We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful patio” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna Sofia

Taverna Sofia
244 Healdsburg Ave., Healdsburg, CA
7074311982
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 82 Restaurants in Healdsburg
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We are passionate about creating authentic rustic Greek & Mediterranean dishes from fresh, locally sourced ingredients from the bounties of the Californian Wine Country.Enjoy the relaxing atmosphere in our covered outdoor patio overlooked by an expansive handpainted mural of the Greek island of Santorini.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful patio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The food is plentiful and good here. Can't really understand why they're not busier. The desserts - delicious.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    4
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech, Morocco
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fresh authentic cuisine in a truly Greek setting (in Healdsburg)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Behind the plaza, in a parking lt, follow the line of cypress trees to the garden setting of Taverna Sofia. An outdoor garden is dominated by the Santorini mural that lines the wall. Now you are no longer staring out at a parking lot; you are in Greece. Owner and chief chef, Sofia can often be found, Greek style, mid morning, sitting outdoors in the garden shelling peas or prepping beans for the absolutely "homestyle" Greek food that she serves daily, all day and long into the evening. Accompany your mouth watering moussaka or your vegetarian "gigandes" (bean stew) with a glass of Greek wine and settle in for a dessert of home made lemon ice cream to clear the palate. You are in for a true surprise for this hidden gem now counts as one of the Healdsburg restaurant classics.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A hidden little gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Our love of gyros can't keep us away from this little restaurant. It's tucked away in the corner, has a lovely outdoor eating area with a beautiful full-wall mural that makes you think you're in Greece! The salads are fresh, crisp and flavorful and the beans are so full of flavor, and the gyros are everything we hoped for...delicious. We wish owner great success and hope they are around a long time!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I adore this type of food and cook it quite well myself having lived in Turkey for 5 years and traveled all this area of the Mediterranean, so I was delighted to find that there was a restaurant with this kind of menu in Healdsburg. I had the meze plate --the tszitziki was excellent but be warned that it is very garlicky, the spanakopia just so-so, and the dolmas were uneatible--dry, rice undercooked, totally lacking in flavor. The small Greek salad was fine. My god daughter had the tszitiki and liked it and then had a special of shrimp over rice with cheese. The shrimp were overcooked and the metal dish it was served in was the one it had been baked in and she burned her wrist on the dish trying to eat from it. I could not recommend this place and don't believe it is going to survive as it faces a parking lot!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“More like a "gourmet" place, rather than a Greek tavern”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

It's sometimes weird, considering that homemade Greek food is usually connected with a classic Greek tavern. All food is homemade and unless you are at an extremely popular place, you can get the best with 15 euros per person (including drinks).
Taverna Sofia has indeed an authentic Greek aroma, enhanced by the painted walls and the white and blue colour, common to several Greek taverns I've been outside Greece.
The food was tasty, but it was obvious it was following the "less quantity, higher quality" kind of rule. Starter Baba ghanoush (in the middle east alternative of the Greek aubergine salad) was really good. Roasted stuff were good but not the best I have eaten.
Also the price was quite high, reaching $40 final price, incl. tip, for a starter, main and glass of wine.
I didn't also get why the restaurant week menu, including a starter, a main and a dessert costs $39, plus tip and wine (with a couple bucks discount on the cheaper wines), while just adding three of those in their regular price would get to about $30.
The service was very good, having the trademark American overfriendliness I haven't got used to, yet.
All prices per person.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Sofia also viewed

Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to Taverna Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taverna Sofia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.