We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our little place in Dry Creek Valley” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zinscape

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Healdsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zinscape
Save Saved
You added Zinscape to your Saves list
W Dry Creek Rd, Healdsburg, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our little place in Dry Creek Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Our first trip to Zinscape was in July. It was our first stop on a two-week trip drinking and eating our way up the coast of California. Dry Creek and Zinscape totally exceeded our expectations. Because it's in the middle of a vineyard it's very quiet and a great place to walk. Several great vineyard tasting rooms are very close Only noise was from the tractors in the fields on our first trip and that was more interesting than noisy. We stayed 3 nights on our first trip but the big suite is big enough to stay longer. On our second trip in October we stayed for a week and still could have stayed longer. It's an incredible value especially during the week. Bruce is helpful and friendly but stayed out of the way so we felt like his place was ours. The vineyards he suggested were fantastic. We particularly like Bruce and Isabella's easy-going style. Healdsburg has many great restaurants and it's laid-back and quaint. This is going to be our get-away place in the California wine country from now on.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    8
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
30
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pacifica, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We were really looking forward to this place as there is very little lodging in the Dry Creek area. The cottage is really sweet and looks just like it does in the pictures. Unfortunately there is no dedicated heat and there are no instructions that let you know that. I wound up calling the owner who advised me that I needed to use the portable heater in the bathroom. He also offered to bring another space heater but we only had the one cold morning.

The studio is attached to the main house where the owner lives. There is a big difference between the quality, size and bathrooms between the two rooms.There is also no connection between the studio and the cottage so if you rent both, keep in mind that whoever is staying in the studio will need to get to go outside to come over to have breakfast in the cottage. I mention this because as friends we had intended to split the cost down the middle but the rooms were so unequal I didn't think that was fair. I would also not rent the studio as a stand alone unit expecting to have a full breakfast. There isn't a kitchen, only a coffee pot and a tiny, tiny fridge.

The owner does live on the property and that is both a positive and negative. On the plus side if we really needed anything they were there. On the negative side we had a couple of issues. The first was that the owner and their friends were having a shed raising party during our stay. They should have been up front with us that there was going to be construction going on when we booked our stay (about 2 weeks beforehand). We were advised Sat am as we left to go do some wine tasting. When we returned at about 5pm construction was still going on. Since the studio faced the construction area there really wasn't a quiet spot. Then the owners and their friends proceeded with a party. This wouldn't have been a big deal for us since we had dinner reservations in Healdsburg. But during the time that we were away someone came into the cottage and took one of the ice cube trays out of the cottage. They probably were too lazy to drive the 15 minutes into Healdsburg and thought we wouldn't notice as there was no note or phone call. I thought that was a little creepy and rude. I did notice because when we returned from dinner I wanted to use some ice cubes and the only ones in the freezer was the half frozen tray I had filled before we left for dinner.

There was no follow up contact as we left or I would have told the owner of my concerns.

Zinscape does have the potential for being a really sweet stay but the owner needs to think a little about boundaries.

On the plus side, the owner did not charge a cleaning fee or a security deposit like many other vacation rental owners.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at the private cottage @ Zinscape for 5 nights and loved it. The cottage is clean and comfortable…and is literally 10-15 feet away from a vineyard (zinfandel vines). The location and view are a perfect way to start and end your day. The kitchen is well-stocked with several breakfast options (croissants, pastries, bread, eggs, cereal, milk, juice, coffee, water, etc) and the owners will replenish the supplies as necessary. The large bathroom features a shower & soaker tub and plenty of nice towels and toiletries. The king bed is comfortable and satellite TV service is provided (and includes all of the local and regular cable channels…as well as some premium channels such as HBO). The owners are very helpful, low-key and unobtrusive…and they're very willing to offer any help, recommendations, etc (as necessary). Overall, it’s like having your own house in wine country!

Zinscape is located on West Dry Creek Road...which is a quiet, less-traveled country road with a large number of small vineyards. For location purposes, it's situated across from the Göpfrich Winery (Göpfrich is found on most wine maps). It’s a 2-3 minute drive to reach Dry Creek Road (and Hwy 101 is about 1-2 minutes away from Dry Creek Road…via Canyon Road). Geyserville is located about 5-7 minutes away and features 2 nice local Italian restaurants and a great local wine store. Zinscape is a 10-15 minute drive from downtown Healdsburg (via either Dry Creek Rd or Hwy 101). Zinscape is also centrally located to allow for some nice day trips…to the Russian River Valley, the Alexander Valley…and even Calistoga / Northern Napa Valley. If your time/schedule permits, it’s also only 1.5 hours from either the coast (southwest – to Goat Rock and the River’s End restaurant in Jenner…overlooking where the Russian River empties into the Pacific Ocean) or from the Anderson Valley (northwest – a nice “hidden” wine region with such wineries as Roederer, Navarro, etc).

We would absolutely stay @ Zinscape again…and believe that we were very fortunate to have been able to stay there for 5 great nights. It was a perfect spot & location…and allowed us to have a great vacation!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at Zinscape in the Garden room for two nights last week, it is a fantastic location, nestled within the vineyards. The room is very comfortable and clean.
We arrived late afternoon on Thursday with instructions that were sent to us. It said enter by the sliding door and enjoy, so we did.

