We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely friendly staff with a great selection. ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oakville Grocery Company

Oakville Grocery Company
124 Matheson St., Healdsburg, CA 95448
+1 707-433-3200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 82 Restaurants in Healdsburg
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Californian, Café, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout
Description: The perfect place to pick up items for your wine country picnic. Have lunch with us,enjoy people watching on our covered patio!
buddy032606
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Extremely friendly staff with a great selection. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We stumbled here after a terrible experience at a hotel bar around the corner.

Selection and staff were incredible. Leave the fancy bars behind and chill here with a great selection and very friendly atmosphere.

A don't miss!! Sit at the tables outside and enjoy!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    43
    8
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“nice stop for hungry tourists”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We've stopped here several times for a quick bite when we didn't feel like sitting down in a restaurant when playing through Healdsburg, and are rarely disappointed. That being said, it helps to understand that this is a specialty market that caters largely to tourists (although I do see locals eat here, too), so set your expectations accordingly. On our latest visit, I found the staff to be friendly/helpful, and the sandwiches delicious.Take your food to the outside patio, and enjoy the people watching.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Santa Rosa, CA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Things have changed...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Give credit to the venerable Oakville Grocery in Healdsburg. With its opening in the late 90’s, it was a major contributor to brining a new sophistication to the food scene in Sonoma County. Over the succeeding years, however, it has seen a number of ownership changes which also caused a change in business focus. It is still a stop for tourists and bicyclists on the weekends with its location on a prime corner of the Healdsburg square and its spacious patio. During the weekdays, on the other hand, locals have been a bit scarce due to inconsistent menu and food, a shrinking retail assortment and emphasis, and increased local competition. Recently, there has been a new effort to attract locals with a nightly “special” during the week. This has been well-publicized with local newspaper mention and in-store flyers. On Mondays, for example, there is a “Yappie Hour” with a $7 combo of a Lagunitas beer and sausage and well-behaved pooches are welcome on the patio.

With this in mind, we took our bistro dog for this Monday’s “Yappie Hour.” Upon arrival, it was discovered that there was no Lagunitas on tap (to be fair, it was replaced with Racer 5, a good local brew) and, unbelievably, there were no sausages to be had. They were willing to replace the sausages with any of their myriad of sandwiches, chosen from the overly confusing chalkboard/menu. It must have been a long day for the store attendants as, at 5:30, they seemed tired, disinterested, and, in one case, virtually unaware of the Monday special. Disappointed, we left and went down the street to The Wurst Sausage Grill to have a proper beer and grilled tube steak.

It seems that if a business that goes through the effort of mounting a promotion to lure locals who will be around long after the tourists and bikers have gone home would make a stronger effort to fulfill its publicized promises. This seems to be a business that is, sadly, burned out and has lost its way.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Manager at Oakville Grocery Company, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Pendolino,
I thank you for your observations and feedback. I apologize for the unsatisfactory service you received and for the lack of advertised products. I am committed to creating a consistent customer experience built on the rich history and successes of Oakville Grocery throughout the years and will work with my team to make that happen. I would like to connect with you directly to see what we can do to make up for the recent lack of service you experienced in our store. Please call or e-mail me at your convenience.

Thank you,

Linda Cook Sproul
linda.cook@oakvillegrocery.com
707 433-3200
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friday Harbor, Washington
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“good for quick breakfast and fab picnic supplies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Excellent breakfast burritos, gets you set for a day of wine tours and tasting. Made fresh. Lattes etc. or good coffee. Wide selection of freshly made picnic supplies, cheeses, and some beverages; also an excellent selection of condiments. Nice area out back with shade for noshing. A staple of the napa valley experience

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great place! Sandwiches are not just bread...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We were walking around Healdsburg and walked by this store. We glanced at the folks eating in the courtyard and decided that's where we were going to have lunch. The sandwiches we had were amazing! So large you could share one. Fully stuffed and not just bread! With all the choices in Healdsburg, I recommend you try this one.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oakville Grocery Company also viewed

Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to Oakville Grocery Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oakville Grocery Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.