We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the perfect day in wine country” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wine Carriage

The Wine Carriage
8644 Highway 128, Healdsburg, CA 95448
+1 707-849-8989
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$150*
and up
Ranked #9 of 123 Activities in Healdsburg
Type: Tours, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Travel deep into the vines of Sonoma's wine country to premium tastings at boutique wineries. As part of the tour, our guests will be guided through the gothic chambers of a wine cave and be treated to a barrel tasting from one of the oak casks. Traveling over hill and dale in a carriage pulled by two magnificent horses, you'll enjoy tastings at 3 award-winning wineries and be served locally sourced gourmet snacks and chilled spring water along the way. Enjoy the relaxed pace, breathtaking scenery and world-class wines while leaving the traffic far behind. Your coachman will provide an insider's view of the local history, the lifecycle of the vines, and the wine-making process. This is more than a wine tour -- it's a unique and romantic wine tasting adventure!
Crystal, Minnesota
1 review
“the perfect day in wine country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Bret's Wine Carriage is a must-do for those who want to explore wine country in a quiet, relaxed setting! It was a great way to visit several wineries without having to worry about driving between each. Our day was also personalized and intimate with visiting smaller wineries that were less busy, and in spending time with Bret. He shared lots of interesting facts, was very easy going, and took care of the details for us. Our time in wine country was extra special, as we were surprised with a private tour--he still took us out when nobody else had signed up to go! A special thanks to Cody and Cheyenne for a wonderful carriage ride! A must-do!!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitney, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Horse Drawn tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

If you travels take you to Sonoma/Napa do your self a favor and arrange for a tour. Bret Roland, owner, provides a wonderful tour with lots of Alexander Valley history with stops at 3 winerys. During the tour you'll have a great lunch stop. If the weather permits it will be under the trees, if not he'll arrange it a one of the winery stops, which occured with our trip because of the heat the day we toured. Your tour starts with a barrel tasting at Alexander Valley Vineyards. He picks you up following the barrel tasting. We made additional stops at Hanna and Soda Rock winerys. Our delightful lunch was served while at Soda Rock. While it was nice that day inside, we'd think the lunch under the trees would have been really great. Bret's website is www.flyinghorse.org

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect way to enjoy the wine country with a group”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We chose the Wine Carriage based on the great reviews on this site and they are absolutely correct! We came up from the Saint Helena area (an easy 30 minute drive) and had a great time! No crowds, little traffic, beautiful scenery....and very nice wine. The lunch was very nice too! Will repeat! Highly recommend.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“The ONLY way to do a wine tasting tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

My husband booked our Wine Carriage tour for our anniversary trip to San Francisco. Little did I know that it would be the highlight of our trip. Our hosts, Bret, Cody and Cheyenne showed us a simply amazing day! We travelled through the vineyards, sometimes at a pretty quick pace, and were treated to a lot of interesting historical facts about the area and the wine trade. Bret was very knowledgeable,friendly, and eager to show us a memorable time. We visited three wineries, stopping at the last for a luncheon laid out by Bret, himself, that left us fully sated and content. All in all it was a grand day to remember. This tour is highly recommended. You don't want to miss it.

Kindest regards,

Miki and Frank Martin

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Wine Carriage, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Hi,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It was great to spend the day with you! Also, thanks for all of your kind attention to the horses during their lunch break.
Cheers,
Bret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henstedt-Ulzburg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful trip through California Wine Country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

This year it was the first time we visit my sister and brother in law in California.
We had a wonderful time but one of the most impressive attraction was to visit the famous wine countries Sonoma and Napa. It was a fantastic idea to made a roundtrip by horse carriage and we enjoyed every moment of this little trip down memory lane. Everything was perfect organized, wine tasting and especially the delicious picnic.
We could not imagine a better way to enjoy this beautiful countryside.
Many thanks, we will remember this wonderful day at all times and we only can recommend it to everyone who visit California. We had so much fun !,
Don`t forget your camera!

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewinecarriage, Coachman at The Wine Carriage, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. I hope you'll visit us again when you're in the area.
Cheers,
Bret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wine Carriage also viewed

 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to The Wine Carriage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wine Carriage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.