We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly Healdsburg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Healdsburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Healdsburg to your Saves list
Hotel Healdsburg
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Matheson St., Healdsburg, CA 95448   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Houston
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Heavenly Healdsburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Do not hesitate to book a reservation at Hotel Healdsburg. Yes, it is pricey. But it is not "over priced" - it is worth every cent. Plus, a lovely breakfast is included in the rate.
Our room - on the third floor - was very comfortable and spacious. French doors opened onto the back garden and a serene view of the distant hills. There were inside shutter doors that could be closed at night so the outside door could be left open for the air - lovely, lovely, lovely! Fabulous bed, very thoughtful amenities throughout the room and bath. Wonderful soaking tub, super linens, towels and robes. Wonderful nightly turn down - with cookies and bathroom towel refreshening. The rooms are equipped with a Keurig coffee maker and a fridge which has several complimentary drinks and snacks (and they are replenished daily).
Off the lobby, the Hotel has a cozy bar/lounge area, an outside seating area, a beautiful heated and landscaped pool and adjoining restaurant with outdoor seating. The included breakfast is served in the bar/lounge area in front of a huge gas burning fireplace. The food is wonderful, the atmosphere cozy on California's cool mornings and the service just super.
The Hotel could not be better located: it is directly on Healdsburg's charming square within easy walking distance of fabulous restaurants, charming shops and galleries. The staff and housekeeping were just exceptional. Valet parking was easy and the young attendants were always eager to please.
Healdsburg is located near many Sonoma vineyards and it is an easy drive (35 miles) to the Pacific coast and US Rte 1 (we did a loop drive to Bodega Bay up to Jenner then back to Healdsburg along the Russian River Valley road).
We spent three nights at Hotel Healdsburg. It could have been thirty and still not enough. What a fabulous get away. What a first rate property and well run Hotel.

Room Tip: Top floor (third) rooms will be the quietest with back of the Hotel rooms quieter still.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    104
    65
    33
    17
See reviews for
42
237
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This stay was genuinely unpleasant. The room furnishings were distressed and tatty. A bathroom fixture was broken and hanging from the wall at an odd angle. TV did not work -- even after 30 minutes on the phone with staff. Fabrics were frayed and horribly stained. Hard surfaces were dented, stained, and scratched. Dust throughout the room -- plus a large, long obvious hair on the nightstand. Then there was a raucous event directly outside the room. On check-in we saw staff setting up, and asked for a quieter room because we were on east coast time. We were guaranteed a 9pm hard stop, and sweet talked into keeping the room. Promises.... promises. At 10 pm a call to the front desk put the onus on me (something like, "they are still going, so if you want to make a specific request let me know.") My request to cut off the loud music and the bar took about 45 minutes to implement and made the situation merely unpleasant. The cash bar inside kept the hollering crowd juiced well into the night. Yes, I should have gotten obnoxious on check-in and demanded another room, but that's not the energy I want to bring with me on vacation. Bottom line: If you're feeling pushy and demanding, you might enjoy a stay here. But if you are want the civilized country hotel atmosphere described in the promotional material -- forget it. On the plus side, the rooms are spacious, and there is free breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Had a great time at Hotel Healdsburg. Teagan the concierge is great and very helpful. The hotel is simple and very nice. Solid room and amenities. Though the shower is odd as it has no door and after a rinse, your enter bathroom is wet.

