We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TRULY EPIC! Modern boutique hotel that delivers class & comfort...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of H2 Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added H2 Hotel to your Saves list
H2 Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   219 Healdsburg Ave, Healdsburg, CA 95448   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Healdsburg
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“TRULY EPIC! Modern boutique hotel that delivers class & comfort...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

LOVED this place! I didn't have high expectations since they just opened. Sure there are a few things that need working out. (room service not available yet, a lil work noise during normal hours, etc...) nothing that really mattered much. If you want the Marriott then of course don't stay here. This is a modern boutique style hotel that is mostly "green". LOCATION: perfection. right in the square, walk to everything! Foss creek runs behind hotel. ROOMS: we stayed in a normal King room 1st night. The bathrooms were stand out amazing! Very clean and modern. The negative, the king bed is 2 twins shoved together. 2 comforters as well. So that part I did not like at all. Def. flaw. 2nd night we stayed in a suite. To be honest not much different other than the "too die for tub" and a mini fridge. In fact our desk area was smaller than the normal size room. You got 2 balconies instead of one as well. The tub was so deep me at 5'10" could totally enjoy it! Pure relaxation...There is a little noise from the area. I had no problem but an ultra sound sensitive person might. =) fyi is all SERVICE: So low key and friendly. The front desk crew all deserve raises! ;) POOL: unless I had a rockin body I couldn't go lay out. It is right next to the giant wall of windows that is the lobby of the hotel and Spoonbar. It is also very very small. Towels out and ready to use though. OTHER: bikes to borrow, parking close and easy. (valet or self available) Breakfast was very light, muffin, banana and coffee (Flying Goat so really good) Will I go back? You'll have to ask my hubby...LOL but I want too!! Just book it...great vibe, all ages crowd. Almost perfect...there on their way! ONE MORE IMPORTANT THING! The hotel sign is like 12"x12" impossible to see...look for building style.(photos on web page)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    102
    16
    10
    6
See reviews for
27
191
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

I can't say enough good things about the staff at H2. Caring, attentive and personalized service. The hotel is very modern but clean and well-designed. I can't wait to go back again.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

Loved many aspects of this place - the "sustainability" grows on you as you realize what's going on - naturally lighted stairwells instead of enclosed 24-hour artificially lighted metal fire stairwells; no carpeting - an area rug in the room - think of all the carpets saved. No bathtubs - only "Euro" shower areas within the bathroom - probably saved 100 tubs from being made; the 'natural' outdoor ironwork (rusting immediately) is a little strange albeit 'Asian asthetic'. Good breakfast food - although limited to fruit and yogurt (my usual, so that's OK). No-lead certified faucets. Cardboard hangers (saves metal) - but MISSING my expected iron & board for my next day shirt. Appreciated the re-fillable full-size shower shampoo/conditioner bottles instead of the little throwaway ones. Would really like some 'dark out' shades - can appreciate the cool wooden window blinds (and ceiling fan) - but this felt like a 1980's EURO room in Basel in terms of light/outside noise. Super comfortable (low) platform bed - saves on the box spring and metal frame. If you're OK with that, then this place is very TODAY. I'd go back, but maybe not with my wife who is very sensitive to light, noise, etc., despite her appreciating the sustainability aspects.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

A delightful little hotel that combines stylish comfort with modern ecological sensibility. Really enjoyed our stay here.

But really, they had us at the Heath tiles.

I generally tend to favor hotels that have a bit of a small inn feel, but not necessarily in the B&B way. Plenty of privacy, please, and no lace trims in pastel colors. And you get that here, in a baby-W format: The lobby is a well-populated bar/restaurant, the reception is attached to the bar, but thankfully there's no silliness like music piped into dark hallways.

The H2 welcomed us with a casual, friendly feel, and followed through with a modern idea of what a luxurious accommodation can be: No water in plastic bottles, LEED certification, sustainable but stylish materials. Did I mention the local Heath tiles?

We had just come back from an NYC trip where high-end-ness was signaled with constantly replenished bottles of Fiji water, and this was a nice welcome back to Northern CA, without it being hippie.

The standard rooms are compact but smartly and interestingly furnished. Lots of Dwell magazine going on here; for those keeping score on local architects, it's a David Baker building.

The hotel had been open for just a week when we stayed, but the staff didn't show it during our fully-sold weekend; I think their small size (36 rooms) allows for plenty of attention to the guests. The couple of oddball requests we asked of them were promptly and gracefully taken care of; as were other launch-week issues like the rooms missing hair dryers and steam irons.

Free wifi. Guest PCs available in the hallway. Comp morning pastries and fresh orange juice were delicious.

Thanks to @ssh2007 for the Travelzoo tip: We paid close to rack rate due to our weekend stay, but avoided the 2-night minimum stay requirement. Such is the reality of wine country lodgings during the summer season.

One note, being a car guy: Their valet parking is in a gravel lot. It's fine, but I know some people care a lot about these things.

We'd definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

Found this hotel through Travelzoo last minute when I was looking for a one-night stay in Sonoma/Napa county. This is our first time to Healdsburg. Turned out that our stay was the Grand Opening day of the hotel. Hotel rate is great considering this is the wine country and it's a trendy boutique hotel. Hotel is located on a busy street and we missed it the first time driving by it. Valet Parking is $15 but was included in our Travelzoo rate.
Hotel staff (bell person, valet, check-in, concierge) is very friendly, helpful and accomodating. We felt very welcomed at first impression. Upon walking into the room, the first encounter is the smell of new paint. I guess that comes with being the first guests to stay in a brand new hotel. Not sure if all rooms are like that or we just happened to stay in one that is the last to be painted and thus has less time to air out the paint smell. But after that, we love what we saw in the room. Bamboo floor is beautiful, so are the bedding and the trendy sleek decor of the room. The bathroom has a very open layout. Loved the design. I used the bathrobe and it's very comfy. Our family enjoyed the swimming pool (solar-heated) and the lounge chairs by the poolside. There are still little things that needs to be worked out here and there as it is the first day of opening, but they are minor to us and didn't affect our enjoyment of this hotel. Overall, excellent experience and will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to H2 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H2 Hotel

Address: 219 Healdsburg Ave, Healdsburg, CA 95448
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — H2 Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your H2 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage H2 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.