We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spoonbar

Spoonbar
219 Healdsburg Avenue, H2hotel, Healdsburg, CA 95448
707-433-7222
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Spoonbar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 86 Restaurants in Healdsburg
Price range: $20 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Mill
Description: Spoonbar Chef Louis Maldonado serves a menu of clean and simple dishes honoring America’s diverse culinary influences. His artfully-crafted, market-driven cuisine of fresh, bold flavors is built around seasonally-inspired local and sustainable ingredients. The same focus carries over to Spoonbar’s cocktails which use specially sourced organically-grown herbs, fruits and vegetables with an emphasis on locally and domestically produced spirits. Freeform tables made from reclaimed acacia surround a long, communal table crafted from a split tree. Splashes of color—from the turquoise Eames chairs to the golden floral three dimensional wall art—brighten the open space like dappled sunshine filtering through summer leaves. On warm days and evenings the restaurant’s Cantina doors open up to sidewalk dining.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

really great open air bar with incredible cocktail creations and friendly (if very busy) bartenders. great casual-hip feeling without being either too uppity or too hipster. comfy and delicious.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    76
    22
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, OH
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not one of the highlights of our vacation”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

The host was friendly and we were seated quickly, but that was the only part of our experience that was either quick or friendly. It went downhill once we were handed over to our waiter. He was slow, a bit rude, and clumsly too (slopped cola down my back). Prices: not bad for the area, I suppose, but you be the judge (burger and fries for me, salad for the wife, and two soft drinks = $35). Food quality: nothing special. Selection: not very big. Ambiance: most of the back half of the restaurant were blinded by the setting sun; and the combined male/female restrooms = kinda weird.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“get the steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

great lively restaurant and bar. We shared the steak for 2 and it was outstanding, even better than the steak we had earlier in the week at scopa. We also enjoyed the many appetizers and they have a great and reasonable local wine list

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service. Love the open air indoor/outdoor dining experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

I have been to Spoonbar twice in the past few weeks and both times the food, service and beverages were excellent. The first time I ate at Spoonbar I only had the appetizers and they were so good I made a reservation to come back two weeks later. I was very impressed that the host read my notes I put with my reservation on Opentable. Upon arrival he had champagne waiting per my request as it was my husband's birthday and our first dinner together as newlyweds. The meal was fantastic. We had several appetizers and then shared a pasta dish and the beef. Both were melt in your mouth good. Our beverages were so beautiful and delicious! The music playing made the atmosphere lively and fun. Overall both visits didn't disappoint. I was impressed both times by the staff s they were very friendly and accommodating. For the quality of service and food this restaurant is priced well. We look forward to returning soon and will continue to recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Food was good, service was poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

A disappointing visit, especially given the other choices in town. Pricey menu, but plenty of interesting choices. Dining with a group of 10, we were accommodated quickly on a busy weekend evening. However the seating suffered from a brutal glare of the large windows - given that the back view is of the hotel swimming pool, shades would have been appropriate for the windows regardless of the sun in the eyes. Our waiter was stuffy and seemed annoyed by our request for information about some of the ingredients in dishes - none of us knew what guanciale was and his response was condescending. Drink service was especially slow. Food reviews were varied among our group. All loved the fries, burgers were nothing special, the small plates were hit and miss, and the gnocchi got good comments.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spoonbar also viewed

Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to Spoonbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spoonbar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.