Would go back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma M, Manager at Hotel Healdsburg, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your review of our property. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and Tegan was able to take care of you. She is definitely a Hotel Healdsburg treasure! We are in the process of trying to find a way to address the issue in some of our rooms with the shower grading. We hope to have the pleasure of having you as our guests again, and hope the next stay will be even better.
Sincerely,
Emma Martinson
Director of Operations
Hotel Healdsburg & h2hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkton, Maryland, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

we stayed at this hotel based on the review in the wall street journal. the staff was friendly and warm. the breakfast was unexpected and wonderful. I thought we were getting a run of the mill continental buffet, but there were made to order omletes and waffles!! our first morning in the gym there were no towels or waters, but that was quickly taken care of and the subsequent mornings had both. the pool is very, very cold and quite messy with leftover food and garbage. i don't think there is an attendant for the pool. the room was nice, we overlooked the gardens and had no noise issues. the bathroom is funny..the shower floor does not slope enough and the water goes everywhere. we needed all our towels to keep from slipping and then got the lets save water notice on the bed!! I would gladly reuse my towel if it didn't need to be on the floor sopping up the shower !! also, and this is trivial, but there should be a better blow dryer in a room that costs over $300.00 than the blow dryer that is at the motel 6...the location is wonderful and convenient...I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma M, Manager at Hotel Healdsburg, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are truly pleased that you enjoyed the property, and we are taking note of what you have brought to our attention. We will be sure to look at the hair dryers in the room, and you bring up an excellent point regarding the towel usage that we are looking into immediately. We hope to have the pleasure of having you as our guests again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Emma Martinson
Director of Operations
Hotel Healdsburg & h2hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Lovely hotel, fantastic location, charming grounds, friendly staff. Other than the breakfast staff though, service wasn't very good. Very spotty service at the pool and no cocktail service, only wine and beer. We called room service one night and couldn't get through on the phone so called the front desk and we were told it would be over an hour before we could get room service.It was suggested we go pick up our own food. Really? Housekeeping was definitely not up to par. Could you at least hang up our hotel robes and straighten the sink area? Rewrap the cord on the hair dryer? Refresh our toiletries? ("Communal" toiletry dispenser in the shower were not refreshed and one dispenser was broken when we arrived and stayed broken.) How about dusting? When I wanted to mail a letter, front desk couldn't do it, didn't have a stamp, didn't know where to get a stamp, and didn't know where I could mail the letter. These kids should go train at Hampton Inn or some good average hotel chain first and learn what minimal service is. As a matter of fact, the front desk service was better at the SFO Quality Inn. Very friendly, attractive young people who didn't seem to have common sense or hospitality training.

Breakfast is fabulous and, as mentioned, the staff top notch. The pool is lovely but is unheated. Hot tub is moldy, unappealing water color, and uneven temperature. (It was exactly this was 2 years ago when we last visited.) Spa services are expensive (but price on par with any hotel spa services) and hot stone massage was blah.

The free morning of bicycle loan was quite nice but my bike was in poor repair and we could only get one helmet and had to wait quite awhile for someone to find us a lock. Yes, we made advance reservations. Highly recommend the 3.5 mile loop on a little used road along vineyards. Also, the Russian River Rose Company is definitely worth a visit on this road (Kimberly?). Although it was not open without advance reservations, the owner still invited us to roam around and enjoy.

Bed is fabulous but one day had to call mid-afternoon to get our room made up, after we'd been gone since 9 a.m.. A/C went out and it took hours to fix. Room 222, the shower floor isn't sloped properly and you have to turn shower head into a front corner and then still use all the towels to mop up the floor. This room opens over the gardens and I preferred that to the room we had last time that overlooked the square.

Pizzanda has very good food. Try the heavenly polenta. And the popsicles. It is a very casual in house eatery where the staff is easily overwhelmed. Dry Creek Kitchen, no complaints at all. Excellent food, very good pricing for what you get. Spirit Bar has poor hours, understaffed (one bartender often gone for 5 minutes or more), and nice little bites of food you can order from Dry Creek Kitchen if you want to wait forever and then have no setting. You'd do much better to walk across to the square for a drink and a bite.

