We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weird little cottages - GREAT!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duchamp Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Healdsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Duchamp Hotel
Save
You added Duchamp Hotel to your Saves list
421 Foss Street, Healdsburg, CA 95448   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Weird little cottages - GREAT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Personality plus. Old farm workers' bungalows. Squeaky, uneven floors, then you step into the fabulously modern bathroom. Convenient location but far from traffic which we've suffered from in other Healdsburg hotels.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    27
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
3
107
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We recently stayed a weekend at the Duchamp hotel and loved it. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. Bathroom is fab, tons of space and shower is divine.
We swam in the pool and spa daily. The surroundings are peaceful and well situated for a quick walk into the heart of Healdsburg.

The hotel breakfast offering is lovely and the specialty tea selection was a real treat. I loved taking a tray to my private patio and watching the morning birds. I am a mother of young children and the Duchamp setting was a welcomed reprieve of serenity and engaged my senses.

Obviously, there are tons of great wineries in this area and its a bit overwhelming. Here is our short list of spots we shall return to very soon.

Highlights from Healdsburg:
Bella Winery and wine caves in Dry Creek Valley (stunning scenery, amazing vino)
Dry Creek General Store (stop here for delicious sandwiches on your wine touring)
Bistro Ralph for dinner (LOVED this place for classic bistro fare in cozy setting)

Overall, the Duchamp is pricey. But if you are looking for an escape from the hustle and bustle..appreciate good design and love a morning swim...the Duchamp is for you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Our recent stay at the Duchamp Hotel was one of those exceptional getaways. From the staff who were courteous, friendly, and knowledgeable to our room which was impeccably clean with fun, well designed contemporary furnishings in a comfortable and spacious room. The six rooms are all individual cottages with their own patios. We could be as private or as social as we wanted. The breakfast was delicious and the pool area serene and lovely. The location couldn’t be better, down a little side street and off the main road but an easy 2 block walk to the main street and the Square. And don't miss their winery. In addition to some great Syrah, it has the most incredible art space and unique exhibits.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Olivos, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Duchamp Hotel is comprised of six cottages surrounding a pool and spa that form an oasis in the center of Healdsburg, We particularly enjoyed it's location, which is two blocks off the square, and provides the ideal getaway from the daily commute and hectic travel schedule, with easy access to great shopping, wine tasting and restaurants, all within walking distance. Each cottage has it's own entry and patio area offering privacy and space to sit outside and enjoy morning coffee or afternoon wine. In keeping with the contemporay style of the architecture, we found the cottage to be free of unnecessary clutter, but definitely not lacking in any of the amenities you'd expect to find in an upscale property. The breakfast was excellent and we will definitely stay at the inn on our next trip to the wine country.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

First, the positives: The pool and landscaping are beautiful, the location great in terms of access to the Plaza's dining options (2 blocks from the Plaza), and our cottage was very clean (and the housekeeper very helpful). The bed was comfortable (but the "sofa" -- a rectangle of wood with cushions added -- was NOT comfortable). There are 6 stand-alone cottages -- so no shared walls, always a plus for privacy.

Long list of negatives: I knew that the design would be "modern" and spare, but I think the word for the interior design is "stark." A stainless steel bathroom counter? Am I in a prison or a luxury hotel? No full-length mirror? When we used the walk-in shower, the bathroom floor got flooded with water (no shower door or curtain, floor must slope a little). The air conditioner unit is so noisy that we could not have slept with the a.c. running (every 3 minutes, there is a knocking sound as the a.c. kicks into higher gear). No bath tub. Windows consisted of a sliding glass door (we had to keep the heavy black curtain closed when we wanted privacy, as there was a walkway a few feet from our sliding door) and a small window. The only way to open or close the window was to stand on the sofa and remove the screen, then use one's hand to do the job (the window handle didn't work; learned the "manual" method by watching the housekeeper close the window). We thought the location would be quiet, as it is away from the Plaza. No, because trash trucks or construction trucks (new building going up 1/2 block away) before 6 a.m. each morning we were there -- including Sunday. With the exception of the housekeeper, we did not find the staff to be helpful.

Room Tip: 3 cottages face the pool. These have the most charming view and fenced private patios -- but you wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The room was very modern and nice although we had to turn off the air conditioning because of how noisy it was. The pool and spa were really nice and gave us a break from visiting wineries.
I liked the location but some construction is going on and I thought that the price should have reflected that.
Very nice breakfast.
The wine was overpriced.

Room Tip: Right now room one two and three are closes to the construction work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Super cool series of free-standng, industrial chic villas clustered around a beautiful pool with amply artwork on the property. Just one block off the main drag in Healdsburg but mentally miles away. Peaceful, comfortable, romantic. Very knowledgeable staff. A terrific place to recommend with no hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Duchamp Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duchamp Hotel

Address: 421 Foss Street, Healdsburg, CA 95448
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel in Healdsburg, separate cottages, pool, Free WiFi, Free Parking, near plaza. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duchamp Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.