There was no one around, my husband went to try and find someone, but found no one so we left after a while for dinner. The lock to the room did not work so we packed up some of our belongings to keep in the car. When we got back there were 4 croissants and a pint of milk sitting outside our room. No OJ like all the other reviews talked about… oh well. I did not feel comfortable sleeping with the door unlocked, even though it is probably a very safe area.

We had our little breakfast outside the next morning, made coffee that was provided inside. Still no one around, and we had hoped to get advice on wineries go visit and maybe a restaurant for the evening. Came back for a short while before dinner that night, again my husband made an attempt to find someone, still we did not see anyone around.

The croissants left on Thursday night were pretty stale by Saturday morning…
Since there was no one to help us with the lock that didn’t work we had to leave the door unlocked the whole time. We had looked forward to advice from Bruce like all the other reviewers had gotten and also fresh breakfast the two mornings we were there.

We left the check for the balance on the table and that was cashed right away…so someone must have been there, but we did not see another soul for the 48 hours we were there. It’s a good thing there were not any significant problems, because we were completely on our own.

On another note there is no WI-FI and that is my mistake for not asking, so no complaints on that.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZinHealdsburg, Owner at Zinscape, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
I guess every once in a while we get caught by surprise. We feel very bad that the lock was broken. The last guest did not inform us and as we always leave the door open for future guests we sure missed that. It was repaired after the reviewer left. Usually we leave breakfast supplies before people arrive, but with busy schedules some times supplies arrive later in afternoon. I was in SF for a couple of days and my wife dropped off, not sure why she forgot OJ, but that is one our staples in room. While the guests were out their curtains were probably closed . So as to not disturb, sometimes we leave the goods outside door. Croissants we buy fresh for a 2 night stay, and that is why we leave toaster ovens because they are pretty easy to crisp up. As far as no one on the property, we were thereFri afternoon, night and Sat morning, in fact I saw them from my shop and looked like they were getting ready, but when I did come by they had just pulled out. We try to be respectful of peoples privacy if they want it and are always open to talking with them. I will say one thing in our defense as hosts, with all of their looking for us we never received one phone call the entire time they were there. Respectfully towards all of our guests, we still stand by 95% of our favorable reviews and always take criticism to heart and will always make corrections when we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, Arkansas, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The cottage was very pretty in a great setting, but a little far from town, but that wasn't a big deal for us. The owners provided all types of special touches such as Arbonne, Method liquid hand soap, and an assortment of toiletries. The negatives were that there were a couple of dirty dishes in the cabinets, but they were easy to wash. My biggest complaint was that the bed was as hard as a brick, but to be fair, I do sleep on a Tempurpedic foam mattress at home (very soft). I would not stay at Zinscape again because I felt like I had bruised sides when I woke up in the morning. I lined the bed with pillows to try to soften the bed, but it didn't work. The owners could easily fix this problem by buying a foam mattress pad for the bed. If the bed issue was fixed, I'd stay there again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you like soft beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZinHealdsburg, Owner at Zinscape, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
We always make a big effort to make sure our guests are comfortable when they stay with us. As far as the bed comfort, this is the first complaint we have ever received in all the time we have been doing Zinscape. As we have no doubt of the reviewers own personnel experience, it is difficult to compete with a Tempurpedic mattress that they sleep on at home. We are happy that their overall stay outweighed the bed, but we stand by our many reviews to the opposite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights upon recommendations from our family. It was wonderful! The property is literally off the beaten path-exactly what we wanted for our wine country adventure.

We stayed in the guest house and loved it. It was just perfect for the two of us. The bed was comfy and the bathroom was very updated with lots of full size amenities. And you can't beat the bath towels! The guest house had a mini fridge, toaster oven and small microwave. It was nice to be able to store our wine, beer and cokes.

It is so so peaceful and beautiful. We enjoyed the landscaping and the sunsets each night while sitting on the porch. Although the guest house is attached to the owners house, we felt like we were the only ones there. So nice and quiet. Definitely beats a hotel.

Bruce, our host, was awesome. Never intrusive, available when we needed him and kept the room stocked with fresh croissants. He had great suggestions for getting around town and was very knowledgeable about the area.

Will for sure stay here again and hopeful the cottage will be available next time.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our weeklong stay in the guest room was exactly what we were looking for and needed... quiet, peaceful, romantic, and an opportunity to reconnect with each other. We breakfasted daily in the peaceful garden area and enjoyed the climate, beautiful landscaping, and birds. Zinscape feels like it is "away", but the location could not be more accessible to Healdsburg, Geyserville, and the Dry Creek area wineries (some within walking distance on the quiet country road). We loved the no-host continental breakfast concept, which included daily fresh croissants, coffee, OJ, milk, and organic cereal. Bruce, the host, was amazingly gracious and accommodating, instinctively seeming to know when we needed something, mapped out day trips, had excellent wine-tasting and restaurant suggestions, and went out of his way to provision us and meet our needs. Dry Creek Valley offers excellent dining, wineries, vineyard picnics, cute shops, and sightseeing, without the hectic feel of Napa. We will be repeat visitors to Zinscape.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zinscape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zinscape

Address: W Dry Creek Rd, Healdsburg, CA
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty lodging in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zinscape, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.