We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great weekend in heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of H2 Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added H2 Hotel to your Saves list
H2 Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   219 Healdsburg Ave, Healdsburg, CA 95448   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another great weekend in heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Hotel Duchamp was booked for the weekend so we decided to try H2. It was modern, clean and green! Nice breakfast that comes w/ room and heated pool. We extended our trip by 2 days and they were able to accommodate us. Would def stay here again : )

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    119
    19
    10
    6
See reviews for
31
224
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

What a lovely hotel just outside the square. It was beautiful and so unique. Loved all the ecofriendly aspects of the hotel. Bicycles were readily available and we enjoyed expoloring the area. We had a special of some sort that included some tastings and a credit at Spoonbar. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 2 night stay at the H2 hotel. We went there based on Tripadvisor reviews, which I have to say were pretty spot on.

We stayed in a Standard King room. We also booked directly via the website which had a special for $255 a night, including a $90 credit for Spoonbar, the restaurant attached to the hotel. Here's a breakdown of the stay:

- The room was bright and modern, but with warm touches throughout, not overly stark
- The bed was very soft and enormous! I liked the individual duvets and the multitude of pillow options, kind of like sleeping in a cloud
- The refillable water bottles were fantastic - we used this so much I lost count of the refills, there is the option for either still or sparkling water
- Wi-Fi was fast and free, couldn't have been better
- Room was quiet - kind of essential for me as a light sleeper - we were in room 405, the quieter side of the hotel
- Service was genuine and fast. We asked for an iron, they brought it up within 5 mins. We asked for packing tape, they had it within seconds. The staff were helpful but unobstrusive. - - - Location can't be beaten, the hotel is across the street from Barndiva, 5 min walk from Downtown Creamery, Flying Goat Coffee, Dry Creek Kitchen and Oakville Grocery
- Valet is $15 a night but the valet guy pointed us across the street to the free 24 hour parking, so we never had to pay it.
- Free breakfast in the morning was good. They had copious amounts of pastries and made waffles and quiche to order. The coffee was brought in from Flying Goat Coffee, simply delicious. Very decent for being free.

We did not try the pool, nor the spa next door, so can't comment on either.

Great staff, location and yes, as the other reviews say it is pretty "hip", but sometimes, I like to feel a little "hip".

Room Tip: Choose the quiet, creek side of the hotel if possible. Room 405 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I think how much you like this will be determined by how much you like the hip/eco feel of the place with its bare wooden floors and open wet-room shower, and the minimal blackout on the windows that mean light streams in unavoidably from first light. I was still a little jet lagged from travelling from the UK, so the 6am wake-up was not a problem. I liked the feel of the rooms, the free chilled water and wifi, the big comfy bed (though just *too* many sheets and fluffy mattress toppers to make it a bit like sleeping on a big and soft marshmallow). Breakfast is included and is OK. Situation is convenient with plenty of parking around too. Easy to walk into the centre of town just a couple of minutes away. I think the rooms would not suit many senior or very traditionalist travellers perhaps, but I found a lot to like about the H2.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
128 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at Hotel Healdsburg (HH) about a dozen times over the years, and thought it was time to try their sister property H2H - glad I did. HH has more of a luxury feel, as it should with its higher pricing. H2H is the young hipster to HHs refined adult.
I think our suite at H2H for $495 was a pretty good deal. Room was big with a great layout. As mentioned by others the design and decor is very modern and a little stark, but we still found it to be very comfortable. Beds (including pullout) are cozy and comfy, and we loved the soaking tub. My biggest complaint with the room was the brightness. Sounds strange maybe, but there was just too much natural light - seeping in from closed shudders and pouring in from high uncovered windows from 5:30am until sundown (and at night the street lamp light could be seen). Next time I will bring an eyecover for sure. And earplugs. The noise at H2H isn't as bad as at the painfully loud HH (because of the square) but it's far from quiet. Exterior and interior noise are prevalent.
I LOVED the water bars with refillable glass bottles throughout. So nice not to generate all the plastic waste from the water bottles one often finds throughout other hotels. One green aspect that's a bit of a drag (though I def get the rational for it) is that the electricity only works when your key (and you presumably) is in the room - a common setup in Europe. So no AC while you're out. In the summer you will return to a warm room and have to wait for it to cool off. Again I get the wastefulness of having AC on for no one, but maybe they could have the central temp set a touch cooler so that it's not quite so warm in the summer afternoons. Temp, brightness and noise do not make for good post wine lunch napping! :(
I found the service to be mixed. Everyone was pretty efficient but a few were a touch too cool to be friendly. Get over yourself.
At the price we paid I would definitely return. If it were priced the same as HH I definitely would go to HH instead as it's more my style and speed - prettier, better service and amentities and much better breakfast. But at the lower prices H2H is a great option. I'll likely be back.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at H2 for one night on our recent trip through wine country. Our only complaint is that we did not stay longer! This is a great little property. Modern furnishings, all the comforts of home, large (very clean) rooms, and great service from the staff. The hotel is right in the middle of the town - walking distance to tasting rooms, restaurants, etc. While we did not eat at the property, we did have a few drinks at the hotel bar (SpoonBar) which is a trendy mixology type bar with drinks that are incredible.

The hotel has bikes that you can ride for 3 hours free of charge, free car parking around the block, and a free continental breakfast (we did not eat there but it was a fairly typical breakfast). The hotel is within a short distance of TONS of wineries in the area. We wish we would have stayed another 2-3 nights here. If you are considering the Healdsburg area, definitely look into the H2. Hotel Healdsburg is just 2 blocks away and around twice the price. We did stop by the bar there and it was a very nice property as well. The H2 was more our style. We did not have one single complaint while we were there. We would book there again in an instant if back in the area!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is close to the square and is very modern and nice. We were pleased with the swanky lobby and beautiful entrance and the room was lovely. The beds was uncomfortable and too squishy but that is my only complaint!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healdsburg
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
0.1 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#6 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.0 of 5 stars 447 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dry Creek Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Forestville
4.5 of 5 stars 574 reviews
9.9 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#1 of 26 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 stars 425 reviews
7.6 mi away
Geyserville Inn
Geyserville Inn
#1 of 1 in Geyserville
4.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H2 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H2 Hotel

Address: 219 Healdsburg Ave, Healdsburg, CA 95448
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — H2 Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith and Jetsetter so you can book your H2 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage H2 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.