So, these are quibbles overall but I'm used to a much higher level of service in the Wine Country and Hotel Healdsburg certainly promotes themselves at a higher level. Hope they get these problems resolved as we did not experience them on our last visit, except for the disgusting hot tub and the almost non-existent Spirit Bar service. If we go to Healdsburg again, we would stay there, however, and hope for the best!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma M, Manager at Hotel Healdsburg, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such an in-depth review of our property. I am very sorry that our level of service did not meet your expectations. We always strive to make each and every guests experience perfect, and we will be sure to address all of these concerns that you have brought to our attention. I would like to have the opportunity to speak with you regarding your experience and hope to have you back as our guests so we can truly wow you. Please contact me at (707)431-2800 or by email, emma@hotelhealdsburg.com
Sincerely,
Emma Martinson
Director of Operations
Hotel Healdsburg & h2hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We booked a night, spa services and dinner at the Hotel Healdsburg to celebrate a big wedding anniversary.

The room was nice, with a lovely balcony. The spa experience was definitely good, but not anything special for the price. The dinner at the Dry Creek restaurant was excellent and our waiter was attentive, knowledgeable and very nice.

Our problem started when we got home. We had arrived a bit early on check-in day, so we went for lunch and shopped a bit before returning at the advised and published check-in time, but our room still wasn't ready. We decided to wait in the lobby, on the couch in front of their lovely fireplace. After about 30 minutes, we realized that the front desk staff had forgotten about us, even though we were right in the middle of the lobby and there were no other guests there at the time. My husband went to remind them that we were waiting and we were immediately given our key. No problem.

Upon our arrival home the next day, we realized that we had left a small package with souvenirs for our kids in the lobby on the day before while waiting for our room. My husband immediately called and the front desk. They found the package, said they would put our name and number on it, and that my husband's sister could pick it up there anytime.

When my husband's sister went to get it about a month later, it had disappeared and evidently, the hotel has no record of it. According to the staff, it was supposed to be logged in but it was not. Also they told us that they periodically empty the lost-and-found shelves. With our first calls, we were told that we were out of luck and there was no recourse.

After more calls to the front desk, the front desk manager and general manager of the hotel, we were told that it was our fault since the package didn't have a room number attached to it because we had already checked out when they found out about it. Somehow it didn't seem to matter that we had left our name and number. Finally, we were offered a small gift certificate to the hotel. My husband asked why, after all this, we would want to use their minimal gift certificate to spend another $800+ at their hotel.

In the end, they refunded a small amount of our total to our credit card, not quite enough to cover our losses, but the purchases were in cash and our receipts were in the bag. We have not received any note or phone call of apology or explanation. No one at the hotel seems to want to acknowledge that something obviously happened to our package, that it was stolen or tossed out by mistake. Our frustration is not with the money but the fact that no one in the organization seems to be concerned by the security breach or the fact that our experience with their front desk staff and management was so disappointing. We will definitely avoid the organization in the future because they are obviously so disrespectful and unappreciative of the guest experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma M, Manager at Hotel Healdsburg, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are sorry you had such a frustrating experience retrieving your lost and found items. We regret that your items were thrown out or misplaced; we do get a large number of items placed in our lost and found which make it back to their owners. While we did try to compensate you for the money you spent on your items, we realize your experience was not what you had hoped. If you would like to discuss the compensation for your lost goods further please feel to contact me directly at. Please contact me at (707)431-2800 or by email, emma@hotelhealdsburg.com
Sincerely,
Emma Martinson
Director of Operations
Hotel Healdsburg & h2hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I stayed for 3 days at this hotelmas i came to Sonoma in july for business meeting. Great location. The bed was quite comforter and pillows were top notch. Been to many hotels and this one rate high for comfort!

The rooms are huge and very comfortable and very clean. The included breakfast buffet is a wonderful start to a day of wine tasting.

Breakfast was excellent! shower water was hot! No problem at all. The staff was friendly.
Definitely will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma M, Manager at Hotel Healdsburg, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our beds. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Healdsburg!
Sincerely,
Emma Martinson
Director of Operations
Hotel Healdsburg & h2hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Healdsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Healdsburg

Address: 25 Matheson St., Healdsburg, CA 95448
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Healdsburg 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Healdsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Healdsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.