We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to be a gem, but.....?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of A. Rafanelli Winery

A. Rafanelli Winery
4685 W Dry Creek Rd, Healdsburg, CA 95448
707 433 1385
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 123 Activities in Healdsburg
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Activities: Wine tasting
Attraction details
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Used to be a gem, but.....?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Rafanelli used to be one of our faves. In recent years the price/value ratio has diminished. They still make top flight cabs etc but better deals are to be found. plus major hassles to just get in to taste.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    7
    2
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
GTA
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Tough to rate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had tried a bottle of the zin on a friend's recommendation at a restaurant before we came to the winery-and loved it. We dropped in on a Sunday afternoon - they weren't sure they could let us try any wine, and the Zinfandel was sold out. We bought a bottle of cab, but the tasting experience was really just the lady name dropping and chit chatting. If what you are looking for is a lot of wine making information, we didn't find this place to be so great. However, if you want a great zin, when they have some, this would be your place.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, California
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Mostly Pleasant Experiences”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

As an annual visitor and long time buyer of Rafanelli wines, I have experienced both the best of times and the worst of times noted by other reviewers. Fortunately, almost all of my visits have been in the former category. Wines, all reds, are all good especially the Zinfandel, the standard bearer. While almost all of the wine production is pre allocated, they still do some limited sales at the winery via appointments only.

The month of May, when members of their mailing list are able to pickup their purchases, is the least attractive time to schedule a visit. There is usually little time to visit, soak in the atmosphere of the rustic tasting room and savor the wine and chocolate tastings. Other months are usually a much better bet. Members of the family are often on-site and available to engage in casual conversation.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great winery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This winery is fantastic!!! They are known for their zinfandel the cabernet is fantastic. Love the home feel to the winery we meet the owner who gave us a little of the history of the winery and answer everyone questions. Overall a very good experience the staff is very nice and attentive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“This was our favorite in healdsburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The guy working in the tasting room ( rick ? ) was great and real friendly. He spent a lot of time with us and we booked our tour ( appointment only ) an hour before we went. We ended up staying with him probably and hour and a half with some nice other people we met there. The tasting room is very rustic which adds to the charm and we got tours of the underground cave they have. All in all well worthwhile with great people and great conversation. Glad we were able to buy a couple of bottles of their win before they sold out

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A. Rafanelli Winery also viewed

Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to A. Rafanelli Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A. Rafanelli Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.