We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic respite -- beautiful and cool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of H2 Hotel

Save Saved
You added H2 Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
H2 Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   219 Healdsburg Ave, Healdsburg, CA 95448   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Healdsburg
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
lax
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Fantastic respite -- beautiful and cool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Was up for a 50th bday weekend. Expected just a hotel. Was blown away by the beauty of this place. Uber modern which i suspect has won every kind of LEED and architectural award one could hope for. Just gorgeous.

The room was very clean and spartan compared to most ruffled hotel rooms. Loved the bed (could hardly get myself out of its plush comforter). Loved the flooring. Bathroom was spartan but terrific too. Also, the milk bottles of bubbly and still water (gratis) in the rooms was very welcome.

Free (first come first served) bikes downstairs. Hip but tranquil pool. Great lobby to just sit and enjoy the decor.

Wifi was great and free.

Location is ideal -- a block from the square.

I've been in at least a dozen hotels in the past year. This one wins hands down.

Oh, the only negative was that they only had one reading light on one side of the bed -- so if you wanted to read while your spouse slept, you'd have to shift spaces.

Room Tip: We faced the main street. Not an issue with the door closed, but would be in the warmer months. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    137
    83
    15
    8
    5
See reviews for
20
157
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Nice spot but never got a smile or thank you from desk person . Valet staff was friendly. We enjoyed the cold water in the rooms very modern European feeling of the room we would stay again but hope for new front desk staff

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida, Co. USA
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Just returned from a short two night stay in Healdsburg. I think the business plan at the H2Hotel is set at couples enjoying the wine country. This hotel is quite nice, well worth the price. Valet parking, nice breakfast, good amenities. If you're interested in working out you have the ability to walk down the street to their more upscale hotel, The Hotel Healdsburg, so fitness is there as well.
I 'think' all the rooms are set up with a soft King size bed, if you're traveling with a buddy and need one room, but two beds, they can accommodate you, thing is, what they do is to simply split the bed into two parts, which leaves one with sort of a single bed. That was fine with me, but my buddy felt like it was too narrow for the quality of this hotel. So you make the call there...
Otherwise the bar in the lobby appears to attract a hip crowd; the folks working there are all very nice, as well as accommodating; they have bikes that they'll loan out for free, and their central location can't be beat.
Healdsburg is a nice place, if you're thinking about going I'd highly recommend the H2Hotel.
All the Best, Salida1048

Room Tip: Would recommend a room off the street, actually ask for one on the top floor. This place has six ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

1st impressions count - the good looking guy & the girl with him on the front desk were far from friendly & welcoming!

The room (215) was great. The bed/pillows all super comfy, the tub in the room was great, the balcony sweet with lots of natural light. The negative thoughts were that the smell of mould/mildew was quite strong & the unavoidable noise from the guests in the room above us what startling. Think along the lines of being under a baby elephant.

We loved the complimentary public bikes & did a 12 mile ride to some of the vineyards. The part we were miffed about was that the guy on front desk could have advised us that the ride along west dry creek rd is pretty precarious. Ie advice along the lines of take a helmut & be careful as its a windy road with not much shoulder space for cyclists would have been well heeded. Lucky for us we did that part by car.

We had followed some people's advice on trying the cocktails at spoon bar-they were fine but nothing to rave about...but the waitstaff were all accommodating & friendly.

If you're going to do a complimentary continental breakfast then do it right. Is it that difficult to cut some fresh fruit (vs whole), offer a few different milk options (rather than whole milk only), have napkins on the table & maybe remove last nights wine gasses from my table?

All in all we had a fab bloomspot deal so it was a good stay but certainly marred by the service. If I was paying $400+/nt I would be incredibly peeved with the level of service.

We couldn't quite figure out if the staff just didn't care or if they were just trying to be cool.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We went here last weekend to celebrate our 10th year anniversary, front desk girl was nice she shows up all the different rooms then we decided to do an upgrade to an eco studio, we paid the difference, japanese tub is really great, decor of the place too, restaurant is a little cold looking maybe with hot weather is a better option, breakfast is fine, no complains there.

Problems were: nobody help us or offer to carry our luggage to our room from the car and unfortunately for that price they charge for everything, even the natural used product that you used for a shower, I took them home as I always do and then I checked my bank account and they charged me for that $65 dollars, really?, I called and then they told me that is written in a paper in the room, hmm so I am going to send them back for a refund? I feel that is inappropriate the concept, I asked to speak to the manager and guy told me I am the front desk manager, so if you don't want them send them back, really not a way to speak to somebody that paid that amount to spend in your hotel for 2 nights, I mean we are speaking about the H2 hotel in Healdsburg not a motel 6 in Napa, right?

And please do something about the twin beds, you sink in the middle all night long, nice sheets though.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We like to stay in Healdsburg when we visit, as we love the town and like to walk back to our hotel after dinner and wine. This is a funky hotel, lower-priced than its sister hotel, Hotel Healdsburg. Rooms are large, water and a refrigerator are offered in the room, a small breakfast is included and you can walk everywhere in town. It can be a bit pricey, especially on weekends. The beds and large down pillows are very comfortable.

Room Tip: Stay away from the main street if you are staying there on a weekend, as it's close to bars and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, CA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed at the H2 on a girl's wine tasting weekend. Located just on the edge of the main downtown square in Healdsburg, so great shopping and restaurants are within walking distance. Parking is tricky; valet if you can.

The active ones loved the pool and access to great running/walking trails, and the rest of us loved the scrumptious breakfast and most comfortable beds EVAH. I shared a king with another girl and never even knew she was there!

The hotel is cool eco-modern (and handicap accessible) all the way. Don't expect super luxury; just very high quality in every item. A lot of thoughtfulness, too. Bikes that can be borrowed, water refill stations on every floor, and empty glass water bottles in your fridge so you stay hydrated (always important in wine country!).

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to H2 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H2 Hotel

Address: 219 Healdsburg Ave, Healdsburg, CA 95448
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — H2 Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your H2 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage H2 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.