We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ONLY way to do a wine tasting tour!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wine Carriage

The Wine Carriage
8644 Highway 128, Healdsburg, CA 95448
707-849-8989
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #10 of 114 activities in Healdsburg
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Travel through the vines and on private lanes to premium tastings at award-winning wineries. As part of the tour, our guests will be guided through the gothic chambers of a wine cave and be treated to a barrel tasting from one of the oak casks. After traveling over hill and dale in a carriage pulled by two magnificent horses, and enjoying a few more tastings, you'll be served a sumptuous lunch of fresh baguettes, herbed meats, organic mixed olives, imported and local cheeses, organic strawberries and wine-filled chocolates. Enjoy the relaxed pace, breathtaking scenery and world-class wines while leaving the traffic far behind. Your coachman will give you an insider's view of the local history, the lifecycle of the vines and the wine-making process. This is more than a tour -- it's a unique and romantic wine tasting adventure!
1 review
“The ONLY way to do a wine tasting tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

My husband booked our Wine Carriage tour for our anniversary trip to San Francisco. Little did I know that it would be the highlight of our trip. Our hosts, Bret, Cody and Cheyenne showed us a simply amazing day! We travelled through the vineyards, sometimes at a pretty quick pace, and were treated to a lot of interesting historical facts about the area and the wine trade. Bret was very knowledgeable,friendly, and eager to show us a memorable time. We visited three wineries, stopping at the last for a luncheon laid out by Bret, himself, that left us fully sated and content. All in all it was a grand day to remember. This tour is highly recommended. You don't want to miss it.

Kindest regards,

Miki and Frank Martin

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Wine Carriage, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Hi,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It was great to spend the day with you! Also, thanks for all of your kind attention to the horses during their lunch break.
Cheers,
Bret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Henstedt-Ulzburg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful trip through California Wine Country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

This year it was the first time we visit my sister and brother in law in California.
We had a wonderful time but one of the most impressive attraction was to visit the famous wine countries Sonoma and Napa. It was a fantastic idea to made a roundtrip by horse carriage and we enjoyed every moment of this little trip down memory lane. Everything was perfect organized, wine tasting and especially the delicious picnic.
We could not imagine a better way to enjoy this beautiful countryside.
Many thanks, we will remember this wonderful day at all times and we only can recommend it to everyone who visit California. We had so much fun !,
Don`t forget your camera!

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewinecarriage, Coachman at The Wine Carriage, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. I hope you'll visit us again when you're in the area.
Cheers,
Bret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
2 reviews
“This was an amazing experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Bret was a fantastic guide, and the horses were clearly healthy and happy. The wineries were generous with their pouring, the views were spectacular, and the lunch delicious. Even the weather cooperated with us. There were only three of us out there for a bachelorette "party" and it was far better than I had been hoping for!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The view of the wine country is better from a carriage...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

This was truly the highlight of our week in the wine country. Our Coachmen, Brett was a skilled and experienced horseman whom provided us a view of the wine country most do not get to see. He skillfully guided the two Percherons, Duke and Pepper down the lanes and through the vineyards. The warm sun, the rhythm of the wagon and the sounds of hoof beats took us miles away from our everyday lives imprinting the charm of this casual journey in our minds forever. Brett was very knowledgeable of local history and culture and generously shared the colorful past of the region. While tasting at one of the wineries, our host laid out a wonderful lunch on a picnic table not far from the carriage. Our meal consisted of artisan breads, cheeses, cuts of meat, and fresh olives with strawberries and chocolate for desert. Overall, this was a unique, relaxing, refreshing experience that my wife and I would highly recommend.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Delightful surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

I traveled to wine county with a friend who was celebrating a birthday. I was looking to take her on a tour of the vineyards, but they were outrageously expensive. My B & B gave me a flyer for The Wine Carriage. It was terrific. the driver began by "introducing" us to his horses and telling us about the breed. Then we set off for the wineries. However, we traveled right through them--right down the rows of grapes. The driver was very knowledgeable about wine making, different varieties, the history of the vineyards and the geology of the region. He told us how the grapes were grown and how they were harvested. We even got to taste the grapes of various varieties.

We visited three different vineyards and were treated royally. We became fast friends with our carriage mates and had a wonderful time. The tour ended with lunch and wine under a tree out in the vineyard.

It sounded like a cheesy idea at first but developed into a perfect afternoon. Kids would love this tour too. I cannot say enough about how pleased we were. It was a perfect way to celebrate birthday--a perfect way to tour wine country.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wine Carriage also viewed

Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to The Wine Carriage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wine Carriage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Wine Carriage to your Saves list