We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice deli” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oakville Grocery Company

Oakville Grocery Company
124 Matheson St., Healdsburg, CA 95448
(707) 433-3200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 81 restaurants in Healdsburg
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Clifton, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice deli”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Great place in Healdsburg to pick up deli stuff for lunch at one of the vineyards. Wide selection of meats, cheeses, salads, sandwiches. Bring your wallet; it is expensive.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    42
    33
    5
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
rocklin
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A Must Stop stop in your wine country trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We have been visiting the wine country for many years. We have been patrons of the Oakville grocery and have watched it change from a small stop with really good sandwiches to a gourmet eatery with hard to find products in stock. On my recent trip I enjoyed the expanded sandwich choices. I had a falfalel sandwich wrap. It had a little spice to it, but the pairing of pickles made it refreshing. My husband enjoyed a fried chicken sandwich, my daughter a turkey on sourdough, and a friend had a sandwich with fig in it. Not jam, but more like fig compote or congealed fig that was made into a spread. As it dripped from his sandwich I watched knowing it would be wierd of me to lean over and scoop the mound of fig yummy off of his brown paper wrapping. Instead, I reminded him of how much figs were per pound. If you have a large appetite, order a sandwich and a small side. If you are not a big lunch eater, share a sandwich and side with someone. I am just now finishing the other half of my sandwich. I am happy to report it was still good a day later. We also enjoyed the wonderful coffee and a product called "fruit pate". If you are Mexican, you know this product as - cajeta de membrillo. The store has expanded their back area to include picnic tables and cafe tables. In previous years we enjoyed our sandwiches on a wine barrel with a round piece of wood that served as a table. There were two of them just a few years ago. The store has also opened a much needed restroom. It is nice and clean. I love this place and reccomend you stop here and buy lunch. It has been around since 1881.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Picnic supplies here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Get your winery picnic supplies here. Great gourmet sandwiches, cheeses and crackers. We had potter crackers and local goat cheese which could not be any better.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Grab & Go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

They have tables out back to eat but our plan was to pick up some items for a lunch picnic at a vineyard later in the day. They have lots of awesome salads and sandwiches. We got a variety of salads from curry slaw to asian noodle salad and chicken salad along with a ham and swiss sandwich. Everything was fresh and delicious!!! I'm so glad our driver recommended them.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This grocery/order up is a neat place in the plaza. It was a little confusing- having to order and pay at one counter for for and order and pay at another counter for beverages, but the food was good and it was crowded. My salad was good. My friend's lunch was just ok. But it is a nice place to have a quick bite when you are exploring the area.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oakville Grocery Company also viewed

Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to Oakville Grocery Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oakville Grocery Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.