lunch.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We finally got to try this restaurant and stopped in for lunch on a very hot day in Healdsburg.
The interior is very bright and cheerful with no feeling of being overcrowded. The wait staff is pleasant and knowledgeable and ready to explain the Portuguese dishes on the menu.
The Vinho Verde wine was a great choice to go with our 5 dish appetizer tasting plate.
We got a nice amuse bouche of chorizo and cheese with an olive. The 5 dish plate we ordered had a bonus of roasted nuts with piri piri sauce, a nice touch. We enjoyed the sardine pate', the smelt escabeche, the white anchovies (boquerinos), the baby octopus in sauce, the serrano ham, and the fig/walnut bread. Every one of the dishes was excellent and the octopus was outstanding.

Dessert was a real treat. We ordered the malasadinhas, small portuguese doughnuts (10)
in a dish with, I believe, lemon curd. They were wonderful. We were hoping that they would have them as it has been years since we had a chance to try them.

All in all it was a wine country luncheon to be remembered. We will return for dinner soon and bring friends.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Lucia also viewed

Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to Cafe Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Lucia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.