We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food in Healdsburg” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Ralph

Bistro Ralph
109 Plaza St, Healdsburg, CA 95448
+1 707-433-1380
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 86 Restaurants in Healdsburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $80
Cuisines: French, Californian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good food in Healdsburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

This restaurant was recommended by the staff at Kendall Jackson tasting rooms. Good food and very French bistro style atmosphere. The wait staff is very professional. But not stuffy.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    69
    31
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut, United States
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fun lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stopped by for a late lunch. Since it was in the sixties we opted to sit outside. Ordered escargots for an appetizer. Had two different glasses of wine. Main entrée for me was a lamb burger and my wife had chicken livers. She loved them. They were made with a touch of balsamic vinegar too (different and good). We also ordered a side of sweet potato fries (YUM!). When entrees arrived, the appetizer was MIA. Waiter was very apologetic and made up for it. We were good as if we had eaten we would have been more stuffed than we already were. Great place for casual eating. Worth going back for more.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Ralph is still working a good angle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Most restaurants are gone within the 25 plus years Ralph has run this place- get a steak or a lambburger- huge martinis.
Well done, local and thankfully still fairly unpretentious- which in this town has become huge

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

My husband and I decided to have dinner with a local said it was her favorite. We did not have a reservation--which you really need to have. This restaurant has an authentic French country feel. They did not have a table but we saw the local friend having dinner at the bar. She might have helped out but we were seated within 15 minutes and had a wonderful meal. Highly recommend but get reservations ahead

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yountville, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great New Year's Eve dinner at Bistro Ralph”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We extended our stay in Healdsburg by a night and ended up at Bistro Ralph for New Year's Eve dinner at the bar. The staff was incredibly welcoming and friendly. Since we had no reservation, they sent us across the street for a cocktail and called our mobile when two seats freed up at the bar.

Everything we had was delicious including chicken livers and fried polenta (the balsamic glaze was wonderful), wedge salad (huge lardons and nice tangy dressing), chicken paillard (loads of delicious capers), black cod special (perfect crisp on the fish and nice roasted veggies) and of course the plate of 1,000 fries (they were nice enough to tell us they do half orders since we were already eating so much).

Besides the amazing food, the staff did a great job on their wine recommendations and truly demonstrated they were listening to our preferences. I also enjoy when we told them price wasn't a concern on the wine selection and yet they still picked a very modestly priced pinot which was delicious and didn't automatically try and sell the most expensive bottle on the list (which the list prices are very modest in general).

This place has been around forever and can't believe we have never gone here before since we're in Healdsburg reasonably often. Also, given the great food and friendly staff, surprised it's so far down the list of favorites in Healdsburg on Trip Advisor. We'll definitely be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Ralph also viewed

Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to Bistro Ralph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Ralph, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.