We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great company, great river!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River's Edge

River's Edge
13840 Healdsburg Ave., Healdsburg, CA 95448
+1 707-433-7247
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to River's Edge! We Proudly Hold the Most 5 Star Reviews on the Russian River. We operate exclusively on the Upper Russian River, which is recognized for the dynamic terrain, water clarity, unspoiled wilderness, consistent flow and abundant wildlife. Our friendly and accomplished staff is waiting to roll out the red carpet - offering guest services and an attention to detail that is unmatched.
Santa Rosa, California, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great company, great river!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The canoe outfit "at the bridge" has been around for decades and used to be known as "Trowbridge", but in the last few years it changed hands to new owner Lollie, and she has done an amazing job of "upgrading" and making this a really awesome turnkey operation now as "Rivers Edge."

The staff is friendly and efficient and the prices are very reasonable for a fabulous day or half day paddle in either kayaks or canoes on this northern section of the Russian River. They bus you to launch site on the river and give you a short safety/"how to" demo and then you're off!

The half day trip takes you mostly through areas that have homes on the river and quite a lot of other boaters, but it is still a lovely paddle and you will see wildlife. There are lots of great places to pull off and take a nice break or lunch. The full day takes you further north through a lot more rural areas that will provide a much more peaceful and solitary paddle.

Water generally is very calm and people of all ages can enjoy the day on the river.

Wonderful experience all around--check it out!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    5
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“So easy to have fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We did the half day trip in 2 tandem kayaks. The scenery was great and the company does all of the transporting of the kayaks. All of the employees were laid back and really nice as well. This place is in walking distance of the town of Healdsburg which if you're staying there, makes it really nice that you don't have to drive! They also provide coolers and dry bags! (But I went on a weekday so there were plenty available, not sure if they run out on the weekend.)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful River Trips!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We have taken two wonderful trips this spring down the Russian River with River’s Edge Kayak and Canoe. What great experiences!

The prices were very reasonable. Both times, we found the staff to be friendly, relaxed, helpful and knowledgeable. They shuttled us efficiently to our starting points, made sure we had everything we needed, (life vests, a dry bag, paddles, a cooler, etc.) provided tips and up-to date information about river flow and potential obstacles. The equipment was used but in good shape, and there were several choices of kayaks and canoes, depending on our preferences. The owner, Lollie Mercer was on hand both times to make sure we got a good send-off. When we arrived back at The River’s Edge beach, the staff enthusiastically loaded up our gear, and checked in to make sure our experience was a good one. It was!

When we attempted the Alexander Valley to Healdsburg run, we underestimated our stamina, and had to call in from Rio Nido Beach, still several miles from Healdsburg. No problem! A staff member was quickly dispatched to pick us up.

I’d recommend the Alexander Valley to Healdsburg run for people with some paddling experience, and the Rio Nido to Healdsburg trip for a more relaxing trip. The upper part of the trip, Alexander Valley to Rio Nido, is wild and beautiful, with occasional vineyards near the banks, and lots of wildlife and birds. We saw deer, jumping salmon, turtles, many egrets, and what appeared to be an otter. This part of the river also has some tricky, fast moving spots to provide excitement during your trip.

The lower part of the run, Rio Nido to Healdsburg is more appropriate for a leisurely paddle, with time for swimming and picnicking along the way. The current flows more gently, and there is still wildlife, but also houses along the way. People wave at you in a friendly way as you paddle by.

Check in with the cheerful folks at Rivers Edge to find out about river flow. They can’t control it, especially when the vineyards syphon off all the water, but they seem to know what is going on.

We’ll definitely be back. Rivers Edge is a new home-away-from-home on the river!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fun day for the family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

We booked a half day trip for mom, dad, and 12 year old son last July. We had a great time! The water is mostly calm. We did hit one area where the current was a bit quicker and our son paddled in the wrong direction. We ended up hitting some rocks and tipping the canoe. We all went overboard. Lucky for us, we only lost one pair of sunglasses, a bottle of water, and our dignity. That mountain water sure is cold even in July! We wrapped our cell phones in plastic before hand and they were all ok! It was a great trip, and nice to schedule something our son would enjoy in the Sonoma and Napa area!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Four of us took the half day kayak trip. The single kayaks are $45 for the half day and well worth it as in low water you can avoid a bit of portage. We were dropped off by the bus a few miles upriver and mostly drifted with the current. There is a bit more paddling required near the end due to the headwind-tip the earlier you leave the better. we got back at 3pm and that was fine. You paddle back at your own pace and can stop for a picnic or swim in many places.The river was low this time of year so its very safe. Loved the shower and changing tents on return AND the hose to wash off our sandals (nice touch). They also provide a free ice cream to anyone who brings back some river rubbish, and provide bags if you so wish. We didnt find much but still qualified for the ice cream!
Top marks for friendly genuine non-rippoff service.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River's Edge also viewed

 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to River's Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River's Edge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.