We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting but can be very noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Healdsburg

Save Saved
You added Hotel Healdsburg to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Healdsburg
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Matheson St., Healdsburg, CA 95448   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Healdsburg
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting but can be very noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This hotel is a very low-rise building, only 3 floors, which means that at weekends it is impossible to avoid street noise. The rooms are also set out above open courtyards and we were unfortunate to be directly above the service entrance for staff, so we were also subject to a lot of banging and clattering morning and night! Having said that, the staff were extremely nice, the room very funky and the beds very comfortable. Very good breakfast buffet. I forgot a night-dress and called up the next day to have it posted on......no reponse yet.......at $800 for two nights I will be disappointed if they don't manage to send it to me! But Healdsburg is beautiful little town and we would recommend it overall.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Healdsburg, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Qatargirl,

Thank you for posting a review. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit!

Please contact me so that I can follow up on the dress. travis@hotelhealdsburg.com

Best Regards,

Travis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    177
    81
    55
    31
    15
See reviews for
35
196
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

This is our second stay at Hotel Healdsburg. We stayed from Tuesday, March 26 to Saturday, March 30 and had a lovely time. Hotel staff is top-notch - all are very young and energetic, but also polite and professional. Tegan, the hotel concierge, gave us amazing recommendations, set up tastings and reservations from northern Napa Valley all the way to the south end of the Sonoma coast, and really enhanced our stay. Complimentary breakfast is exceptional with hot eggs and waffles everyday as well as meat, salmon, fresh fruit, and breads and pastries.our room was on the street side, and you do hear some street noise. However, on the courtyard side it is very quiet. The street noise did not wake us any night or really bother us at all. The room was really clean and includes turndown service. There is no door on the shower, so, yes, it does get the floor wet, but this really isn't a problem if you use the floor mat. The bathroom has high quality toiletries provided to guests. All in all a great experience. As we were leaving, we told the staff, "See you next year!"

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Healdsburg on Saturday March 16th. First, I'll start with the positive: the hotel is great, the bed is incredibly comfortable, and the location really could not be better. Also, for the most part the staff is friendly and attentive ... with one glaring exception.

At 7 AM on Sunday, we were woken up by the sounds of a St. Patty's Day Parade running through the town square and right below our window. We love St. Patty's Day as much as anyone ... but it was a bit of a surprise. Upon checkout, all we did was mention that it would have been nice to know the parade was happening. The staff member - who turned out to be the manager (Travis) - was quite possibly one of the rudest people I have ever met in my life. He stared at us, grumbled something about how we knew it was St.Patty's Day, shook his head, and walked off.

We weren't looking for a handout - just an acknowledgement that it was an inconvenience. We talked to another staff member and unfortunately it didn't sound like instances llike this are uncommon. So we felt like someone else at the hotel should know.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Healdsburg, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Mike M,

Thank you for your feedback. I'm pleased you found the beds comfortable and the staff friendly and attentive.

I'm sorry you experienced an unpleasant awakening due to the St. Patrick's Day parade. It's a fun small-town parade but I understand it might not be so much when you're trying to sleep in. We do notify our guests beforehand of any possible foreseen disturbances they may experience that are within our control, such as scheduled maintenance or special events on-site. For events around town that guests may be interested in, we post a schedule in the lobby each week which can be found next to the concierge desk.

While we haven't had any complaints about this particular event in the past, we considered and discussed your concerns the day you checked out, and due to the early start and boisterous bagpipes, we'll make sure to inform guests next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I just got back from staying here with 2 other girlfriends for a wedding. We are all quite particular and we were all quite pleased. We shared a double queen room. First and foremost, the beds were so incredibly comfortable. The rooms were nice and clean, the bathroom very large. Free internet, mini bar and a fabulous breakfast was included each morning. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This was my second birthday trip to Healdsburg and my second time at the Healdsburg Hotel. The rooms are welcoming, I love the beds. The location is perfect for walking around town. I love the breakfast they offer each morning.

Room Tip: I look for the hotel promotions when they offer a savings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Yes, this hotel is pricey. If rooms were even in the $300 range, it would seem more reasonable and better value for what you get. The decor of the hotel was modern in a natural, organic way
--lots of woods and natural tones. For the price, we appreciated that there wasn't an "up charge" for other amenities, such as a stocked minibar, free valet parking, and breakfast (which was a basic continental, nothing special). The young, hip staff was friendly and always helpful. The concierge was excellent, recommending a wonderful day trip which included complimentary wine tastings at two very good wineries. HOWEVER,
Beware the town of Healdsburg, while lovely, isn't a sleepy Sonoma village. In fact, it was one of the noisiest places we've ever been (and until recently, we lived in NYC across the street from 3 bars.). Expect drunk revellers until the wee morning hours. We were placed in a plaza suite our first night, overlooking the courtyard. The shouting of the drunks just echoed from the courtyard's walls. We asked to be moved elsewhere. Facing the plaza was worse. Motorcycles, cars, music playing from speakers OUTSIDE the restaurants (why? it was 40F at night!), and again, the drunks, didn't stop until 3am. Overall, it was the worst night's sleep we've ever had in a hotel. Also, the rooms are VERY dark, especially on the 2nd floor. And beware there isn't a quiet spot in the whole place.

Room Tip: Unless you prefer a cave-like experience, ask for a room on the 3rd floor which is brighter. Because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Healdsburg, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Melissa,

Thank you for your review. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel services and helpful staff! I must agree that on certain evenings (Friday and Saturday in particular), being right on the square can get a little noisy. We are taking steps to improve the sound-proofing on our street side rooms so hopefully this will help. I really appreciate your feedback and hope you'll return soon!

Best Regards,

Travis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Visited for a 1 night stay. Good location and room was a good size. Hotel staff was helpful. My only suggestion woul be a little more choice at the breakfast, but the food was good. Would stay again for a long weekend.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Healdsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Healdsburg

Address: 25 Matheson St., Healdsburg, CA 95448
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Healdsburg 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Tingo, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Healdsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Healdsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;