We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most comfortable bed ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Healdsburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Healdsburg to your Saves list
Hotel Healdsburg
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Matheson St., Healdsburg, CA 95448   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Most comfortable bed ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I just got back from staying here with 2 other girlfriends for a wedding. We are all quite particular and we were all quite pleased. We shared a double queen room. First and foremost, the beds were so incredibly comfortable. The rooms were nice and clean, the bathroom very large. Free internet, mini bar and a fabulous breakfast was included each morning. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    98
    61
    32
    17
See reviews for
42
225
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This was my second birthday trip to Healdsburg and my second time at the Healdsburg Hotel. The rooms are welcoming, I love the beds. The location is perfect for walking around town. I love the breakfast they offer each morning.

Room Tip: I look for the hotel promotions when they offer a savings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Yes, this hotel is pricey. If rooms were even in the $300 range, it would seem more reasonable and better value for what you get. The decor of the hotel was modern in a natural, organic way
--lots of woods and natural tones. For the price, we appreciated that there wasn't an "up charge" for other amenities, such as a stocked minibar, free valet parking, and breakfast (which was a basic continental, nothing special). The young, hip staff was friendly and always helpful. The concierge was excellent, recommending a wonderful day trip which included complimentary wine tastings at two very good wineries. HOWEVER,
Beware the town of Healdsburg, while lovely, isn't a sleepy Sonoma village. In fact, it was one of the noisiest places we've ever been (and until recently, we lived in NYC across the street from 3 bars.). Expect drunk revellers until the wee morning hours. We were placed in a plaza suite our first night, overlooking the courtyard. The shouting of the drunks just echoed from the courtyard's walls. We asked to be moved elsewhere. Facing the plaza was worse. Motorcycles, cars, music playing from speakers OUTSIDE the restaurants (why? it was 40F at night!), and again, the drunks, didn't stop until 3am. Overall, it was the worst night's sleep we've ever had in a hotel. Also, the rooms are VERY dark, especially on the 2nd floor. And beware there isn't a quiet spot in the whole place.

Room Tip: Unless you prefer a cave-like experience, ask for a room on the 3rd floor which is brighter. Because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Healdsburg, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Melissa,

Thank you for your review. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel services and helpful staff! I must agree that on certain evenings (Friday and Saturday in particular), being right on the square can get a little noisy. We are taking steps to improve the sound-proofing on our street side rooms so hopefully this will help. I really appreciate your feedback and hope you'll return soon!

Best Regards,

Travis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Visited for a 1 night stay. Good location and room was a good size. Hotel staff was helpful. My only suggestion woul be a little more choice at the breakfast, but the food was good. Would stay again for a long weekend.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

I agree with other reviewers, I really wanted to like this hotel but it was not the luxury, spa hotel experience we were anticipating.

The bathrooms in the two rooms we saw (307 and 310) looked very tired, worn out and didn't work well. There is tile all over the walls and floors and the grout in both bathrooms and the lobby bathrooms looked very messily repaired. We had no hot water and very little water pressure. The front desk was very little help. They said they were looking into the problem, which never did get fixed during our one night stay.

The beds weren't particularly comfortable, the tv in the rooms were small and unremarkable. There was no in room movie service, you can borrow a DVD from the lobby (mostly old and unimpressive selection) and not worth the hassle to get the DVD player hooked up.

Breakfast was included but again it was unremarkable. A buffet if cold food items with scrambled eggs and horrible waffles.

The grounds were attractive, if you like the minimalist, modern decor. The lobby was comfortable. However, customer service is lacking and it seems they are riding on past laurels. We have stayed at many hotels in this price range ($350-500) and this hotel does not stand up to most others. They need to step up their game if they expect to compete in the luxury hotel market.

The location is great, and the town of Healdsburg is wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Healdsburg, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear KKWalter,

Thank you for your review. We are listening and continuously strive for excellence in both service and the hotel features and amenitites. Some of the concerns you mentioned have been or are being addressed. Some things I'd like to note:

-We have greatly improved the water pressure in the entire hotel by replacing the pumps
-All bathrooms are in the process of having the grout redone and putting a new coat of wax on the tile
-We now have flat screen TVs with built-in DVD players in all rooms (no external device to worry about connecting)

I do hope you will consider staying with us again. If you'd like to discuss further, please contact me at travis@hotelhealdsburg.com

Best Regards,

Travis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This hotel is fantastic the service is superb the hotel itself is very modern and clean. The room are spacious and clean and modern has well. We got a weekend package that that included a $100 credit toward dinner or any of the hotel services. Overall a very nice hotel close to everything in town.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Wanted to love this hotel but the price was way too expensive for how run-down and shabby the rooms are now. We were going to check out and head to the Farmhouse Inn but the manager switched our room - which helped. He also said he would put a bottle of wine in our room and provide a discount for staying. No wine and his "discount" was $20. Needless to say, we are very disappointed with our stay and will not be back. A pity because the grounds are lovely and the location really is perfect for walking around Healdsburg.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Healdsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Healdsburg

Address: 25 Matheson St., Healdsburg, CA 95448
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Healdsburg 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tablet Hotels, Priceline, TravelClick, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Healdsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Healdsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.