We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique, a Special Property with a Singular Vision” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duchamp Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Healdsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Duchamp Hotel
Save
You added Duchamp Hotel to your Saves list
421 Foss Street, Healdsburg, CA 95448   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Unique, a Special Property with a Singular Vision”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The Hotel Duchamp is a hidden oasis of minimalist tranquility, located a stone's throw from the center of bustling Healdsburg. Consisting of six cottages (units 1-3 face the pool, while 4-6 are more private, facing Foss Creek), calling the Duchamp a hotel is a bit of a misnomer. It is more an artsy hybrid between a B&B and a hotel, but a wonderful hybrid. I have never stayed anywhere quite like it...

Access is from a small, Oleander-lined driveway on a dead end street behind 'The Shed', where entry to the fenced compound is via a small reception building, where a highly 'curated' continental breakfast is served, and where wine is available in the late afternoon. There is a nice lap pool and a hot tub, good after a long day out in the sun, and there are the six, identical cottages with large bedrooms and bathrooms, detailed in a carefully thought out, minimalist way. Aveda toiletries, Frette linens, comfy beds. Patricia at the front desk is a wonderful hostess, helping with dinner reservations, etc.

The Duchamp is probably not perfect for everyone, but that is probably a good thing. We will be back, for sure.

Room Tip: Rooms 4-6 are more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    29
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
4
113
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The Duchamp is certifiably cool! This hotel possesses the trendy Manhattan style (concrete ottomans!) while located in a rural like setting by the river. The shower is gigantic walk in and the bathroom is concrete, stainless steel and white linens. Aveda products (yum). Bed is the best I've slept in at a hotel (including the Westin Heavenly bed). Breakfast is included with healthy choices and gets you off to wine tasting on the right note. Walking distance to fabulous bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This is our second visit. We stayed longer this time and booked 2 rooms. The hotel is perfect for our needs and the staff has only gotten better since our first visit a year ago. The beds are extremely comfortable and the shower is great. All of our special requests were graciously honored. We will stay here on our next visit to Healdsburg.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed at the Duchamp for a long wedding weekend. Everything was wonderful except the inconvenience of the cement floors. You see, I do stretches early in the morning and with the cement floors, I was unable to accomplish this. The Aveda products were useful, as my wife uses them personally as well. The parking was accessible and close to the villa. Overall a wonderful establishment and very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I am an architect by training so my perspective may be a bit skewed. However, the discrete charm of the siting of the individual pavilions, the simplicity of the layout around the pool,
the well thought out and curated interiors, all made for a wonderful weekend. Finally, the location and its close proximity to the Shed works to everyone's advantage.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed here during our wedding weekend and it was just what we needed. It's super close to the downtown plaza but also a very quiet property. The cottages have large bathrooms and the bedroom is decent size as well. The slippers and robes are a nice touch. The property itself is also very cozy with a nice pool and nice landscaping. The complimentary breakfast has a nice healthy selection of fruits, cereal, granola, croissants, etc. The staff was very friendly.

This is a great place if you want to be walking distance to the shops and restaurants but also want more privacy compared to the B&B's or local boutique hotels.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Convenient to the best of Healdsburg and with only 6 rooms, guests find rewarding peace. The concrete floors, stainless steel counters and the bathroom's black floor tile were perfect for us. Don't expect to see rugs and wall paintings. There's a convenient jogging trail nearby along Vine to Healdsburg and over the Russian River bridge to Vets Memorial Beach park. Healdsburg also has wonderful casual and fine dining only a short walk away from Duchamp.

Room Tip: We very much enjoyed a room along side the pool, but for those seeking greater privacy, request one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healdsburg
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
0.3 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#4 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 347 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dry Creek Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#6 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.0 of 5 stars 446 reviews
8.5 mi away
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Forestville
4.5 of 5 stars 572 reviews
10.2 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#1 of 26 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 stars 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duchamp Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duchamp Hotel

Address: 421 Foss Street, Healdsburg, CA 95448
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel in Healdsburg, separate cottages, pool, Free WiFi, Free Parking, near plaza. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duchamp Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.